We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Experience”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Jose's Mexican Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 29 Restaurants in Dayton
Cuisines: Mexican
Description: Hwy.1860
Restaurant details
Description: Hwy.1860
Barrie, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A Great Experience”
Reviewed February 28, 2014

I love these traditional finds. The food was great! But it's the atmosphere; that tops it! Decorations, warm and welcoming patrons and staff. Tasty Margaritas and Beer too!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aprilmaedawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    9
    1
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Favorite place”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Our favorite place to eat in Dayton. I am not crazy about their cheese enchiladas, but everything else has been fantastic.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kari77535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Basic but good”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Jose's serves basic tex-mex - nothing is too fancy but everything is fresh and good. When you are in the mood for good salsa, guacamole and tacos this is the place to go. The salsa is never the same - evidently the cook for the day makes their own recipe, but it is always fresh and good. Not the tomato sauce kind that some chains have.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank CowboyBiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Best green and red sauce I've had”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

I'm a semi regular of Jose's Mexican Restaurant and I can't brag on it enough. They are constantly evolving and it is always for the better. Their green and red sauce they bring out with the chips before your meal are tops. They do have some heat, but it's just the right amount. I'd rate their food right up near the top too. The food is authentic and the proportions are plenty and not overpriced. The beef quesadillas are wonderful, but so is everything else. They have free complimentary ice cream cones for the trip home and the service is fast and friendly and everything is sparkling clean.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DENNIS D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jose's Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Jose's Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing