We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical CONVENTION hotel”
Review of Hilton Anatole

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Anatole
Ranked #35 of 206 Hotels in Dallas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 22, 2012

The hotel was average at best. Only one restaurant open during my three night visit, which made service slow and spotty. My 14th floor room featured a bathroom smaller than I've seen on Amtrak. The huge gap under the guest room doors (on all floors I'm told) allows the noise from the atrium below to travel right up to your room! AND, when a person opens a guest room door and allows it to close on its on the 'SLAM' is quite loud...a problem that was the most annoying of all. BUSINESS TRAVELERS BEWARE: If you ship anyting to the business center, there is a 'convenience' fee for picking it up, and even a greater fee for delivery to your room. (I had three packages and paid $40 to have them released - another associate paid $60 - and that was just to get them from the back room - no delivery.) There are no nearby bars or restaurants within walking distance, making the Anatole Hotel one of my least favorite convention spots.

Room Tip: In another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank genemckay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,563)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,014 - 3,020 of 3,563 reviews

Reviewed September 22, 2012

Was here for a business meeting. 2 night no hot water, 2 fire alarms that we had to evacuate the hotel, and the key card didn't work. Management was unresponsive. Never again. Time to look for other hotel programs where frequent customers are treated as such!

Stayed: September 2012
2  Thank Reta W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delilah M, Manager at Hilton Anatole, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

Thank you for your feedback in regards to water temperature. We encountered an issue with our water heater and it was quickly addressed, however, I apologize that it wasn't resolved sooner. We are currently replacing our old unit and don't foresee any additional issues. We also would like to apologize for the alarms that went off and for our response. Thank you again for your review and I invite you to stay with us the next time you return to the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

I paid for room on the executive floor for 4 nights, ended up nine floors lower than that floor. The executive floor is not controlled with an access only key in the elevator. The executive lounge itself serves very basic, cheap food and beverages - a paid bar. The hotel itself is very large but in a remote area absolutely nothing in walking distance. $17/day outside parking. Sushi bar good quality and value, Media Lounge overpriced ave quality. Indoor pool and "whirlpool" substandard. Best for a stay if event is here. 20 mins from airport but no shuttle and $40 cab or $19 Super Shuttle. All frills in the rehabbed decor, value doesn't match price and location decievingly inconvenient on local maps when making reservation. Internet only free in exec lounge.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MeBeT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesse V, Manager at Hilton Anatole, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. Please accept our sincere apology. We want you to know that the comments we receive from our guests are taken very seriously and your suggestions will help us to improve. We will definetly foward each concern to the appropiate department to ensure the proper steps are taking to correct each item. Again, please accept our apologies for the inconvenience you experienced. If I can be of further assistance please feel free to contact me directly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

The Anatole Hilton is an excellent hotel that exceeded my expectations. I stayed a week on business and experienced great staff throughout. The rooms were comfortable, clean, spacious, and up to date. The artwork and wide open spaces inside and outside of the hotel were quite enjoyable. During the last few days of my stay the hotel was sold out and that is when you would expect to see service lacking but it was just the opposite, they handled the volume with ease. Sure there were longer waits at the restaurants and longer lines at the check in desk but not exceedingly so. The only time I left the hotel was for dinner and the location proximity to the downtown/West end area gave many restaurant options. The airport was a reasonable 20 minute ride. No complaints, I'd stay again and feel confident recommending this hotel anytime.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marriedinlv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012 via mobile

We liked this hotel but they charged $17 parking for hotel guests....WHAAATTTT?!? Basically it's your room cost + Additional parking fee. The parking is outdoors and completely uncovered...no garage or anything! Basically just the front lot of the hotel. There is a guy that is there to open the gate and check your parking pass thing when you leave but other than that, no security.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jujubexlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

This huge Hilton hotel goes against modern thinking and trends about environmental sense and conservation.
Entering from a hot summer day, you get slammed with a blast of cold air. The lobby and 10 story high atrium are wastefully air conditioned and must use more energy per day than most homes would use in a lifetime. What were they thinking when architects designed this mammoth indoor open space? So much for wasteful insensibility in our time of energy crisis.
Upon arrival we were swarmed by staffers who wanted to carry our small lightweight bags, even after we declined their help. Then somebody held doors open while the heat poured into the frigid lobby.
At 5:30 PM only one slow clerk was on hand to check in guests waiting patiently in line. In contrast the next morning there were at least 3 at the desk plus a guy in a suit thanking us for our visit, and nobody in line.
On to the rooms.
No WiFi available without charge, a TV with poor cable connection and fuzzy reception.
The shower in bathtub had nothing solid to hold on to and an extremely slippery floor. It was dangerous! All of the entry and bathroom floor was slick and slippery when wet.
Our view of rooftops and surrounding buildings made for a gloomy visit.
A large party was in progress in the cooled atrium until late at night and the music and noise reverberated with no relief.
To add insult to injury they do charge for parking in a large outdoor adjoining lot, so whatever rate you get plan to boost that by WiFi and parking charges. We did get a reasonable group rate of $159 a night but heard of much higher rates for non groups.
Forgot to mention no refrigerator or complimentary bottled water in rooms, just tepid tap water. Thanks for nothing Hilton.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
3  Thank Malice6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delilah M, Manager at Hilton Anatole, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

I appreciate your review of your recent stay at our hotel. I understand that among several things cost was of concern and am sharing your feedback with the appropriate members of our team. We apologize for the noise disturbance as well, and will take your comments into consideration as we review our conference policies. Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

I got to stay here unexpectedly over a several-week period in late spring when our other more spartan accommodations unexpectedly fell through. Since I was being compensated for the stay, I can look at my time here in a somewhat objective manner.

The Anatole's size means you will get a LOT of people going through its vast grounds, especially on weekends. Conferences, wedding parties, one-time commemorative events, conventions - you name it, the Anatole has probably seen it at one time or another. Thus, it can get loud and crowded especially during the late nights and especially the weekend evenings. Special events are sometimes hosted along the walkways, which only adds to the cascade of noise and cramped feeling in the interior. The place is so vast, however, that you can easily find places to escape the clamor while staying onsite.

The grounds themselves range from nice (a nice grassy courtyard area near the tower section of the hotel which has a 1/4-mile pathway for those wanting to get in an on-the-property workout) to unexpected (some really cool paintings from Burmese artists, Mao-themed pieces, and lots of other generally Asian-themed art, both reproductions and original) to something close to over-the-top (a couple pieces of the Berlin Wall and lighted "amoeba" that hangs over the Atrium II central area, a kinetic piece that is enhanced by colored spot light banks to either side of the structure.) One can spend half-a-day trying to discover all the little tidbits scattered around the property.

Befitting its size, numerous conference rooms and several ballrooms dot the property. Two pools are available to keep cool during the warmer months; a lap pool is also located within the Verandah Club for fitness purposes. A few shops dot the walking area between Atrium II and the Tower, including a souvenir/convenience items store, one selling child-oriented items, and a FedEx Business Center.

Services like the Verandah Club (this fitness center seems somewhat smallish compared with the hotel itself, but it is well-equipped), wi-fi, and laundry/dry-cleaning services are available - just expect to pay a pretty penny unless you're one of those whose frequent stay status ranks in the higher echelons or you can expense those charges away via your work. You can also expect to pay a fair chunk of change for onsite parking; on the good side, there's plenty of it to be had.

Dining-wise, the hotel itself seems to lack in terms sheer numbers of onsite dining options. Media Grill and Bar is the main option (think upscale bar food), but can get awfully crowded especially on weekends between lingering sports fans, those there to dance or those simply hanging out with buddies over drinks. Nearby Counter Offer is offers upscale convenience store items; when the refrigerated section closes, you can grab sushi, desserts and alcohol. Gossip Bar offers coffee and pastries in the morning and alcoholic fare in the evening - you can sit by a fire pit or relax outdoors as the entrance to the grassy courtyard is nearby. The Terrace is an okay buffet-style place open only during breakfast and lunch that can be somewhat spendy and can get super crowded with a full house. Nana Restaurant in the Tower section (think pricy upscale, but from all I heard, quite good) closed during my stay - I hear a steakhouse is going up in its place in October.

I stayed in an Atrium room with a south-facing window - my room seemed to run quite warm even with the air conditioning running at full blast. I cannot vouch as to whether that is the case with just these rooms during the summer or whether this is the case with other rooms of the hotel. The room itself was nice enough and probably suitable for your average business traveler.

The elevators in the main Atrium area were quirky and seemed to have their own distinct personalities - some would stall awhile before moving, some would drop down and a seemingly fast rate, others would take their own sweet time going up and down.

The hotel itself is relatively close to the Design District (a short walk, if you want to brave the heat), and is a relatively short taxi ride from downtown Dallas and other neighborhoods/shopping areas like Uptown, The West End, and Victory Park.

As an extended stay person who was part of a small group, I found the facilities were fine, but I did feel a bit overwhelmed by the noise and crowds during the busy times. I think a solo family may feel somewhat similarly as well and may be better served by a smaller-sized hotel nearby (if one wants to stay within the Hilton family, the DoubleTree and Garden Inn are within earshot of the Anatole.) I think for the average solo business traveler, this hotel can also work out just fine, especially if they stay in the more exclusive and (I hear) nicer Tower section of the hotel.

Ideally, I think those who travel as part of a larger group, conference, etc. may get the most bang for the buck from the Anatole. When things get busy, I think service and attention to detail can flag a bit at the Anatole just simply from its large capacity, As part of a larger contingent, however, you may not notice nor experience the lapses as much just simply by being part of a group that would be monetarily advantageous to have back in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JO2TheSecond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dallas hotels
Downtown Dallas
Omni Dallas Hotel
Omni Dallas Hotel
#4 of 206 in Dallas
7,025 reviews
Downtown Dallas
Doubletree by Hilton Dallas Market Center
Downtown Dallas
Hyatt Regency Dallas
Hyatt Regency Dallas
#25 of 206 in Dallas
4,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Fairmont Dallas
#18 of 206 in Dallas
2,112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Anatole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Anatole

Address: 2201 N Stemmons Fwy, Dallas, TX 75207-2899
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Dallas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Dallas
#20 Luxury Hotel in Dallas
#24 Romantic Hotel in Dallas
#27 Business Hotel in Dallas
#36 Family Hotel in Dallas
Price Range: $158 - $406 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Anatole 4*
Number of rooms: 1606
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hilton Anatole hotel in Dallas, Texas. The Hilton Anatole hotel has defined Dallas and Texas by its sheer magnitude. Located in the heart of Dallas, Hilton Anatole is just minutes from downtown Dallas, and many top Dallas attractions. With 1,606 richly appointed hotel guest rooms and suites, over 600,000 square feet of premier meeting and event space, a priceless art collection, impeccable dining and full-service fitness and spa facilities. Travelers from American presidents to glamorous celebrities and generations of loyal business and leisure hotel guests have experienced the authentic Texas icon for one reason - this Dallas, Texas hotel transcends expectations into legendary experiences. Come start your legendary experience today at the Hilton Anatole hotel - a warm welcome and world of luxury await. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Hilton Anatole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Hotel Dallas
Hilton Dallas
Dallas Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing