We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Classy hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Warwick Melrose Hotel Dallas
Ranked #14 of 201 Hotels in Dallas
Certificate of Excellence
Slidell, Louisiana
Level Contributor
253 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Classy hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on business several nights. Room is large with luxury amenities appealing to women: heavy Turkish robes, slippers (amazingly just my size!), dressing table and stool with magnifying mirror, full length mirror inside closet door which provides rear view while seated at dressing table with door open. Two comfy side chairs with an ottoman, lamp and side table perfect for reading while enjoying a nearby beverage. Hotel's Library Bar has a great ambience, nightly piano entertainment and delicious reasonably priced food. Car service is also provided to nearby vicinity. With this much luxury, not surprising that bottled water is $7, limited cable channels, and no complimentary breakfast though coffee is available in lobby. Many varied restaurants nearby and also a Walgreen's all in walking distance. Guest Services was very responsive and provided a wine opener for the $5 bottle I bought at a local Target! No refrigerator but ice bucket made a perfect wine bucket!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RiverlanGone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,033 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    666
    238
    68
    42
    19
See reviews for
160
332
83
278
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Level Contributor
76 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Close to all Dallas attractions with a feeling of history brought forward to 2013. From the moment we were greeted by the valet, the weekend never faltered. Great service all around. And genuine, too.

We booked a suite and were delighted with the layout - almost like a small apartment and on the corner with views in two directions. Quiet with comfortable furniture and the hottest hotel shower water I think I have ever encountered - and plentiful, too! The suite had two separate heat/ac units which was also a plus.

A gathering spot for guests and locals at the hotel's bar, The Library, with nightly music, great drinks and nicely urban/upscale.

We'll choose the Melrose again for our next Dallas visit.

Room Tip: Higher floors to avoid the Oak Lawn traffic sounds and corner rooms with extra windows are a plus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeorgiaToast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh on Sea
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

First point is this hotel is under a flight path which produces a relentless drone of aircraft. The reception staff could not find our booking for the first 10 minutes and then all of a sudden found it, not once did they apologise for thier error. We then had to struggle with our cases to the room. First impressions count and this was a disaster. We used the bar which was nice, the wait staff and bartenders were very friendly and all in all it was a comfortable experience. The reception experience got worse when there appeared a number of charges for wifi on our bill, we were told on check in that this service was free in the room, it appears not! It is free in the lobby. The receptionist told us that we must of misunderstood, after our insistence we had not they removed the charge. All in all this was a poor experience let down by ill-trained reception staff.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahMay78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LarryRMc, General Manager at Warwick Melrose Hotel Dallas, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
All of us at the Warwick Melrose Hotel strive to provide an enjoyable and relaxing experience and we were disapointed to learn that you encountered many shortcomings during your stay. This is certainly not the type of service upon which we base our reputation, and I apologize for any inconvenience or frustration these problems may have caused you. I have discussed your review with our Guest Service Manager to address the issues you note in an effort to prevent them from happening again. We appreciate your business, and hope you will cosider us again when traveling to Dallas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
56 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

Geat hotel with an interesting history! We stayed in early January 2013. We had two rooms; a 2 queen standard room and a deluxe suite. The suite was marvelous! Gorgeous decor, abundant space and wonderful view/location. Missing one star because of a billing error (which was rectified some time later with my persistance) and do to the the location of the standard room - it had no windows! Well, it did have windows. However, the windows looked out to a patio area which is completely enclosed. Making the guest room appear quite small and desperately dark! Dungeon like really....decor was perfect, room was squeaky clean but dark and drab do to the "lack of windows."

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Saberhunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarillo, TX
Level Contributor
164 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

I write reviews here a lot, so I am happy to reccomend the Melrose Hotel.

I was in town this weekend with my son and stepmom to visit the SMU campus. The check in process was easy and efficent. My neice works there but she was not there when we arrived. We were treated as well as we would have been, if she had been present. Brooke and the other young lady were very professional.
And Leon, our bellman, went out of his way to be helpful, bringing ice to our room, and even offering to go and get us anything we needed at the Walgreen's across the street. There is also a shuttle service to take you where you need to go. Be sure to call early, though because they can get pretty busy at times!

Our rooms were very elegant, quiet, spacious, and had some ameneites not found in places I would normally stay. I loved the nice white robes and writing pens and stationery I found in the room. The vanity with a lighted make up mirror was an extra that I really enjoyed using when getting ready the next day. The beds were very comfortable too, as expected and the linens are top quality.
Thank you so much for the classy surroundings and top notch service! I will stay again.

Room Tip: I like a higher floor, which I didn't request, but we were given. I am not sure it matters thoug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irish4love
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

The understated elegance, the friendly employees providing a high level of service and the top rate entertainment in The Library (a bar to beat all bars) make The Warwick our go-to in Dallas. The price point for parents in town for the weekend wanting to spend time with their children is more than fair and allows a greater budget for Dallas' diverse and wonderful restaurants, including The Landmark.
Our fourth visit this past weekend was consistent and fantastic. The convenience of Walgreen's, Starbucks, Lucky's Cafe for breakfast and the Turtle Creek walking paths—located all within walking distance — is a huge plus —and the drive to SMU is beautiful, winding through Highland Park and University Park.
My husband will be back in April without me. I'm already jealous!

Room Tip: I am fond of the rooms that overlook the Oak Lawn entrance. We always stay in an "11" room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maribeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

My husband and I stayed at The Warwick for an anniversary weekend. We couldn't be more pleased with our choice.
Hotel - The lobby area is very elegant and grand. There is the bar/lounge room that is also located in the lobby. Check in was simple and fast while the staff was very friendly and helpful. There was even hot chocolate in the lobby for the guests to enjoy.
Room - When making reservations, I was told we would be placed on the top floor with a great front view of downtown. And that's just what we got! The room (classic king) was just beautiful. It's also pretty large for a basic room. It has a large comfy bed, nice big tv, elegant decor, and large windows. The bathroom was also very bright and nice. A large shower, fancy soaps, and shutters that you can open add a elegant touch. I was also impressed with how clean the rooms and hotel was.
Service - We were brought chocolate dipped strawberries, a bottle of champagne, and card for our anniversary. It was a really nice surprise they did for us. The overall service of the staff was great. The only option for parking is valet, at a cost of $25 per night (plus a customary tip of $2 every time they bring you your car). Although the valet guys are quick, it would be easy just park our car ourselves free of charge since where they retrieve the cars is just behind the hotel.
Location - The location was great for us. In an area of Dallas called Oak Park, there are plenty of restaurants and attractions nearby. It was a really nice area to be in. All the little extra touches they did made the experience that much nicer. I would recommend this hotel for a special occasion or a weekend getaway with a loved one.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank indie_jewel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dallas hotels
Downtown Dallas
Omni Dallas Hotel
Omni Dallas Hotel
#5 of 201 in Dallas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,091 reviews
Oak Lawn
Hotel ZaZa Dallas
Hotel ZaZa Dallas
#2 of 201 in Dallas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Fairmont Dallas
#18 of 201 in Dallas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,838 reviews
Downtown Dallas
The Joule, Dallas
The Joule, Dallas
#6 of 201 in Dallas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Warwick Melrose Hotel Dallas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warwick Melrose Hotel Dallas

Property: Warwick Melrose Hotel Dallas
Address: 3015 Oak Lawn Ave., Dallas, TX 75219-4134
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Dallas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Dallas
#7 Family Hotel in Dallas
#12 Luxury Hotel in Dallas
#24 Business Hotel in Dallas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Warwick Melrose Hotel Dallas 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Warwick Melrose Hotel Dallas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Warwick Melrose Dallas
Warwick Dallas
Dallas Warwick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing