We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Weekend” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Warwick Melrose Hotel Dallas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Warwick Melrose Hotel Dallas
Ranked #10 of 200 Hotels in Dallas
Certificate of Excellence
Edmond, OK
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely Weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed for the weekend at this wonderful Hotel and enjoyed every minute of it. The room was fabulous and the Library bar beautiful. The Staff was attentive and helpful.

We indulged ourselves and stayed for Sunday Brunch. The food was excellent, beautifully prepared and more than we could eat.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hillbrook11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,014 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    654
    236
    66
    41
    17
See reviews for
156
324
82
275
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Georgetown, Texas
Level Contributor
180 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

Once again we decided to spend a weekend and New Year's in Dallas and stay at our favorite hotel, The Warwick Melrose. Everyone is helpful and courteous. We were greeted by courteous valets who offered to help with the luggage. The reservations staff arranged for our favorite room with amenities based on our previous requests of extra pillows and clean ventilation filters (asthma). The rooms are clean and the floor staff greets everyone with a smile. As an extra treat, the hotel manager sent to our room a complimentary plate of sliced fruit, cheese, and toast which was greatly appreciated. The Library is an inviting place for a snack or drink with a bar tender who knows how to balance the sometimes hectic pace. The fact that the staff has little turnover speaks volumns for management. I wish all hotels were as good as the Warwick Melrose.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelWell040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
103 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 319 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

Usually, in my reviews, Its the hotel thats the issue, if there is an issue. Its more often about function, or amenities, rarely is it about staff. However in the case of the Warwick Montrose.. my gripe is 100% with staff. My car was lost, and I was given the key to someone else's car. The check in staff were solum and unfriendly and one actually wanted to argue that Fiji was in the Caribbean ( its 7,065 miles from Fiji to St Bart's). The in-room dinning person tried to talk me out of an additional order, because, from what I could tell, he didn't want to make a second trip. I LOVE THIS HOTEL, I have a great history with it (many fond memories), I love it's location, it's architecture, and it's history. But if they don't work on the dire state of their staff... Its gonna fail once again. So stay here, you'll love the place, but I've given it such a low rating so someone on the management side with sort out the dire staff issue!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoshuaSims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LarryRMc, General Manager at Warwick Melrose Hotel Dallas, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay at the Warwick Melrose Hotel, Dallas. We appreciate the time your devoted at it assists us in our efforts to continually improve and address specific guest issues.

All of us at the Warwick Melrose strive to provide an enjoyable and relaxing guest experience and we were disapointed to learn you encountered many shortcomings during your stay. This is certainly not the type of service we base our reputation on, and I apologize for any inconenience or frustration this these problems may have caused you. I have reviewed your posting with all the pertinent department managers to adress all the items of your concern. We appreciate your business, and hope your travels return you to our door. Larry R. McAfee.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

Great hotel, friendly staff - the complimentary car service was great for short local trips to downtown Dallas. The Library bar was gorgeous with a live singer and great cocktails would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rainbowbright79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

This is as good a hotel as I have ever stayed at. From the front desk check-in and greeting, to the great restored facilities, to the cleanliness of the rooms, to the service, to the overall experience, this one is right at the top.

The location of the hotel in Oak Lawn is very convenient if flying into Love Field--a straight shot down Cedar Springs Road for 3 or 4 miles. No turns after leaving the airport until you get to the valet parking lot behind the hotel. You also are able to reach the Stemmons Freeway easily (about a mile down Oak Lawn Drive).

The valet parking, while expensive, is well-staffed and prompt. Several times valets were observed sprinting to retrieve cars for patrons.

The front desk staff was very friendly and thorough at check-in. Service was, at every turn, superior. For instance, on one occasion, more towels were requested. They were delivered to the room in five minutes (at 10pm at night).

We had a Corner King room, which proved to be spacious and had a terrific view of the Dallas skyline (although Reunion Tower was slightly obstructed). Beds were super-comfortable. The bathroom was impeccably clean, and definitely has the styling of days gone by. This is not to say that the condition of the fixtures was outdated--quite the contrary. Minibar is available for those inclined to use it (we did not).

We did not sample any of the dining options (restaurant or bar). We did, however, have a pleasant surprise waiting for us in our room after dinner one night from hotel management in celebration of our anniversary.

The small exercise room is in the basement. It has basic equipment (treadmill, elliptical, bike, etc.). Headphones are provided for the built-in TVs. In addition, the hotel has the foresight to also supply ear covers for the headphones. There is the option of utilizing a local gym (Diesel) for a more extensive workout, but we did not look into that.

Security is also taken seriously here. One security guard was noted making the rounds on Saturday night, floor by floor, while one remained down in the lobby (near the bar area).

In short, this place is top-notch. I have no reservations whatsoever in fully recommending this hotel for anyone looking for lodging in the downtown or Oak Lawn area.

Room Tip: Hard to beat the Corner King (ask for a view)--sizable while slightly lower than the Suite rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank redwolf87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver/Lodo
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

My wife and I recently spent a few days at a wonderful old hotel that has been totally refurbished. Excellent service, comfortable rooms, and a location that can't be beat. I would have prefered to park my own car but other than that I would give this grand old lady a five star rating. Definitely will stay at the Melrose the next time we are in Dallas.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank twotatertotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

They charged me more then $700 too much----I didn't know it until I checked my account after I returned home. They were told repeatedly how to bill this $700 but still charged the wrong account. I still have not had my money returned a week later.

There is a firehouse half a block away---the pumper and ambulance drove by the hotel with sirens blaring over and over ALL night long.

Room Tip: Don't get a room on the same side as the firehouse.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rayx731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dallas hotels
Downtown Dallas
Omni Dallas Hotel
Omni Dallas Hotel
#5 of 200 in Dallas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,939 reviews
Oak Lawn
Hotel ZaZa Dallas
Hotel ZaZa Dallas
#3 of 200 in Dallas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Dallas
The Joule, Dallas
The Joule, Dallas
#7 of 200 in Dallas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,016 reviews
The Fairmont Dallas
#17 of 200 in Dallas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,816 reviews
The Adolphus
#16 of 200 in Dallas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Warwick Melrose Hotel Dallas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warwick Melrose Hotel Dallas

Property: Warwick Melrose Hotel Dallas
Address: 3015 Oak Lawn Ave., Dallas, TX 75219-4134
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Dallas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Dallas
#7 Family Hotel in Dallas
#9 Luxury Hotel in Dallas
#24 Business Hotel in Dallas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Warwick Melrose Hotel Dallas 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Warwick Melrose Hotel Dallas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Warwick Melrose Dallas
Warwick Dallas
Dallas Warwick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing