We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, great service, noisy halls”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Warwick Melrose Hotel Dallas
Ranked #14 of 203 Hotels in Dallas
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good value, great service, noisy halls”
Reviewed February 23, 2008

The lobby of the hotel is lovely, and the service from the front desk and the bell staff was very good. The location is great - near good restaurants and shopping. The room was nice - comfortable bed. Unfortunately, for two of the three nights there was a significant amount of noise from other guests, late at night, in the hall. The hotel handled the complaint well, offering one night free.

  • Liked — Location, nicely restored hotel, not your standard chain
  • Disliked — noise
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank JHMPLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,059 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    682
    244
    70
    43
    20
See reviews for
166
336
83
288
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Gatos, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2008

I wished I had read the review from wanderer888 (June 13) to know what to expect. However, I have to say that I pretty much had no other choice as much as my stay, since this hotel was picked based on its location for the meeting that I was attending.
This is an old building which is a historic landmark. The hotel staff is very friendly and professional. The room decor is okay. The lighting is good. The beds are reasonably comfortable. The the room size is larger than average. However, there are some issues.
The heating system in the room is so loud that you have to pick a choice between sleeping or ambient temperature.
They have a major moisture problem in the room. This is most likely due to combination of lack of ventilation/fan in the bathroom and all the sealed single pane windows where moisture condenses and drips onto the frame, panel and drips off from the wall.
I had alot of respiratory difficulties throughtout my stay in the room as I have very bad seasonal/mold allergies.
Also, I had requested a wake-up call which I never received. I had also ordered room service for 6:15 as I had to be at my meeting at 6:55. The food did not arrive until 6:32 after an inquiry call was made. For a 4 diamond hotel and 18% gratuity, I expected a timely service.

  • Liked — Front staff
  • Disliked — moist/moldy room, no wake up call
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank trip-kitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, CA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2007

NO complaints about this older hotel: our suite was larger than one of our properties in Cali. The staff were attentive and the amenities were just right to make this a very romantic get away.

Although some of the facilities were dated, it added to the charm of the venue. We used the gym, hung out in the library bar, and enjoyed the food from room service. Can NOT believe that people complain about the location -- it is one of the jewels of Dallas.

This is one you will want to book -- especially if you have to be in Dallas. LOL.

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank MuscldPapi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2007

Booked a suite for the Halloween party/parade weekend. Fantastically spacious. Four poster bed was a great touch. Close to great restaurants and bars. (Wouldn't stay here if you don't want to see gay couples because there are PLENTY of them about.)
Will definitely book here again. I think I like it better than the Crescent Court!

  • Liked — Spacious room, location
  • Disliked — Parking costs extra
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank danubefish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler, Texas
Level Contributor
68 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2007

We recently had a to find a hotel fast due to a family illness in Dallas. We needed somewhere convenient to the hospital and family and remembered the Melrose. My grandparents had stayed there years ago when they made a trip to the City (Dallas) and I always remembered hearing about it. It has been lovingly restored and if you are trying to get away from the current cookie cutter luxury hotel formula, the Melrose is the place for you. It was also an outstanding value for such a gracious and elegant hotel. The lobby and Library Bar were just beautiful -- elegant and understated. And I cannot rave enough about every one on the staff. They learned our names immediately and were always so attentive and considerate. Mind you, there were some minor complaints with the accommodations -- there is something to be said for new in some cases, but nothing that would cause me not to recommend the hotel. The only real complaint we had was that we could hear the activity in the adjoining room, probably through the connecting door, and next time I would ask for a room without one. We were on the back side of the hotel, so the street noise was at a minimum. Overall, we were very pleased despite the unpleasant circumstances necessitating our visit, and would stay there again.

  • Liked — The gracious elegance that cannot really be repeated by a modern facility.
  • Disliked — Noise from connecting room.
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Deborah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2007

Based on the rave reviews from tripadvisor we booked a suite in the Melrose Hotel to celebrate a significant event. It was very disappointing to say the least. Yes, the service was impeccable, the bathroom amenities were upscale, and the piano bar was quite nice but the room was in desperate need of a serious overhaul. I felt like I was staying at an old great aunt's slightly smelly, threadbare house. I tend to like old hotels with a lot of character and have never had trouble before but the suite at the Melrose was tired and run down. The sofa and arm chairs were faded, frayed, and shabby looking. The mattress was soft and the bedspread and decorative pillows in need of replacement. Most unpleasant was the very noticeable musty smell in the room that would not go away. If you have allergies to mold I would think twice about staying here. To be honest I am surprised at the high marks given by the tripadvisor reviewers. I wouldn't call the hotel a "dump" but if you want upscale luxury that sparkles choose somewhere else. It just may not be worth the money.

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank wanderer888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2007

This hotel continues to offer a great value for the per-night price. The Melrose is an older hotel that has been well-maintained overall. Our room was quite large, at least twice the size of most current hotel rooms. Staff were very friendly and helpful with directions to restaurants. Location is also great, very easy to get to the City's best shopping or to museums (although you will need a car). Also the hotel is located in the epicenter of the Dallas lesbian and gay community, at the intersection of Oak Lawn and Cedar Springs, in easy walking distance to some of the City's most well-known gay bars, boutiques and cafes. We were warmly welcomed, well treated, and quite comfortable-- which isn't always the reception that gay folks get when they come to Texas, even in some of its larger cities. The only downsides are that the hotel has no covered parking, and has no self-parking. Overall, we would recommend the hotel highly.

  • Liked — The wonderfully large guest room.
  • Disliked — The lack of self-parking and lack of covered parking.
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank MisterTravelFella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dallas hotels
Downtown Dallas
Omni Dallas Hotel
Omni Dallas Hotel
#5 of 203 in Dallas
6,335 reviews
Oak Lawn
Hotel ZaZa Dallas
Hotel ZaZa Dallas
#3 of 203 in Dallas
1,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Fairmont Dallas
#18 of 203 in Dallas
1,884 reviews
The Adolphus
#19 of 203 in Dallas
2,580 reviews
The Highland Dallas
#11 of 203 in Dallas
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Warwick Melrose Hotel Dallas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warwick Melrose Hotel Dallas

Property: Warwick Melrose Hotel Dallas
Address: 3015 Oak Lawn Ave., Dallas, TX 75219-4134
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Dallas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Dallas
#7 Family Hotel in Dallas
#12 Luxury Hotel in Dallas
#24 Business Hotel in Dallas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Warwick Melrose Hotel Dallas 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Warwick Melrose Hotel Dallas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Warwick Melrose Dallas
Warwick Dallas
Dallas Warwick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing