We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A STEAL!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Grand Hotel Dallas
Ranked #11 of 24 Dallas B&B and Inns
El Paso, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A STEAL!”
Reviewed May 1, 2014

I'm shocked at the negative reviews. We Stayed here a while ago....and we were absolutely shocked at how CHEAP and great the HOTEL looked! We will definitely be visiting again! The front desk reception was nice and informational. I mean I am completely shocked at how this hotel is so CHEAP!! A complete STEAL!! =)
Thanks !

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kema B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    24
    22
    11
    31
See reviews for
20
29
9
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, OK
Level 6 Contributor
609 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 294 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014

We booked via Hotwire and were a little concerned after reading some of the reviews. But I must say we were very pleasantly surprised. We were greeted by a very friendly receptionist and there were about 4 very nice luggage carts to help us take our things to the room.

The walk to the room was rather long and the halls were not particularly well lit, but the room was wonderful. We had a nice, comfortable king bed with nice linens that were changed daily. There was a flat screened TV, a safe, iron and ironing board, microwave, coffee maker and refrigerator. The bathroom had a hair dryer and shampoo etc. The desk was perfect for using our laptop and we enjoyed the free wifi. The second day, I had trouble getting online and called the front desk. Their Internet Service Provider was down in that area of town but they were told that it was being worked on. The front desk actually called us when it was back up and running! We had not asked them to do that but they noted we had called about it. I was impressed by that.

Service was great. We also ran out of Kleenex in the bathroom and called about it and it was replaced promptly. When we checked out, the clerk asked how our stay was. Then she asked if there was anything they could have done to make our stay better! It has been a long time since someone asked that.

The only negative I saw was that the ceiling in the bathroom could have used a coat of paint. The bathroom had been updated with granite counters but it looked like there may have been a leak in the bathroom above. They provided all the towels we needed. They weren't very plush but they were definitely adequate! Also, there were black out drapes but it would have been nice if they had sheers behind them so we could open them during the day to let in light while still having privacy.

The location of the hotel was very convenient (75 and LBJ). I had to go to a meeting and take the car and my husband appreciated that there was an In-and-Out Burger next door. Though they didn't offer breakfast, we honestly didn't miss it. Most free hotel breakfasts are just an assortment of high carb selections! With the refrigerator, microwave, and coffee maker (coffee was provided), you could have breakfast in your room.

There was a small gym off of the lobby and a computer in the lobby for guest use. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We were in room 242. It was close to the main hall (the hotel is sort of laid out like an H). Stil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank morrishj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014

During my stay, they were dyeing the doors from all the rooms. Imagine the smell. Still, well placed hotel, near highways and a couple of fast-foods around the corner. Rooms are comfortable. Not worth full price.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrannamB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

I was very apprehensive about this hotel after reading several reviews. We had to change plans suddenly when friends with whom we were supposed to stay over the weekend had a family emergency, so were limited in choices.. Let's be frank - this is a $44/night hotel so do not expect the Ritz Carlton. Nevertheless, we found the room to be clean, the sheets and towels were clean and changed after the first night. The room was standard size with 2 double beds, flat screen TV, mini-fridge, microwave and granite counter in bathroom. The room appeared to be freshly painted, and workers were working on the halls. There is also free parking, free wi fi, swimming pool which appeared to be maintained, and a computer in the small lobby where you can print out boarding passes. Service was a bit sketchy - the receptionist who checked us in was very friendly; however, another whom we had to ask questions was rather rude. Probably some customer service training would be useful. About the location, it is not in a bad part of town - there is a La Quinta next door, a Wyndam in the back and stores on the other side. It is also centrally located to downtown Dallas, DFW, and Ft. Worth. Overall, it's not the best hotel but for the money, it's fine for a night or two.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kh19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goodyear, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Our family of 5 checked into this hotel on 3/11/2014 at 2:00pm and has planned to stay 3 nights. At around 9:00pm the manager came to our room with a notice that the hotel would have no running water on 3/12/2014 from 7:00am - 8:00pm. We immediately went to the front desk and requested to checkout and for a refund but we were told no. We argued with the hotel owner Kirk that we were never informed of the water situation upon booking our room or checking in and that it was unacceptable for us to pay for a room that would not have water. Kirk told us no one was forcing us to stay and we were free to check out but we were not owed a refund. Since it was so late and our 3 small children had nearly fallen asleep we decided to stay the night. Our entire family woke up with bug bites all over our body, the AC stunk so bad we could not have it on, there was no hot water, and our son woke up with a asthma attack and un-able to breath due to a sudden smell of pesticides that entered our room around 3:30am. We left this place right then. As wee were gathering our stuff and loading onto a cart the guests in the room right across the way from us had the mom, dad and 2 kids standing outside of it so in passing I asked the mother if everything was ok? She replied sobbing with: "No! The front desk had security search our room like we are criminals" my response was WHAT? The mother went on to say: "At 4:00am the front desk thought they heard suspicious activity coming from our room so they decided we were subject to a random search of our room and during the search the security guard emptied all our luggage onto the floor." In our opinion the family looked nice and wholesome but regardless if the family had reason to be searched or not this hotel is HORRIBLE!!!! Stay at Howard Johnson in Arlington for $10 more per night.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lpatrick8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dallas hotels

Tulsa, Oklahoma, United States
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014

This is just another average hotel you can find on the outskirts of Dallas for an average of $50 a night.

Pros:
Next to an In and Out restaurant
Breakfast/donut shop around the corner
Rooms are clean and extremely quiet out in the halls
Beds are just right combination; not to firm or soft
Right off I-635; close to downtown

Cons:
Check in is right at 2PM; not 1:55PM, 1:58PM, BUT right at 2PM. Computer system will not let people check in until 2PM.
Chairs, dressers, tables, nightstands, shower, and general bathroom is extremely outdated.
Only entrance to your room is going through the front door of the hotel. Be prepared to walk after your long day.
No breakfast options for the morning.
Parking can be a pain in the front; parking is also shared with the LQ.

I really don't have anything really positive or negative about the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marcus W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
Reviewed March 8, 2014

Room was great,but then I got some bites and told the manager about the situation and instead of offering a room he insisted that we had to leave with no full refund.was disappointed with the dirty sheets and the tv barely had any channels unless you like the sports channels

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ayden14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dallas hotels
0.2 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Dallas Park Central
6.2 mi away
The Highland Dallas
The Highland Dallas
#11 of 204 in Dallas
374 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wyndham Dallas Suites - Park Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn North Dallas Near The Galleria
0.2 mi away
The Westin Dallas Park Central
9.3 mi away
Hilton Anatole
Hilton Anatole
#36 of 204 in Dallas
3,446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel Dallas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel Dallas

Property: The Grand Hotel Dallas
Address: 7815 Lyndon B Johnson Fwy, Dallas, TX 75251-1207 (Formerly Quality Inn Conference Center)
Location: United States > Texas > Dallas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Dallas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Grand Hotel Dallas 2.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your The Grand Hotel Dallas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Dallas
Quality Inn Dallas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing