We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Alternative” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sheraton Suites Market Center

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sheraton Suites Market Center
Ranked #87 of 200 Hotels in Dallas
St Paul
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good Alternative”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2008

Stayed here during while attending a conference at the Hyatt across the street. I like a little more room and this provided it. The suite consisted of a living area and a small bedroom area. The bedroom had a small baloney. The suite was clean and updated. It was a good alternative to the very large Hyatt across the street. The only drawback was the freeway noise if the siding door was open (mostly rush hour morning and afternoon) and that it is NOT close to any real shopping (even drug store or convenience store) or restaurants.

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank photoqueenmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    151
    108
    71
    54
See reviews for
112
77
38
222
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2008

I just stayed 2 nights in the Sheraton Suites Market Center. Having read the negative reviews, I was apprehensive about what I would find. At check-in I mentioned that I had read on the internet some unflattering things about the hotel and I asked for a good room. There are somethings I didn't like, but basically it is an average 3 star hotel. It does need refurbishing; and this has already started. (I recently stayed at a brand new hotel and there are differences between brand new and needing refurbishing.) However, there wasn't anything unacceptable about my room. Housekeeping appears to be doing a good job. My room was clean. I didn't see any mold or mildew on the walls and the wall covering was intact.

Registration was professional and courteous. The public spaces are pleasant and inviting.

To me, the biggest distraction was the carpet in the corridor. It was loose and wrinkled. The Televisions (one in the Living Room and one in the Bed Room) are old tube type sets. The color was terrible; the orange color "glowed".

  • Liked — The suite: two rooms (both with access to the Bath Room). The Living had a Kitchette at one end.
  • Disliked — The televisions are old and the color needs adjusting.
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank FrugalTravelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoVa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2008

I had to stay here for training. This hotel is the most disgusting hotel I've ever step foot in. I would rather stay at a serial killer motel! In the first room I was given, the lights didn't work, and I could see mold growing on the walls. The wallpaper was peeling and moldy from water damage. I asked to be moved, and I was moved to a room just as bad. The room smelled of mold, and you could see the mold growing near the windows. The curtains conveniently hid the mold. The vents all had mold growing out of them. There were stains all over the floor, and water damage everywhere. The couch and chairs were all stained as well. I bought Lysol and an air freshener at the store, but that did nothing to get rid of the smell. I was physically sick while staying here. 15 people left and went to another hotel, and it was the best move I've ever made. Towards the end of the training, the horror stories from the Sheraton Suites continued. People came in to training and their clothing smelled like mold. One person had mold growing on their clothes that they had put in their closet. A few people talked about ants in their room, and one person said they woke up with ants all over their body. I wouldn't wish this hotel on my worst enemy. Avoid this hotel at all costs!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2007
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank cew1137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dallas hotels

STL
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2008

Good location since it's right off of I-35 and Market Ctr Blvd. Everything other than that seems to be below par for the Sheraton brand name.

Rooms are all suites and very small. With the king size bed in the room, you can literally extend your arm and touch all 4 walls. The televisions don't seem to have been updated since 1980s. They are in working condition and that's just about it. The furniture in the room seems to be at least a decade old, if not more and it really shows with chips in the paint etc.

The bathroom is equally old and the bath tubs have chips all over. The amenities weren't any known brand.

The only saving grace is that the room and bathroom is kept relatively clean. There is Starbucks coffee in the room and a refrigerator with a mini bar. However, don't dare look around the fridge or under the sink.

The fitness center on the ground level will remind you of Norman Bates Motel and has an extremely eerie feeling. The lighting is dim. The little equipment and weights there is - seem to be from the 1960s and very rusty/squeaky. The false ceiling is falling apart and with the pool right next to this fitness center, the dampness was very uncomfortable.

The top two or three levels I think are club floors and if you are a an elite SPG member, do try to push the staff for an upgrade to that level. The small dining room on the top level has a small limited complimentary breakfast, but enough to get you full.

The restaurant on the ground level is decent and has the regular buffet, lunch and dinner offerings.

The staff at the hotel is courteous.

Parking... this is another quirk. Why are they charging 7 bucks? This is not a downtown hotel and none of the adjoining hotels including Courtyard, Fairfield Inn, Doubletree have parking fee. This hotel shares its parking lot with Courtyard. There is no additional security or restricted access to the parking, so I don't know why they should be charging a fee.

A very disappointing hotel in the Starwood chain. If this were my first experience with Sheraton, I would never stay at another Sheraton again in my life. But I know that this hotel is an anomaly in the Starwood chain.

  • Liked — Easy highway access, Starbucks coffee in room
  • Disliked — Everything else
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Skidrust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
60 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2008

This is a rather nice hotel with a convenient location right off the highway. Dallas, as a city, is very spread out so there is really no hotel with a central location. Watch out for hotels that claim that!

We arrived to found our room already assigned and were on our way very quickly. All rooms here are suites. We had a living room, bedroom and a large bathroom. There is also a kitchenette of sorts by the door with coffee maker and microwave. The living room also featured a large desk.

Curiously, there are small balconies which can be reached by a sliding door by the bedroom. Two people can stand out there by why it was even included is a mystery. There is no room to sit and the only thing it appears handy for is smoking.

Anyway, the room was well maintained and the bed very comfortable as always at a Sheraton. There was a small t.v. in the bedroom and a larger one in the living room. Curiously, they are positioned back to back to if you use the remote to change the channel, it will also change the channel of the other one! We got a good laugh out of that and whoever planned the rooms should be reassigned.

There is a restaurant in the lobby but we never ate there. The exception being the bar which serves burgers, sandwiches and snacks. We had planned to eat at the lobby restaurant but, curiously, found it closed and it was a Saturday night. We didn’t feel like driving so we tried the bar. The food was actually very good and the prices not bad. For breakfast, there is a Denny’s a quick walk away. You’ll find that much cheaper than at the hotel.

The hotel is right on the highway making various points in Dallas easily reachable. The airport is about a 20 minute drive. Traffic can be very bad in Dallas so if you need to be somehwere, give yourself some exra time.

However, other than the Denny’s and the lobby restaurant, there are no places to eat within walking distance. You’ll need a car but a short drive will give you plenty of places to choose from. The lobby staff also made some great recommendations and are very helpful. You are also close to several malls as well.

The hotel is in an office complex. It appears designed for business travelers as during our weekend stay, the place was quiet and seemed pretty empty.

The housekeeping crew did a great job and the staff we encountered were very friendly and willing to assist. Overall, a nice stay and I would recommend this place.

  • Liked — Clean, Comfortable Rooms and a Caring Staff
  • Disliked — Lack of Choices of Restaurants and the On-Site Restaurant Being Closed at Times
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank timman19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dallas hotels
Downtown Dallas
Doubletree by Hilton Dallas Market Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Suites Market Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Suites Market Center

Property: Sheraton Suites Market Center
Address: 2101 Stemmons Freeway, Dallas, TX 75207
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Dallas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 200 Hotels in Dallas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Suites Market Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Suites Market Center Dallas is close to American Airlines Center, JFK museum, Dallas Aquarium and Zoo and West Village restaurants, and has over 4300 square feet of meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and HotelsforEveryone so you can book your Sheraton Suites Market Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Suites Market Hotel Dallas
Sheraton Market Center
Sheraton Hotel Dallas
Dallas Sheraton
Sheraton Dallas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing