We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific Stay at Dallas Hyatt Regency @ Reunion”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Dallas
Ranked #21 of 203 Hotels in Dallas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
McAllen, TX
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Terrific Stay at Dallas Hyatt Regency @ Reunion”
Reviewed August 20, 2007

Stayed at the Hyatt Regency Dallas-Reunion Arena for Crimes Against Children Conference (Aug.12-Aug.16, 2007). Check-in on Sunday was a snap. 2,500 conference attendees present from law enforcement, d.a. offices, mental health, and social work fields. I was initially booked a room facing west, and found that a/c was not working. Requested engineering to fix a/c and was told that I would be moved to another room. Room arrangements were made within 15 minutes. Was assigned to 26th floor with a panoramic view of the Dallas Skyline! Wow! No a/c problem here. However, hallways were warm.

Room itself was large enough for myself, wife and 3 year old daughter. Plenty of space - desk, sofa chair w/ ottaman, pillow-top king bed, 27" T.V., microfridge, beautifully appointed bathroom w/ typical Hyatt touches. Carpeting and window drapes a little outdated.

All staff (valet parking attendants, bellman, concierge, check-in/registration) were professional and very courteous. My daughter lost a blanket for her plush toy, and cleaning staff found it and returned to my daughter! What a wonderful touch!

Room service exceeded my expectations. Portions were large, and always received a follow-up/courtesy call from room service if everything was satisfactory.

Hotel is "connected" to downtown via underground walkway that leads to Union Station and Light Rail platform. Very easy to use and take to shopping/eating areas of Downtown (West End).

Valet parking is a little steep @ $18 + tax, but very convenient with minimal wait for your vehicle to be brought out, with in/out privileges. There are city-owned parking lots to the north and south of hotel and charge $10, but NO in/out priveleges. Pool very small relative to number of rooms, but was hardly used by guests during my stay. Pool never had more that 4-5 kids in it at anytime.

Never found any beggars, or panhandlers around the hotel, but would avoid Union Station unless your walking thru it. Hotel is within 5 minute walk to West End District, Dealy Plaza, Sixth Floor Musuem, as well as Union Station DART light rail stop.

Hotel atrium is very pleasing to view and spend the afternoon just people watching. Prices for breakfast / lunch buffet run $15/pp. Explore other eating venues via 2 min. light rail ride to West End district.

Check-out was a breeze. Slight wait for valet parking because of enormous amount of guests checking out of hotel on Aug. 16, but handled well.

Rate was $113 + tax /nt., but I'm sure that priceline / hotwire deals are out there. Lots of praises for this hotel in spite of prior reviews. I really felt and was treated like some VIP.

TIPS:
-Hotel connected to light rail station via tunnel. Costs $2.50 for all day pass, incl. bus routes
-If possible, consider parking vehicle in $10 lot, and use light rail to get around downtown and nearby attractions.
-Use a map to get familiar with streets around hotel as downtown one-way streets can be confusing.
-Drive defensively in downtown expressways.
-Very helpful concierge, utilize to eliminate uncertainties about attractions, shopping/dining options.

  • Liked — Panoramic view of downtown Dallas Skyline
  • Disliked — $18 valet parking
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ADAMcAllen_TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,725 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,734
    1,170
    511
    189
    121
See reviews for
527
508
137
2,131
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (745)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2007

This is the only hotel I stay at when I go to Dallas. It's in a great location and I can normally get a regular room for $70 on Priceline! They just redid Hyatts nationwide, and now they have these *amazing* beds - Big fluffy sheets and like 8 pillows. Good stuff.

The only thing is the price - It's a luxury hotel, so everything's expensive. It's like $20 to park, and breakfast is a small fortune for my college student budget, but there are fast food places around the area for a cheap breakfast. They staff always seems kind of snobby to me but they are helpful.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Lecia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2007

Nearly 4,000 teachers - half sitting on the lobby floor! Check-in was a logistical nightmare. We bought sandwiches and ate on the floor. Doctors, laywers, other professions don't put up with this. Several lines to check in - 1-2 hours long. Bags were not sent up after three hours. Reason: bags were mixed up and sent to wrong rooms, had to wait in more lines to find bellhop to go to lost and found to retrieve missing luggage. More lines (15-20 minutes) at elevators from morning to evening. There is a bright side to this: Restaurants, too-soft beds and valet parking. They run, smile, and nearly make up for the rest. Restaurants/lounges are on the second floor. Service is okay, mixed drinks ($7) are very strong. Group of 4 large men were asked to leave Italian restaurant ($10-$30/meal) after launching into vulgar, profane, and sexually explicit conversation. A teacher, not the manager, persuaded the inebriated to leave. The lobby is beautiful (waterfall, marble, glass, plants, spotless), the revolving bar in the Reunion Tower was a nice experience. Service in the tower is better than the hotel's. If you book a stay here, call and ask if a convention (they happen often) will coincide. You may reconsider. Lines for guests not attending the convention were very inconvenient - several were overheard complaining and swearing.

  • Liked — Reunion Tower
  • Disliked — Very long lines.
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank TDShaw30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magnolia, Texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2007

The hotel was very clean and pretty quiet considering it had many convention goers. Self Parking is $10 for 24 hours with no in and out priviledges - which is a bummer...and the parking lot is behind the hotel - not a walk for people in heels or handicapped. Our Hotwire price was excellent. We'd definitely stay here again.

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank margierita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 16, 2007

The hotel looks good from the outside and the lobby is ok. Very deceiving! The rooms are very shabby. The room I was given had a musty stench that probably was due to the old moldy carpeting and outdated furniture. The outdoor pool facility is a big joke! It was simply a small "cement pond' dug into an unfinished roof area, where the sun beating on the surface would make the heat unbearable. There was only room in the pool for approx. 10 people to stand in it just to cool off. Swimming was out of the question. The kicker of my entire stay was the abundance of bedbugs! I was eaten alive! It's been a week and a half since my stay & I'm still suffering from it! I don't see how this hotel earned its 4 stars. I would never stay here again.

  • Liked — Lobby
  • Disliked — Everything else.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank jminbh3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2007

I had dinner at the Antares Restaurant and it was awful. It's a revolving restaurant atop the Reunion Tower, and I've experienced something like it in NYC and Vegas. Seems like a waste In Dallas, when all you can see is flatland on one side and downtown on the other. For the prices, I'm expecting a great meal. So wrong.

As soon as you step off the elevator, you're hit with a smell that's a cross between the toilet and mildew. I had a waiter with a thick accent and I had to have the poor man repeat everything twice...and because he didn't understand me, he had to have me repeat everything I said twice! Five minutes after I ordered, the food came. It was so fast that it made me think it was already prepared and they heated the plate up in the microwave. It certainly tasted like it was. The presentation was mediocre and I was only able to eat half of my much anticipated steak. For what I paid for this meal, it should have been so much better.

The next night I was at their Dome lounge for cocktails, which was one floor up from the resturaunt. Same smell.

Good service on both nights, though. I suppose the lack of patronage should have told me something.

The hotel itself wasn't bad. The king sized room was huge with very little furniture. My towels had holes in them. But still, very clean and the staff very friendly. The poor woman manning the Coffee Post, though. This is a conference hotel, so there is always a conference going on. Yet they have ONE person at the coffee shop, and once in awhile when the hotel manager sees that the line has gone on to, oh 30 or so people, she'll come over to lend a hand.

There are so many better hotels than this, especially for the price you pay.

  • Liked — Friendly and efficient staff
  • Disliked — Meals
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank RoadTripperNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2007

We attended a huge conference at the Hyatt. First of all, everything is so crazy expensive, I know that is expected at most hotels, but I had an eighteen dollar hamburger (it wasn't that good, believe me...). The location of the hotel seemed fine, but we had a car. If you had to walk to various locations, it seemed a little remote. They didn't have our room that we requested when we got there (they only had a king and offered to put a rollaway in the room--- NOT!), but I called the manager and "miraculously" a double room appeared. Whatever. I think the hotel did a good job of handling the huge crowd and the staff seemed genuinely concerned that everything was up to par during our stay. I will say though, it is a pretty noisy hotel. Between the atrium/restaurants in the lobby (the sound carries) and the trains going all night, it was a little annoying. The beds are so comfortable though and the maid service was great (we left them a tip). We didn't really eat at any of the restaurants, just had room service. We did eat out though at a place called Bone Daddys. It was a barbeque place. if you don't mind waitresses that are dressed like hookers, this is a good place to eat. Lastly, go to the Galleria and Northpark malls, good shopping! :)

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank jackw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dallas hotels
Downtown Dallas
Omni Dallas Hotel
Omni Dallas Hotel
#5 of 203 in Dallas
6,339 reviews
The Fairmont Dallas
#18 of 203 in Dallas
1,885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Dallas
Homewood Suites by Hilton Dallas Downtown
Downtown Dallas
The Westin Dallas Downtown
Downtown Dallas
Hilton Garden Inn Downtown Dallas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Dallas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Dallas

Property: Hyatt Regency Dallas
Address: 300 Reunion Blvd, Dallas, TX 75207-4409
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Dallas > Downtown Dallas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Dallas
#12 Green Hotel in Dallas
#14 Family Hotel in Dallas
#16 Luxury Hotel in Dallas
#22 Romantic Hotel in Dallas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Dallas 4*
Number of rooms: 1120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Regency Dallas is located downtown, conveniently connected to landmark Reunion Tower and historic Union Station. The hotel has 1,120 guest rooms, 42 suites, an outdoor pool and Hyatt StayFit Gym. Conveniently located near the Convention Center, the historic West End District and Dealey Plaza, the American Airlines Center and shopping centers. The hotel also has the longest running AAA four-diamond distinction among convention hotels in downtown Dallas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt Regency Dallas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Dallas Hotel Dallas
Dallas Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Dallas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing