We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place. So unexpected.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Regency Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Regency Hotel
Ranked #171 of 201 Hotels in Dallas
El Paso
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice place. So unexpected.”
Reviewed February 25, 2012

My oldest daughter was in Dallas for a college visit and we stayed at the radisson because they had a 30 percent off sale. We got the room with two queen sleep number beds for $57.00 a night. The place has recently had a renovation and it was really nice. I don't why some folks didn't like it. Food was good, beds nice and it was very clean. It is in a off the path location but not in a bad neighborhood. There weren't a lot of places to go out and eat but we did ok with a gps. I would say it is a fine place for a short stay.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    5
    11
    16
    94
See reviews for
28
24
16
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Suwanee, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2012

Booked a last minute stay as my family and I were driving through town. Old hotel with dated elevator to the "workout" room. Musty smell in the older part of hotel. Poor location. I did lose a running shoe in the room. I emailed the hotel they did reply and told me I would get a followup phone call...of course that never happened.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank koster25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dallas hotels

Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2011

What a joy coming to the hotel on November 18, 2011. Our church had our Thanksgiving Banquet for about 275. What a marvelour feast, it was all first class Thanksgiving cuisine, warm and the serves was expceptional. Claudia Aquilar was the catering manager and she had everything ready to go in a stupendous style. Claudia turns it over Juan the evening catering manager when she knew everything was already to go. The banquet room with all the tables and the banquet tables were decoration wher with fall colors, cute decoation on each table. The room was set up with two open megaphones which was great everone could hear, chuch members share what they were thankful for. I am thankful for the great serve at your hotel and hope we are able to come back next year.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank B K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
87 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2011

As a disclaimer, I didn't end up staying the night here. The sole reason I booked this room was to take advantage of a points promo the Carlson Club is running.

Check-in was nice and quick. The lady behind the counter was very nice. The rooms themselves were much better than expected. They are large, had a decent bathroom, a mini fride, a microwave and a medium sized HD TV. The bedding was very comfortable.

The reason I give it a 3 instead of a 4 is because of the location. It's in a seedy area of Dallas where there's really not much to do. The hotel makes you use your room key to enter into their halls. I suspect this is to keep out the riff raff. Parking is free and I think I saw free wireless.

You could certainly do worse. In fact, in this particular area, this hotel is cream of the crop.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spankytoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuckerman, Arkansas
1 review
Reviewed July 15, 2010

Well we stayed the night there and it was worth the money. the bad thing was that the sleep number beds didnt work. they would come on evey once in a while but it wasnt that big of a deal. the poool wasnt as clean as i thought because it was kinda blurry.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrewstzoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2010

I stayed for three nights. After a complicated and confusing trip to the hotel - nobody in the area knew were the hotel was and route planners couldn't find it either - we found the surroundings to be dingy and run down. Inside, we were positively surprised by the seemingly new interior. Rooms themselves were large and beds were comfortable.

However, service couldn't keep up with that impression - the rooms were cleaned only superficially (hairs from other guests on pillows etc.) and crumbs on the carpet. The worst moment of the stay was a Texas-sized cockroach walking up the wallpaper from behind the bed. We asked for quick assistance from the front desk, insisted multiple times while the roach strolled up and down the room, but housekeeping was not in a hurry at all and didn't seem motivated to do anything about it. About an hour later, we gave up and switched our room.

The pool was alright, could have been a been cleaner though (used plasters etc. in the pool). Surroundings contrast the hotel's interiors completely: rundown apartment buildings, sex shops and the like next door make the Radisson seem out of place. Parking spaces can be accessed by anyone, people hang around the area at night, doesn't give you a safe feeling and makes you worry about your car. Amenities are not in the immediate neighborhood, a mile or two away, but their seems to be a shuttle service from the hotel. Downtown is about 20 miles away.

All in all, I would recommend this hotel to the budget conscious traveller who has a car to get around in the area.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MT87_Germany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2010

For an alleged 3 star hotel, I expected much more. The lobby and ballrooms all looked nice and polished. But go further into the hotel and it's not near so nice as your first impression might lead you to think. The rooms were ok...the sleep number beds are always comfy. The bathroom was cramped. The hallways weren't as nice as they may have once been.

The pool was downright awful...it was dirty, the area around the pool was dirty, and they had no towels available at the pool.

The location is right up against a bunch of downmarket apartments. I was very glad nobody broke into my car during the night.

In my opinion, adjust your expectations to a 2 star hotel and you might be a lot more satisfied than I was.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guzilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dallas
1.5 mi away
Motel 6 Dallas - Garland - Northwest Hwy
1.9 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Garland/Dallas
1.3 mi away
Days Inn Dallas Garland West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
Wyndham Garden Dallas North
5.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dallas Fair Park
6.1 mi away
Super 8 Garland/Rowlett/East Dallas Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Regency Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Regency Hotel

Property: The Regency Hotel
Address: 11350 LBJ Freeway, Dallas, TX 75238 (Formerly Radisson Hotel Dallas East)
Location: United States > Texas > Dallas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #171 of 201 Hotels in Dallas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Regency Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 245
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Regency Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Dallas
Dallas Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing