We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for the price!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Dallas Downtown
Ranked #128 of 203 Hotels in Dallas
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great for the price!”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

My family and I stayed here in early December 2012. We traveled to Dallas from Houston to see the Rockettes holiday show and to see the Children’s Medical Center Holiday Parade, which I highly recommend. The hotel was in a great location for seeing the parade. The hotel is located close to the bus station, so there are a lot of people standing around at all hours of the night. The hotel and the parking garage seem relatively safe. The only weird thing about this hotel is that there is a night club located inside the lobby.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deanna P, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Dallas Downtown, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Dear Amanda D
We are so excited to hear you enjoyed your stay and enjoyed Dallas. Thank you so much for choosing our hotel. We love it when our guests take their time to give us feedback and make reviews for our future guests. We always discuss our reviews in our operations meetings and address areas where guests feel we have room for improvement. We appreciate you and look forward to serving you again for the next downtown parade or event! Have a great weekend!
Deanna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    418
    302
    274
    135
    132
See reviews for
181
247
112
464
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

The Crowne Plaza is one of the most affordable hotels in downtown Dallas, so it's worth considering if you're on a tight budget. On the downside the hotel feels old and has numerous annoyances.

I have stayed in rooms with air systems that make a horrible clanking sound. The hotel staff was nice enough to move me once but it's a problem that occurs in varying degrees in different rooms. There is also a bus depot next door and rooms on that side vibrate when buses are idling at the street level.

The staff have always been nice, and willing to help when something wasn't right. For that reason I think the Crowne is worth considering as long as you know that the rooms are generally below average.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Big_Apple_Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deanna P, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Dallas Downtown, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Hi Big_Apple_Texas
Thank you for choosing Crowne Plaza! We are excited to hear that you had great service. We are very sorry for the bus noise and ac noise. I will take your review back to my team and we will be addressing your areas of concern. We are super appreciative you took the time to give us this great feedback and it will allow us to serve you better in the future.
Thank you again for your time and review. Have a great weekend!
Deanna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

I stayed at the Crowne Plaza hotel in downtown Dallas during the first week of Feb. 2013.
The hotel is OLD. The lobby and the rooms are old looking and the carpets and furniture are not from this century.
But I guess that I noticed all the bad things about this hotel since I had very unpleasant stay in my room.
I stayed at 1911 on the 19th floor and there was a very bad fresh paint smell that didn't pass for the entire stay. I could have asked to switch rooms by my friend who was with me at the hotel had to transfer 4!!! rooms until he found a decent one. In addition I stayed in room only for few hours every night and didn't really have time to transfer rooms.
Bottom line is that the hotel is close to everything and that's its only advantage.

Room Tip: Don't stay at the 19th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tbarnea2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deanna P, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Dallas Downtown, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Hi tbarnea
Thank you for choosing Crowne Plaza and thank you for the feedback. We are so sorry we were not able to meet your expectations and hope to have another chance in the future. Meanwhile, I will take your comments back to the team and we will do our best to address the areas you mentioned. We always appreciate any feedback that will help us to serve our guests better! Thank you again and have a great weekend!
Deanna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dallas hotels

Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for three nights on Jan 13. Overall the hotel is in good quality, well located and with good quality rooms which included all necessary facilities for a business traveler (Safe deposit, Fridge, Strong WIFI, working station, Etc.). The staff are nice and pleasant, however... I had to switch no less then Four rooms (!) in the first 24 hours due to a very strong unpleasant scent of paint in the bathrooms and rooms, which actually made me dizzy and made it almost impossible to be in the room. I should state that the front desk was very helpful and tried to assist every time, however i would have expected from a hotel at this level to disable rooms which were painted until they are ready to use again, and thus prevent the inconvenient I had to endure. BTW - this was the same case also for threes other gusts from my party who were forced to change their rooms.

Room Tip: Until the paint smell is gone I would avoid all rooms on the 19th floor and room 1102 on the 11th fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yoav G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deanna P, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Dallas Downtown, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Hi Yoav G
I sincerely apologize for the unpleasant paint smell you encountered on your stay and for the inconvenience you suffered in the room moves. We are pleased to here you did finally get comfortable and enjoyed the service we delivered. I would love to speak with you directly about more details of your stay. Again, we thank you for choosing our hotel and hope you will come back to visit soon.
Thank you,
Deanna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Roxie and Terry thoroughly enjoyed this hotel. Everyone was on top of their job and extremely gracious, from the front desk to the lounge our stay was made special. Terry is going to switch his business trip lodging selection to this Crown Plaza when headed for Dallas. immaculately clean and comfortable with a super downtown location. Walk to the 6th floor museum or the west end night life. A special thanks to Ingrid for her dedication.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R0xter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deanna P, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Dallas Downtown, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Hi R0xter
Thank you for choosing our hotel. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and your time in Dallas! Ingrid will also be pleased to hear you had a great experience! Thank you again and we look forward to your next visit to Dallas!
Deanna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Jaclyn and Ingrid made certain that my stay was exceptional. Definately will stay here if anywhere close in proximity. Breakfast was the best buffet I've had and the free voucher was a classy touch. Great area, a lot of nice establishments within walking distance.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JustinG3231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deanna P, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Dallas Downtown, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Hi JustinG3231
Thanks so much for staying with us! We are excited to hear you had a great time and we look forward to serving you again soon!
Have a great week!
Deanna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 2, 2013

I had a rough day traveling and had a reservation hiccup. Jaclyn and Donna handled the issue and got me off to a wedding rehearsal on time. The location is ideal too. Close to everything, even a 7/11 is close. Enjoyed my stay and willI be back again. Thanks, ladies!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelingfan99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deanna P, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Dallas Downtown, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Hi Travelingfan99
We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed the city and our hotel! I will be sure to pass your great comments along to Donna and Jaclyn! Thank so much for choosing Crowne Plaza Dallas Downtown and come back soon to visit!
Sincerely,
Deanna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dallas hotels
Downtown Dallas
Hotel Indigo Dallas Downtown
Downtown Dallas
Hilton Garden Inn Downtown Dallas
The Fairmont Dallas
#18 of 203 in Dallas
1,935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Dallas
La Quinta Inn & Suites Dallas Downtown
Downtown Dallas
Homewood Suites by Hilton Dallas Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Dallas Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Dallas Downtown

Property: Crowne Plaza Hotel Dallas Downtown
Address: 1015 Elm St, Dallas, TX 75202-3126
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Dallas > Downtown Dallas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #128 of 203 Hotels in Dallas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Dallas Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 293
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in the heart of downtown, the Crowne Plaza® Hotel Dallas - Downtown provides travelers a home base with a short walk to the Dallas Convention Center and just six miles from Love Field Airport. Contemporary decor, elegant furnishings and signature Crowne Plaza® amenities provide a haven for business and leisure guests alike.Corporate and professional travelers enjoy easy access to the West End, Bank of America Plaza, Uptown McKinney Avenue, Renaissance Tower and Earl Cabell Federal Building. 30,000 sq. ft. of meeting space for up to 600, and perks such as a Crowne Meetings Director, a two-hour RFP response and a Daily Meeting Debrief. Our facility is certainly "The Place to Meet" among hotels in downtown Dallas, Texas and a great place to host a wedding, banquet or reception.Leisure guests also appreciate our hotel's convenient downtown locale. Dallas attractions, such as the West End district, American Airlines Center and the House of Blues, are less than a mile away, so you can easily walk to some of the major Dallas destinations.The Crowne Plaza® hotel Dallas - Downtown meets the needs of our guests with quality amenities, including 24-hour Fitness and Business Centers, an outdoor pool and our THRIVE Restaurant & Nightclub. Take advantage of the complimentary shuttle and sleep well with Crowne Plaza Sleep Advantage® amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Dallas Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dallas West End Hotel
West End Hotel Dallas
West End Dallas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing