We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ideal location for AAC, with shuttle service to Stars & Mavs games..” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Dallas Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Dallas Downtown
Ranked #127 of 200 Hotels in Dallas
Dudley West Midlands UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Ideal location for AAC, with shuttle service to Stars & Mavs games..”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2011

Stayed at Crowne Plaza in Downtown Dallas from 18th-26th November and found it to be a perfect location within easy walking distance of local attractions, restaurants and local public transport system. The hotel also providies a shuttle to/from the American Airline Centre especially useful for Stars & Mavs games. We found the staff to be excellent, nothing being too much trouble. Would have no reservations in recommending this hotel

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Davetjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian A, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Dallas Downtown, responded to this review, January 15, 2015
Dear Valued Guest,

We, at the Crowne Plaza Dallas Downtown, appreciate your comments, suggestions, and the fact that you stayed with us. We are currently going back through and touching any reviews that we did not respond to, just to let you, our valued guest know, that we do look at them and appreciate them. We also want all of our guests past, present, and future know that we will address any concerns brought forth, as we attempt to improve our property in every way possible. Thank you all again for your patronage and taking the time to review us here on tripadvisor.

Sincerely,

Brian Angerer
Front Office Manager
Crowne Plaza Dallas Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    401
    283
    255
    126
    126
See reviews for
163
231
108
440
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lafayette, Louisiana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2011

My husband and I stayed in September 2011. We went for a concert and a quick get away. I found the Crowne Plaza online and thought it was a great deal and in an ideal location for all the things we wanted to do. The room was nice and all the staff was very friendly. There were three things that I didn't like about the hotel. First we were told that there was a shuttle service but it never came to pick my husband and I up. Not a real big deal since we just drove our car or walked. The second thing was that there is a night club that is open to the public and the bouncers kind of bombard you when you get off the elevator. And the third thing was that the waitresses in the hotel were not very attentive to their customers.

All in all we like the hotel. It was very close to restaurants and sight seeing, and the beds were comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bobmarleys_sista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian A, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Dallas Downtown, responded to this review, January 18, 2015
Dear Valued Guest,

We, at the Crowne Plaza Dallas Downtown, appreciate your comments, suggestions, and the fact that you stayed with us. We are currently going back through and touching any reviews that we did not respond to, just to let you, our valued guest know, that we do look at them and appreciate them. We also want all of our guests past, present, and future know that we will address any concerns brought forth, as we attempt to improve our property in every way possible. Thank you all again for your patronage and taking the time to review us here on tripadvisor.

Sincerely,

Brian Angerer
Front Office Manager
Crowne Plaza Dallas Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odense, Denmark
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2011

Last year we drove from Minneapolis down to New Orleans. We chose to visit Dallas on the way, we are from Denmark and we really wanted to see some of the bigger cities in Texas, and having stayed at several other Crowne Plaza locations during our trips to the states, we ended up choosing Crowne Plaza Dallas Downtown, while in town.

We had read a fair share of bad reviews inhere, but usually we find that Crowne Plaza is a pretty pleasant experience overall, so we decided to give it a go.

The hotel has recently been renovated, so the decor and the rooms are really really nice. Nice big rooms, most of them has a great view of the downtown skyline, which is a pretty big deal in Dallas, where the skyline is among the most impressive in America. The room we stayed in had a nice big LG flatscreen, a small fridge and amazing beds. The lobby is pretty impressive and the staff are all very friendly and helpful.

The hotel is located right in the heart of downtown Dallas, you can walk to most of the restaurants as well as most of the historic landmarks. At night I would recommend that you do not walk around in the area, as it is pretty much deserted, aside from the occasional homeless people you will see here and there. This is primarily due to the fact that the downtown area, in general, pretty much becomes a ghost town outside of business hours.

However the two main reasons for choosing this hotel for your next Dallas stay are the following:

1: It has an absolutely AMAZING pool on the ninth floor, I seem to remember it being on the ninth floor, but I might be mistaking. Anyway you will fall in love with this "rooftop" pool immediately, it has the most breathtaking view of the downtown area you could possibly ask for. The hotel is located right across the street from the Bank of America" skyscraper, which at night is bathed in green neon lighting, it looks just stunning when you are up at the pool in the evening, Lying in the water at night looking at all those amazing futuristic steel and glass skyscrapers, which Dallas has an abundance of, while the airplanes from Southwest Airlines comes cruising by, is an amazing experience. The only I don´t get about the pool is the lack of an outside bar, it would be awesome to enjoy a bear or a drink up there, while relaxing and enjoying the view.

2: Alex! Yeah it might sound weird, I know, but Crowne Plaza in Dallas has the most helpful guy in America as part of their staff. That guy will bend over backwards in order for you to have the most pleasant experience while in the city. We felt so appreciated from the moment we got there because of him, and he made sure we knew where to go for a great meal, what to see in the city and what to avoid. He insisted on carrying our luggage, drive us around the city in the hotel van and he made sure we felt extremely welcome every time we came home from sightseeing or something else - He is truly a great representative of the Crowne Plaza chain as well as Dallas itself - Nothing less!

If we are ever in Dallas again, we will definitely be back!

Loved our stay there.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Christian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian A, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Dallas Downtown, responded to this review, January 22, 2015
Dear Valued Guest,

We, at the Crowne Plaza Dallas Downtown, appreciate your comments, suggestions, and the fact that you stayed with us. We are currently going back through and touching any reviews that we did not respond to, just to let you, our valued guest know, that we do look at them and appreciate them. We also want all of our guests past, present, and future know that we will address any concerns brought forth, as we attempt to improve our property in every way possible. Thank you all again for your patronage and taking the time to review us here on tripadvisor.

Sincerely,

Brian Angerer
Front Office Manager
Crowne Plaza Dallas Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2011

Recently stayed in Dallas for a guys weekend and to catch the Cowboys game. Stayed at the Crowne Plaza for 3 nights.

Now I should say that I don't complain about too much when I'm staying at a 3-4 star hotel, especially if I get the room at a good price (which we did). Overall, the hotel should meet all your needs for a comfortable stay. The staff is friendly, and the service at the front desk was fast.

About the rooms... I stayed in a corner room, that according to my friends staying in other rooms, was a little larger than theirs. The room has plenty of closet and drawer space for 2 people. I found the bed comfortable (slightly firm), and there are enough pillows to invite the Cowboy Cheerleaders over for a battle (attempts at holding this event were unsuccessful). The bathroom is a little small, but not a big deal. The WiFi in the room worked just fine.

The only negative I found is with the heating/AC unit. It makes a loud sound when it kicks on, and is a little louder than some people will like.

As far as the location... you are pretty much downtown, so the streets around the hotel get deserted in the evening and on weekends. But that doesn't mean there is nothing to do. There is a club in the hotel that gets busy on Friday and Saturday. We had the most fun out at the West End and at the Ten Sports Grill on Main St.

On the West End, you should check out Dick's Last Resort. Fun spot (maybe not the place for church groups to go wind down after reading Scripture). Lots of other places to imbibe and consume various dead animals (lots of steakhouses surprisingly).

We went to the Ten Sports Grill a couple of times to catch some football, and they have a pretty good menu there. The bucket of wings is worth buying. Ask for Jackie to serve you and tell her that her husband says hi.

The only things that keep me from rated the hotel a 5 is that for some, they might not like the location (I forgot to mention that the JFK Memorial is also a short walk away), and some people might find the AC loud. If they had a 4.5, I would rate the hotel that.

Room Tip: Here's a tip to save a couple of bucks... The gym on the 9th floor has bottled water at your dis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrSportsnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian A, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Dallas Downtown, responded to this review, January 22, 2015
Dear Valued Guest,

We, at the Crowne Plaza Dallas Downtown, appreciate your comments, suggestions, and the fact that you stayed with us. We are currently going back through and touching any reviews that we did not respond to, just to let you, our valued guest know, that we do look at them and appreciate them. We also want all of our guests past, present, and future know that we will address any concerns brought forth, as we attempt to improve our property in every way possible. Thank you all again for your patronage and taking the time to review us here on tripadvisor.

Sincerely,

Brian Angerer
Front Office Manager
Crowne Plaza Dallas Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2011

First, the good points:
1) Check in was fast, friendly, professional.
2) Room was clean. Bed was comfy, lots of pillows. Decent (if a bit small) for price.
3) Good downtown Dallas location. Easy walking distance to several decent bars & restaurants (Sonny Bryans Smokehouse, TGI Fridays, Hofbrau Steaks, YO Ranch Steakhouse, etc).
4) Friendly, helpful hotel staff.
5) Good water pressure, nice shower.
6) In-room fridge that was ice cold at check-in!
7) Attentive housekeeping in-room.
8) Very close to DART & bus stops. Some people like this. Some probably find this disconcerting (due to the large amount of people waiting, some panhandling). We were out walking around both nights: no problems. We noticed a large police presence at night.
9) Key for elevator is a nice security touch.
10) Close to historic West End tourist attractions http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/West_End_Historic_District_(Dallas,_Texas)

The iffy:
1) Loud AC system. The system clonked loudly each time it cycled on and off, and vibrated oddly.
Extremely HOT in the hallway (almost sauna like).
2) Very small bathroom. The vanity/sink area was so small I had to put a towel on the floor and use the toilet seat due to lack of vanity space.
3) Some problems with housekeeping OUTSIDE the room (food trays left in the hall more than one day).
4) Problems with parking gate cards not working. Attendant was less than helpful.
5) Breakfast was $15.00 for a Belgian waffle & coffee. This did not taste like a fresh waffle; it looked, felt and tasted frozen and it came with one sad sliced Strawberry. Pretty sad even for a Crowne Plaza.

Starbucks is across the street, in the Bank of America building, down the escalator, behind the CVS if you want REAL coffee.

YO Ranch Steakhouse (2 blocks down and 2 blocks over) is GREAT! Had a wonderful meal here: a mixed grill of venison, quail and buffalo -- wow! Fabulous! Great wine... superior service. Treat yourself to a wonderful meal at YO Ranch Steakhouse.

Overall:
Decent hotel for the price. The bed was comfy, plenty of pillows, good shower. Would have to think twice about staying here again unless I specifically needed to be in this area.

Be warned: It is VERY loud at night, lots of car & truck noise, DART, buses & sirens. We were on 15th floor and it was still VERY loud.

Room Tip: We were on 15th floor and the traffic noise was loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lulu_Pow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian A, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Dallas Downtown, responded to this review, January 18, 2015
Dear Valued Guest,

We, at the Crowne Plaza Dallas Downtown, appreciate your comments, suggestions, and the fact that you stayed with us. We are currently going back through and touching any reviews that we did not respond to, just to let you, our valued guest know, that we do look at them and appreciate them. We also want all of our guests past, present, and future know that we will address any concerns brought forth, as we attempt to improve our property in every way possible. Thank you all again for your patronage and taking the time to review us here on tripadvisor.

Sincerely,

Brian Angerer
Front Office Manager
Crowne Plaza Dallas Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2011

The hotel was nice and spacious and modern. The food was nice and the staff were helpful, we even had a chauffeur who took us places we wanted to go.

My criticism is that in order to get to your room you had to have a key for the lifts, which is great security, however was very annoying considering there was only one key for our room!

I'm a sucker when it comes to Dallas, but I've seen better areas of the Downtown. I felt a little lost, being British. So for people who aren't familiar with the area I wouldn't recommend it. There is a DART stop a few hundred yards down the road though.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jtribe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, ihgcare at Crowne Plaza Hotel Dallas Downtown, responded to this review, October 30, 2011
Dear Jtribe,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I do apologize for any inconvenience that you have experienced. We are continually striving to improve the hospitality we offer, and comments from our guests are always welcome. We appreciate the feedback that we receive as this is crucial for us to improve the products & services that we offer.

Sincerely,
Brenda J.
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2011

When you book into a central Crowne Plaza you don't expect the hotel bar to become a nightclub while you are out at dinner. That's what happens here on a Friday and Saturday night - the two days I was staying.

Overall this would make little difference, apart from I don't recommend popping back for a quick drink in the only bar there after 10. The problem is that if you are not a clubber you will not appreciate the groups of youngsters who head back to their room after enjoying the club.

In fairness the noise did not last long and the hotel is comfortable and well located close to the 6th floor museum and the West End restaurants.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian A, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Dallas Downtown, responded to this review, January 18, 2015
Dear Valued Guest,

We, at the Crowne Plaza Dallas Downtown, appreciate your comments, suggestions, and the fact that you stayed with us. We are currently going back through and touching any reviews that we did not respond to, just to let you, our valued guest know, that we do look at them and appreciate them. We also want all of our guests past, present, and future know that we will address any concerns brought forth, as we attempt to improve our property in every way possible. Thank you all again for your patronage and taking the time to review us here on tripadvisor.

Sincerely,

Brian Angerer
Front Office Manager
Crowne Plaza Dallas Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dallas hotels
Downtown Dallas
Hotel Indigo Dallas Downtown
Downtown Dallas
Hilton Garden Inn Downtown Dallas
Downtown Dallas
Homewood Suites by Hilton Dallas Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Dallas
SpringHill Suites Dallas Downtown/West End
Downtown Dallas
La Quinta Inn & Suites Dallas Downtown
Downtown Dallas
The Westin Dallas Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Dallas Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Dallas Downtown

Property: Crowne Plaza Hotel Dallas Downtown
Address: 1015 Elm St, Dallas, TX 75202-3126
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Dallas > Downtown Dallas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #127 of 200 Hotels in Dallas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Dallas Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 293
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in the heart of downtown, the Crowne Plaza® Hotel Dallas - Downtown provides travelers a home base with a short walk to the Dallas Convention Center and just six miles from Love Field Airport. Contemporary decor, elegant furnishings and signature Crowne Plaza® amenities provide a haven for business and leisure guests alike.Corporate and professional travelers enjoy easy access to the West End, Bank of America Plaza, Uptown McKinney Avenue, Renaissance Tower and Earl Cabell Federal Building. 30,000 sq. ft. of meeting space for up to 600, and perks such as a Crowne Meetings Director, a two-hour RFP response and a Daily Meeting Debrief. Our facility is certainly "The Place to Meet" among hotels in downtown Dallas, Texas and a great place to host a wedding, banquet or reception.Leisure guests also appreciate our hotel's convenient downtown locale. Dallas attractions, such as the West End district, American Airlines Center and the House of Blues, are less than a mile away, so you can easily walk to some of the major Dallas destinations.The Crowne Plaza® hotel Dallas - Downtown meets the needs of our guests with quality amenities, including 24-hour Fitness and Business Centers, an outdoor pool and our THRIVE Restaurant & Nightclub. Take advantage of the complimentary shuttle and sleep well with Crowne Plaza Sleep Advantage® amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, IHG and Priceline so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Dallas Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dallas West End Hotel
West End Hotel Dallas
West End Dallas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing