We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rooms need some work”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Doubletree Dallas Near the Galleria
Ranked #69 of 201 Hotels in Dallas
Lexington, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Rooms need some work”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

The mother-in-law is 90 and needed a handicap accessible room. Her room was very small with a king size bed so moving around using a walker was difficult. The bathroom door opened outward so it touched the bed this blocking a way out. The bath seat was broken, it was unattached to the wall so she ended up using her own walker to take a shower. Refrigerator looked like it was old and was not level.

Our room was pretty good. One lamp was not working properly until we jiggled it a little. They have too much stuff plugged into cords and not surge protectors. Seems dangerous to do this. Our room was right over the hotel bar and restaurant, which was fine. But one night was pretty loud as they had a DJ and a party going on. Fortunately the party didn't last too long into the night.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Christine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

798 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    228
    152
    76
    67
See reviews for
138
114
45
422
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aurora, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2014

Stayed 3 nights. Even after calling before hand and also noting in the reservation that we were 2 adults + 2 kids, when we checked in at midnight, they were going to put us in a room with 1 king!

I'm a Diamond member but as we booked through a third party site (last minute travel club), was not entitled to any of the benefits. But come on - putting 4 of us in 1 king? That doesn't require any membership tier status...just a bit of common sense. They upgraded us to the Executive Room - but didn't really matter - we just needed 2 double/queen beds.

The room was large, beds were fine. Bathroom was tiny. There was some lady's hair in the bathtub (yuck). They never provided enough shower gel...loads of shampoo, but 2 tiny bottles of shower gel. We were 4 people and they provided 3 towels.

Except for check-in, front desk was not overly friendly. Had asked one of the ladies for directions to a venue - she didn't even look up from her computer and blurted out the directions and continued looking at her screen.

Location is fine - close to a Walmart, Best Buy, Grocery Store (Walmart), couple fast food places, and not far from other venues.

Property is "tired" though. Free parking - as it should be at other hotels - was a bonus.

Not completely sure we'd stay again - there are just so many options available.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sanjaysethi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas
Level Contributor
226 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

First time at this property stayed three nights with the family...guess I'm not much of a huge hotel person. Things were clean and orderly and staff was fairly friendly. Hotel is showing its age.

Food is typical hotel fare with overpriced drinks. Nice swimming pool. Hotel was full and parking was crazy.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lifeontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shreveport, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014

Enjoyed a short but nice stay at the Dallas Doubletree. Very close to the Gallaria and other shopping for the wife. The breakfast buffet is awesome. Room very nice and clean and the staff was helpful with directions on where we wanted to go in town.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Bob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

The hotel is average but decent and clean. The lobby is nice. The pool was closed most of the time I was there so that was a disappointment. One of the days the housekeeping staff did not clean the room but for the most part housekeeping did a really good job. The drawers would not stay closed and maintenance had to come and fix them but they were fine after that. Drinks at the hotel bar were expensive. The hotel restaurant had such limited selections and hours that I never ate there and room service was not much better. Wi-Fi access was appreciated. Front desk staff were very friendly and polite. I would stay again. The location of the hotel is really good as plenty of restaurants and shopping are near as well as the easy access to the expressway.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShannaO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temple, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014

Room was very clean and nice bed. AC did not work well but we called the desk and they sent someone out there right way. Food was Great down stairs! Hard to get to because of the road construction. Hotel gave us a ride to the Mall and picked us up as soon as we called. We had a birthday party in the palm room and the staff was awesome and everyone loved the food.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Glenda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

If you have business north of Dallas this is a great place to stay. Dozens of restaurants nearby hotel on Midway RD. Staff was very professional. Enjoyed a ball game at the lounge and good conversation with the evening bar crew. Will be returning when I have business North of Dallas.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank D W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dallas hotels
1.5 mi away
Hilton Dallas Lincoln Centre
1.0 mi away
Sheraton Dallas Hotel by the Galleria
1.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Dallas Near the Galleria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Dallas-North
Hyatt Place Dallas-North
#46 of 201 in Dallas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
4.1 mi away
Wyndham Dallas Suites - Park Central
4.1 mi away
The Westin Dallas Park Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree Dallas Near the Galleria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Dallas Near the Galleria

Property: Doubletree Dallas Near the Galleria
Address: 4099 Valley View Ln, Dallas, TX 75244-5002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Dallas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Business Hotel in Dallas
#39 Romantic Hotel in Dallas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree Dallas Near the Galleria 3.5*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in North Dallas 1 mile from Galleria Mall. 10 story luxury hotel with beautiful atrium and three concierge floors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Doubletree Dallas Near the Galleria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Dallas Near The Galleria Hotel Dallas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing