We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boutique hotel in downtown Dallas”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Dallas Downtown
Ranked #35 of 204 Hotels in Dallas
Tulsa, OK
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Boutique hotel in downtown Dallas”
Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

Cute, clean and comfortable rooms. Great downtown location close to Baylor hospital. Staff was friendly, service great! One of our family members left behind their favorite pillow upon checkout. Housekeeping had it put back for us to retrieve. Thanks for an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tulsajsas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indigodallasgm, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Dallas Downtown, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Tulsajsas-Thank you. We deal with people going to Baylor a lot and they are special to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

928 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    374
    320
    124
    67
    43
See reviews for
110
233
91
328
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Having realised how much I rely on tripadvisor for info when planning American holidays,I've decided to review some older trips and hope my opinions are of some use to others.My wife and I stayed here one night at the end of our Christmas/new year holiday and really enjoyed it.We chose the hotel because of its closeness to Dealey Plaza and ease of access to the interstate for DFW airport the following day.The hotel is easy to find and the valet parking/luggage guys are really friendly and welcoming.The hotel foyer is bright and cheerful and check-in was a breeze,with happy,efficient staff only too happy to help.The small suite we had was really clean,colourful,fresh and cheery.We used the foyer restaurant for breakfast the following morning and,while it wasn't the greatest food,it was hot and fresh and the service was excellent.There are lots of local bars and restaurants (5-10minutes walk) in the area,which felt safe to walk in even at night.Dealy Plaza (and all things JFK) is 5 minutes drive.Overall,this is a very good hotel with great staff in a superb location.We will definitely stay here again if we visit Dallas in the future.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indigodallasgm, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Dallas Downtown, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Tony M-Thank you for the review. I will share your words with Chef. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

I have stayed at the Hotel Indigo in downtown Dallas several times since abandoning their sister hotel, the Crowne Plaza, due to issues with noise and old rooms. Thankfully Hotel Indigo is better on both points but there are still some quirks with this hotel that have me exploring other properties in the area.

The hotel has a very bright and updated feel, which contrasts with the fact that it's housed in a pre-war building. This is due to the fact that the floors are hardwood (real in the lobby, imitation in the rooms) and the color palette is generally white, bright blue and yellow. Some think that the colors are out of place in a non-beach hotel but I think it makes the place feel very inviting.

The rooms are interesting due to the pergo flooring (much cleaner than carpet) and the design that includes large images on the wall behind the bed. Regarding the images I have been in rooms with backgrounds of mussels and a blue wool sweater. Views from the rooms vary and it makes a big difference if your room is facing the interior courtyard. If that's the case you get: a) less natural light; and b) much less privacy. So if you like light and privacy do request an exterior facing room. In addition to standard rooms they also have 1-bedroom suites that I have stayed in. You get a bit (but not that much) more room in the 1-bedrooms. I can see these being helpful for families but as a business traveler it's definitely not necessary to pay extra for the suite.

The most curious aspect of the rooms is the bathroom/closet area, which is essentially two rooms. First you walk into a room with a sink (small vanity) and the "closet" area. Closet is in quotes because it's actually a nook with a curtain. The second interior room contains the toilet and a walk-in shower. I haven't stayed in a room that has a tub so I can't say if that option is available. The showers have worked fine but I don't find them very inviting because the room is pretty cramped and there's a curtain instead of a door on the shower. For some reason a door on a walk-in shower seems more proper to me.

On the ground floor, adjacent to the lobby area there is a restaurant/bar that seems like an afterthought to me. The bar closes early and it feels like a spot where you wouldn't want to
order anything more than a glass of wine or a beer. I have patronized the restaurant for breakfast but have found the menu to be limited and the service slow. So I usually count on eating outside of the hotel each morning.

The neighborhood around the hotel is a pretty good one, but it is on the edge of things. There's a park across the street, and there are several bars and restaurants starting one block away on Main St. The hotel offers a free shuttle to give you a lift a bit further afield but I have never used it.

Given the moderate price of this hotel compared to others in the area I think that some of the quirks (interior rooms, weird bath setup, limited restaurant/bar, etc.) are forgivable. If you are looking for a more full service experience (at higher prices of course) and a more central downtown location then this probably isn't the place for you. If those things aren't the biggest deal to you, and you'd like a nice hotel at a reasonable price then this is a place worth trying.

Room Tip: Request an exterior facing room. Rooms that face the interior courtyard are dark and have no privacy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Big_Apple_Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indigodallasgm, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Dallas Downtown, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Big_Apple_Texas-Thank you for taking time to write an in-depth review. There are some limitations that we face because the building was built in 1925. I will share your review with Ownership. I hope you have a great weekend.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

The fresh smells of the linens wins me back every time! My colleagues and I comment on how this fragrance takes us back to the time when crisp, white sheets and towels were brought in from the clothesline in the backyard. Makes it easy to settle into a good night’s sleep! Also, everything was spotless. Even though the hotel building is historic, the décor and upkeep is impeccable. I love the in-room microwave and refrigerator, the Earl Gray tea bags, and coffee pouches too! I also enjoy the Odwala fruit smoothies & beverages, seasonal fruit cups or the hearty meals that the restaurant serves. Indigo is not your ordinary hotel!! Finally, I must say how much I appreciate Dora! She is the consummate Indigo Ambassador and I look forward to seeing her each time I come to Dallas.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indigodallasgm, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Dallas Downtown, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
KristyC-Thank you for taking the time. I will share your comments with Dora. She is special.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We stayed at the Indigo recently for a family wedding. We had a queen suite on the 7th floor. The room was lovely, a bit on the small side but well appointed. The suite had a couch and was convenient for having guests in to visit. Both sitting area and separate bedroom had flat screen TV. There was also a small fridge, microwave and coffee service in the room. The common areas were bright and cheerful and had several areas convenient to sit around a visit. Every one of the staff were very friendly and helpful. We ate breakfast several times in the restaurant it was delicious. The hotel is convenient to many Dallas attractions and they have a shuttle that will take to some of them. Parking is across the street in a covered garage either valet or pay as you go. Valet is $20 a day, a bit steep but not unusual for larger cities. We enjoyed our stay and would be happy to stay there again in the future.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Illusionsphotog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indigodallasgm, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Dallas Downtown, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Illusionsphtog-Thank you for the kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mysuru (Mysore), India
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

The hotel is in a lovely old restored building, with rooms full of restored and repurposed old furniture. Very charming! Loved the colour palette of turquoise, blues and yellow. The food is fresh and scrumptious and not over priced, and the staff are polite and helpful. Our room had a sit-out with a TV, and another TV in the bedroom. We didn't use either, but it makes you feel like they are not scrimping on anything. The bed was super comfortable and done up so pretty it was a crime to muss it up.

Room Tip: If you are a Priority Club member you get discounts on all food and beverages!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ananya_Roy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indigodallasgm, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Dallas Downtown, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Ananya_Roy-Thank you for your time. We appreciate your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 6 nights while attending a conference based in the convention center. Our room was brightly colored and welcoming and the bed was very comfortable. The staff were all attentive, particularly Michael, the concierge, who made a point of greeting us by name each time he saw us (and who prearranged a cab to the airport for us on his day off - thanks, Michael!). The only negative was that we found it difficult to hail a cab on the street in front of the hotel, which we needed quite often during a busy week. This probably would not be a problem for most people. Several good restaurants are within easy walking distance.

Room Tip: Ask for an outside room for more light
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wwpalmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indigodallasgm, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Dallas Downtown, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
wwpalmer-We are happy you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dallas hotels
Downtown Dallas
Crowne Plaza Hotel Dallas Downtown
Downtown Dallas
Hilton Garden Inn Downtown Dallas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Fairmont Dallas
#18 of 204 in Dallas
1,986 reviews
Downtown Dallas
Sheraton Dallas Hotel
Sheraton Dallas Hotel
#40 of 204 in Dallas
2,712 reviews
Downtown Dallas
Homewood Suites by Hilton Dallas Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Dallas Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Dallas Downtown

Property: Hotel Indigo Dallas Downtown
Address: 1933 Main St, Dallas, TX 75201-5207
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Dallas > Downtown Dallas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 204 Hotels in Dallas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo Dallas Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo Dallas Downtown is a registered historic landmark property that was designed to offer a boutique hotel oasis in the heart of Downtown Dallas. We are within walking distance from business, entertainment, dining, shopping and world class arts that Dallas has to offer. We provide complimentary shuttle to Downtown and Uptown Dallas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, IHG, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Indigo Dallas Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Indigo Dallas
Dallas Hotel Indigo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing