We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service & Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Fairmont Dallas
Ranked #17 of 207 Hotels in Dallas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed October 12, 2010

A friendly staff greeted us. The hotels was super clean and in a prime location of Dallas. Shopping and attractions were near the hotel and good food was all around. Soft pillows and a soft bed as well. I highly recommend The Fairmont Hotel. Price paid for 1 evening $130

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank normychu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,169)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,971 - 1,977 of 2,169 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2010

Great personal service and friendly staff. I would gladly come back.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Drbackup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2010

The hotel was very nice! It had one of the most comfortable beds I've ever had the pleasure of sleeping in. The only problem with this hotel was the waiting staff at the lounge, which I was basically forced to eat at due to lack of restaurants in the area. Every single time I ate at the restaurant, the wait staff did not get my order right. The people at the front desk were not really on top of things either. As we were to have a special group rate for our business conference. When we checked in they didn't even know what we were talking about. It was a lovely hotel but don't expect anyone who works there to know anything and order the simplest food that couldn't be screw up. Although they did screw up a hamburger and fries....

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tiffanyls84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2010

First of all, it has no parking. So if you drive in, you have to schlepp your bags/hanging garments from a block away.
The Starbucks closes at 3 p.m.
The rooms are stuffy, and you can turn the AC on, but the rooms are still stuffy.

The front desk had to correct the bill twice.

However, the daytime concierge was great and very helpful. Nighttime not so much.
The banquet room--the Venetian--was very dated.

On the plus side, the Terrace organic garden and sitting areas are beautiful as is the pool. Unfortunately, the pool is unheated. So even in September, it was too cold to use.

The linens in the rooms were nice, flat screen TV, movies, etc. were great.
Only one restaurant to choose from and the choices were limited.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wtxtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2010

We stayed one night for the $79 rate. The room was non-descript, but had a very comfortable bed with quality linens. I also loved the large windows which ran the length of the outter wall. Our bathroom was small and did not contain a rubber mat to go in the tub, which I found very slippery.

The common areas are nice, and I loved the pool area. The pool had lots of seating with drink service. It was also nice to walk through the herb garden. There did not seem to be many areas to sit in the lobby area other than the large open bar.

I would stay there again if the price was right, but I don't think I would pay rack rates.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank galveston_gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2010

Spent three nights and was very satisfied.

Location in walking distance to Sixth Floor Museum and various restaurants.

Staff was great, very customer focused and helpful.

Nice pool set up as well.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bobk1717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2010

The Fairmont is a fine hotel in downtown Dallas. Keep in mind that even thought you're in the so-called arts district, good restaurants are hard to come by and the hotel's Starbuck's has limited hours so nighttime repasts are a bit of a challenge. You can have nice bar food in the overly-lit hotel bar (the staff here is the hotel's weak link, with a somewhat attitudinal bar staff)

The rooms are clean and comfortable (how I wish the windows would open, however!), ther terrace pool is clean and large and the staff is friendly and helpful.

Overall, a fine stay.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tobeginwith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontDallas, Public Relations Manager at The Fairmont Dallas, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2010

Thank you for your feedback and I am happy to hear that overall your had a positive stat at The Fairmont Dallas. Please accept my apologies for any service that was not up to par; I will be sure to pass on your comments about the bar staff to the Director of Food and Beverage so that he can address the staff accordingly.

Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards,
Erica M. Martinez
Public Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dallas hotels
Downtown Dallas
Omni Dallas Hotel
Omni Dallas Hotel
#5 of 207 in Dallas
7,259 reviews
Downtown Dallas
Hyatt Regency Dallas
Hyatt Regency Dallas
#24 of 207 in Dallas
4,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Adolphus
#19 of 207 in Dallas
2,686 reviews
Oak Lawn
Hotel ZaZa Dallas
Hotel ZaZa Dallas
#2 of 207 in Dallas
1,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fairmont Dallas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Dallas

Address: 1717 N Akard St, Dallas, TX 75201-2301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Dallas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Dallas
#4 Family Hotel in Dallas
#9 Romantic Hotel in Dallas
#13 Business Hotel in Dallas
#14 Luxury Hotel in Dallas
Price Range: $166 - $357 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fairmont Dallas 4*
Number of rooms: 545
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Texas we do things in a big way, and The Fairmont Dallas is no exception amongst hotels in Dallas, TX. In this modern city of soaring skyscrapers, The Fairmont Dallas luxury hotel sets the standard for style and elegance. With our ideal location in the heart of the Downtown Dallas Arts District, we are situated just moments from incredible fine dining, shopping, arts and world-class entertainment. Newly redesigned luxurious guest rooms and suites offer warm hospitality, modern décor and that special Texas flair for an unrivaled travel experience. Fairmont Gold, an exclusive boutique lifestyle experience, is designed to fulfill the needs of the discerning business executive and leisure traveler, with elite lounge access and all of the comforts of home. Enjoy The Pyramid Restaurant & Bar’s four-star cuisine and a Starbucks conveniently located on the lobby level. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Fairmont Hotels, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelPower, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Fairmont Dallas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Dallas Hotel Dallas
Fairmont Dallas
Dallas Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing