We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Respite” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Fairmont Dallas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Fairmont Dallas
Ranked #17 of 200 Hotels in Dallas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Albuquerque
1 review
“Respite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2014

After completing a business trip in East Texas i stayed over at the Dallas Fairmont before a next day flight. I was upgraded to a suite and a lovely fruit and cheese tray were laid out as i settled in. The sweltering Dallas heat made this hotel a perfect cool retreat. The pool is lovely and quiet on a Saturday morning. The food in the Pyramid Bar and in the Grill was delicious and innovative. It was hard to leave and i dEfinitely will return.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Stephen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatieNorwood, Public Relations Manager at The Fairmont Dallas, responded to this review, September 23, 2014
Hello and thank you for your feedback. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and were comfortable in your spacious guest room accommodations. I'm pleased that you were able to experience our luxurious rooftop pool. With a great view of the city skyline, the pool is popular with guests. Thank you, again, for your feedback and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,817 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    920
    559
    200
    88
    50
See reviews for
267
444
87
803
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tyler
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2014

Tv did not work. Did not get fixed in a timely manner. Not at all in fact. Breakfast buffet limited to say the least. For the money paid. Stay was disappointing with so many other options. Don't think we will be going back

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Derek D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatieNorwood, Public Relations Manager at The Fairmont Dallas, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor. We are very disappointed to hear that your expectations were not met and that your high-definition television did not work during your stay, which is unacceptable. I would like to extend our sincere apologies for this inconvenience. I have informed our hotel leadership team of your concerns, as this experience is not indicative of the level of service our property typically provides. Thank you again for taking the time to provide your feedback, and I hope we will have the opportunity to serve you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Gables, Florida
Level Contributor
171 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2014

Every year we try to make a trip to Dallas to enjoy the excellent Dallas Museum of Art, the Nasher Sculpture Museum, and the Crow Collection of Asian Art. These three outstanding museums, within a half a block of each other, are within a block of the Fairmont Dallas where we stayed this past weekend. Because of scheduling logistics, our visits to Dallas always occur in early August, a challenge because of the extreme heat. I can, therefore, vouch for the air conditioning at this hotel! In addition, the staff is wonderful. The Pyramid restaurant staff, especially the breakfast hostess Aida, who remembers us from years past and always greets us warmly, gets a special nod. Finally, I need to comment on something I have neglected to mention in my reviews in years past and that is the building itself. The hotel, built more than forty years ago, is sleek, modern, roomy, and up to date with the added attraction of an expansiveness, solid construction, and craftsmanship no longer seen in newly built hotels. No corners were cut, and guests get to continue to enjoy the business philosophy of the not-so-distant past when infrastructure investment for the future and not immediate corporate dividends was a primary concern. As for the in-room internet charges which some reviewers comment on, make sure you join on line the Fairmont President's Club prior to your stay (it's free!) to enjoy free internet access and other perks.

Room Tip: Corner suites have the added attraction of a separate sitting room and different angle views of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ciscokid23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatieNorwood, Public Relations Manager at The Fairmont Dallas, responded to this review, September 23, 2014
Hello and thank you for taking the time to share your comments on TripAdvisor. I am glad that you enjoyed our ideal location in the Dallas Arts District, as we are located steps from the Sixth Floor Museum, Klyde Warren Park, the McKinney Avenue Trolley, the Dallas Museum of Art, shopping and fine dining. We are pleased to hear that you experienced excellent service at The Pyramid Restaurant &Bar, and in particular from Aida. I will share your kind words with Aida and our team. Thank you again and we look forward to your next visit at The Fairmont Dallas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhahran, Ash Sharqiyah, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2014

clean room. in the heart of Dallas. friendly staff. roof top pool <3. walking distance from many attractions, restaurants, museums. the room was quiet except when my neighbor slams the door (which is annoying especially if you are sleeping). WiFi was not free. There's a Starbucks in the ground floor. bus stop outside. many amenities.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatieNorwood, Public Relations Manager at The Fairmont Dallas, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Hello and thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor. We are delighted that you had the chance to experience our property and that you enjoyed our rooftop pool, hotel amenities and Starbucks. I am pleased to hear that our team provided excellent service. The hotel's location is ideal for experiencing downtown, the Dallas Arts District and Uptown. For future stays, I would suggest enrolling in our Fairmont President's Club - it is free to join and offers many perks including complimentary WiFi. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again very soon! Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithville, Texas
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2014

Stayed for the first time last summer and despite it being a busy holiday weekend, we had an excellent experience. Nice big room with a large picture window and a great view. Great service and amenities. Excellent restaurant. Also had access to the private lounge upstairs (complimentary light breakfast, afternoon snacks and soft drinks and on-your-honor bar in the evening) which was a very nice option to make a nice weekend even better.

The location was good, too. Close to many museums and other attractions and activities.

We plan to stay again this fall while in town for a wedding and know we can count on it to be comfortable and another pleasant stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anissa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatieNorwood, Public Relations Manager at The Fairmont Dallas, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. We are very happy to hear that you had a excellent experience last summer with your stay on our Fairmont Gold level, including the exclusive Gold lounge. I'm pleased that you enjoyed your spacious guest room and view of Dallas. With an ideal location in the Dallas Arts District, The Fairmont Dallas is only steps from the Nasher Sculpture Center and the Dallas Museum of Art, the Perot Museum of Nature & Science, and very near the West End, shopping and fine dining. We thank you again for your feedback and look forward to your next visit this fall.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014

I had a wonderful stay at the Fairmount. They had exceptional service and the hotel and amenities were first class. I particularly enjoyed talking with one of the customer service professionals Tony Bennett. He had a great attitude and was very enthusiastic. I appreciated his love for the Seattle seahawks :)

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clairerenee10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatieNorwood, Public Relations Manager at The Fairmont Dallas, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Thank you very much for sharing your comments. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel, and that Tony Bennett truly helped to make your stay special. Our colleagues are dedicated to providing guests with warm, engaging service, and Tony’s enthusiasm is a great example of that commitment. Thank you again for providing your feedback and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishers, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014

We visit Dallas at least once a year, every summer at a minimum....to attend Mary Kay Seminar. Familiar patterns of behavior and routine are the norm at Seminar, and staying at a familiar and excellent hotel on the MK bus routes is a MUST.

The Fairmont is where we stay, and where we will continue to stay. Absolutely friendly staff meet you under the portico when you arrive and depart. Front desk staff are among the friendliest people in Dallas, as are those at the Concierge Desk. And then there's the Captain of Friendly, Mr Tony Bennett; what a guy and what a walking history machine! Great value as well for nightly rates.

For a place with LOTs of women on tight schedules, I believe the number one amenity kto mention (besides friendly people who TRULY welcome guests to The Fairmont) are elevators that are fast and reliable. Our king room was very comfortable and every room has a view of the city because of the Fairmont's twin towers. The pool terrace is lovely, and the pool was very clean and well maintained. The exercise room is very spacious and well-equipped. The lobby is spacious and has many comfortable seating arrangements, as well as inside the bar and restaurant.

The Fairmont is a familiar friend for us. The folks there KNOW that Mary Kay herself had many events there years ago when the business was new and then while it grew over the years.. While there are many other Mary Kay-friendly hotels in and very near to downtown Dallas, THIS ONE is for us. it's truly a Dallas home-away-from-home for my wife and me. We recommend it without hesitation to other Dallas travelers.

Room Tip: Get up in the air and enjoy the city views. Both towers are convenient to the lobby. Depending o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank El A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatieNorwood, Public Relations Manager at The Fairmont Dallas, responded to this review, September 29, 2014
Hello and thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your visit for the annual Mary Kay Seminar. I am glad to hear that you and your wife enjoyed your visit and the king guest room, and we are always so pleased to have attendees of the Mary Kay Seminar staying with us. We are happy that Tony Bennett truly helped to make your stay special. Our colleagues are dedicated to providing guests with warm, engaging service, and Tony’s enthusiasm is a great example of that commitment. We're delighted that you enjoyed the pool terrace, guest room views, and fitness center. We are very honored to be your Dallas "home away from home." Thank you, again. We look forward to seeing you next year at The Fairmont Dallas!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dallas hotels
Downtown Dallas
Omni Dallas Hotel
Omni Dallas Hotel
#4 of 200 in Dallas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,963 reviews
Downtown Dallas
The Joule, Dallas
The Joule, Dallas
#6 of 200 in Dallas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Oak Lawn
Hotel ZaZa Dallas
Hotel ZaZa Dallas
#3 of 200 in Dallas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,101 reviews
Downtown Dallas
Hyatt Regency Dallas
Hyatt Regency Dallas
#20 of 200 in Dallas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,419 reviews
Oak Lawn
The Ritz-Carlton, Dallas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fairmont Dallas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Dallas

Property: The Fairmont Dallas
Address: 1717 N Akard St, Dallas, TX 75201-2301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Dallas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Dallas
#8 Family Hotel in Dallas
#9 Romantic Hotel in Dallas
#13 Business Hotel in Dallas
#14 Luxury Hotel in Dallas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fairmont Dallas 4*
Number of rooms: 545
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Texas we do things in a big way, and The Fairmont Dallas is no exception amongst hotels in Dallas, TX. In this modern city of soaring skyscrapers, The Fairmont Dallas luxury hotel sets the standard for style and elegance. With our ideal location in the heart of the Downtown Dallas Arts District, we are situated just moments from incredible fine dining, shopping, arts and world-class entertainment. Newly redesigned luxurious guest rooms and suites offer warm hospitality, modern décor and that special Texas flair for an unrivaled travel experience. Fairmont Gold, an exclusive boutique lifestyle experience, is designed to fulfill the needs of the discerning business executive and leisure traveler, with elite lounge access and all of the comforts of home. Enjoy The Pyramid Restaurant & Bar’s four-star cuisine and a Starbucks conveniently located on the lobby level. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Fairmont Hotels, Travelocity, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Fairmont Dallas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Dallas Hotel Dallas
Fairmont Dallas
Dallas Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing