We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Fairmont Dallas
Ranked #18 of 203 Hotels in Dallas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
82 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“A very nice hotel”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Super nice. Clean, and a great view. Right in the heart of everything. The best part was the doorman. He was super nice.

Parking? $25 PER NIGHT! Really? The very first day they just took my car and never mentioned the fee. I am already paying a pretty penny for a stay here, $25 per night is stupid.

All in all, I didn't let it ruin my stay.

Room Tip: Get something high!! We were on the 22nd floor and loved the view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulYou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatieNorwood, Public Relations Manager at The Fairmont Dallas, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thank you for sharing your comments on Trip Advisor. We are pleased that you had the chance to experience our city-center property and that you enjoyed your stay. I am glad to hear that our hotel colleagues provided warm service. I would like to kindly note that our valet parking is priced competitively with hotels in the downtown area; however we regret that this pricing did not meet your expectations. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to have the opportunity to serve you on your next visit to Dallas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,859 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    948
    569
    203
    88
    51
See reviews for
276
453
89
821
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (330)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Very nice hotel in the heart of Downtown Dallas. Take the trolley up to Mckinney Avenue to great restaurants or bars. We stayed here for a little staycation for our anniversary. The room was very nice with a great view from our window looking out into downtown Dallas. We were able to book a discounted rate through a travel site which made this a great value for the money.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TDPatterson93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatieNorwood, Public Relations Manager at The Fairmont Dallas, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Hello and thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are truly delighted that you chose The Fairmont Dallas for your special anniversary staycation. As our hotel is located in the heart of the Dallas Arts District, we are ideally located to explore restaurants, nightlife and culture. As you mentioned, the McKinney Avenue trolley is a great way to explore surrounding areas including Uptown Dallas and West Village, and it is free to ride. I am pleased that your guest room was to your liking and that you enjoyed the views of downtown Dallas. We hope you will visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catania, Italy
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Hotel di ottimo livello, sia per il personale che per il cibo. Cortesi e sempre disponibili verso le esigenze dei clienti. Excellent hotel and food, allowing for a great time for the whole family, inlcuding a 2-years old baby. GREAT!

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank LivioLamia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2013

Gorgeous property conveniently located in downtown Dallas. Over the tp welcoming, helpful attitude by all of the staff I encountered. I missed the presence of a swimming pool on the property but a health club is available for a fee across the street.

Room Tip: high floor offers really nice views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank westmanager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatieNorwood, Public Relations Manager at The Fairmont Dallas, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Hello and thank you for sharing your comments on TripAdvisor! We are delighted that you had the chance to experience our newly renovated downtown hotel and that you enjoyed your two-day stay. I am pleased to hear that our hotel colleagues provided excellent service. For future stays, I would like to note that we have a Junior Olympic-size swimming pool located on the hotel's rooftop terrace level. Our Health Club is accessible 24/7 and is located on the "O" level of the South Tower and we also offer access to the Y.M.C.A conveniently located across the street from the hotel. Thank you again for your feedback. We hope that you will visit The Fairmont Dallas again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laredo, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Every Thanksgiving our family travels to Dallas, TX to catch the Dallas Cowboys, Dallas Stars, and the Mavericks. We always make sure to book our stay at the Fairmont. The service is always impeccable! We are always happy to run into Tony Bennet. He couldn't be a more kind hearted helpful and above all the best conversationalist. It's good to know that when we stay at the Fairmont, we will have the best reception at the greatest city in the state of Texas. See you next year Tony!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatieNorwood, Public Relations Manager at The Fairmont Dallas, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Thank you for providing your comments. We are very honored to be part of your family's annual Thanksgiving tradition of visiting Dallas! I am pleased to hear that you have received warm service from Tony and feel that he provides the best reception in Dallas! Tony truly embodies our team's commitment to extending exceptional, personal hospitality to all of our guests. I will be sure to pass your kind words along to him. Thank you again for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor and we greatly look forward to your visit next year for Thanksgiving!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
238 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013

We stayed right before Christmas so could enjoy the wonderful hotel decorations. There were trees decorated everywhere....and were they beautiful!!!

I hallways even look plush. Our room was a 2-queen deluxe and was fabulous. Their attention to visitors was "top shelf"!!

Even the chef conceirge, Philip, chased us down as we were headed out the door to walk the the opera house that night. He insisted that we take their complimentary "fancy"(my words, not his) car their. We didn't even know they shuttled people around.

The Fairmont is close to the really only big shopping store, Nieman Marcus....beautiful for Christmas. There is also a free trolley(fun) that we got on about a block from the hotel. It takes you to the West End Village where there are several unique shops and some eating places. The trolley stops several times so can hop on-hop off. We enjoyed it so much, we did it twice. We also took the train, about 4 blocks from the hotel, to their huge shopping center.

We stayed downtown for three nights and that way enough. We're really glad that we did this little "girly" trip but found that there's not much more to do than what I have described....enought for two full days. The downtown area doesn't do alot of decorating....probably because there's not alot of shopping. Nieman Marcus decorating is spectacular.

Room Tip: We were on the 16th floor. Not much to see out the windows but alot of big buildings. However, I d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maggieminn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013

After an ice storm swept through Dallas I was without power and had the darnedest time finding a hotel that would allow me to bring my large dog with me. I couldn't leave her at home in the cold temps and luckily the Fairmont welcomes pups of all sizes. In addition the staff was just wonderful and I helped to ease the stress of being displaced and without power.

Also, if you're coming from out of town to visit Dallas, The Fairmont is in a great location to check out all the great things we have to offer.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GottaRunandFly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dallas hotels
Downtown Dallas
Omni Dallas Hotel
Omni Dallas Hotel
#4 of 203 in Dallas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,224 reviews
Downtown Dallas
The Joule, Dallas
The Joule, Dallas
#6 of 203 in Dallas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Oak Lawn
Hotel ZaZa Dallas
Hotel ZaZa Dallas
#3 of 203 in Dallas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,144 reviews
Downtown Dallas
Hyatt Regency Dallas
Hyatt Regency Dallas
#22 of 203 in Dallas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,606 reviews
Downtown Dallas
Homewood Suites by Hilton Dallas Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fairmont Dallas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Dallas

Property: The Fairmont Dallas
Address: 1717 N Akard St, Dallas, TX 75201-2301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Dallas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Dallas
#8 Family Hotel in Dallas
#9 Romantic Hotel in Dallas
#13 Business Hotel in Dallas
#14 Luxury Hotel in Dallas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fairmont Dallas 4*
Number of rooms: 545
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Texas we do things in a big way, and The Fairmont Dallas is no exception amongst hotels in Dallas, TX. In this modern city of soaring skyscrapers, The Fairmont Dallas luxury hotel sets the standard for style and elegance. With our ideal location in the heart of the Downtown Dallas Arts District, we are situated just moments from incredible fine dining, shopping, arts and world-class entertainment. Newly redesigned luxurious guest rooms and suites offer warm hospitality, modern décor and that special Texas flair for an unrivaled travel experience. Fairmont Gold, an exclusive boutique lifestyle experience, is designed to fulfill the needs of the discerning business executive and leisure traveler, with elite lounge access and all of the comforts of home. Enjoy The Pyramid Restaurant & Bar’s four-star cuisine and a Starbucks conveniently located on the lobby level. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Fairmont Hotels, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Fairmont Dallas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Dallas Hotel Dallas
Fairmont Dallas
Dallas Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing