We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another nice Fairmont”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Fairmont Dallas
Ranked #18 of 201 Hotels in Dallas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Martinsville IN
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Another nice Fairmont”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

My wife participated in a four-day conference, so I went along. We are long-time Fairmont Hotel fans and have stayed in quite a few of them. The Fairmont Dallas is another nice Fairmont, although not as interesting or comfortable as most Fairmont hotels. Our room was spacious, well appointed and comfortable. It was nice to have a Starbuck's in the hotel. We had dinner one evening and lunch two days in the Pyramid Restaurant and Bar. The food was good, although some portions were small, and the service was satisfactory. However, overall we found the Pyramid to be rather disappointing.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JCR059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,838 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    933
    564
    202
    88
    51
See reviews for
272
450
89
808
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

We recently had a weekend stay at The Fairmont and it was great. The hotel looks amazing inside and out. The staff was friendly and made us feel very welcomed. The room was great, keurig machine for use, bathrobes to use and plush towels, Rose 31 bath products were available for use as well, ant the beds were actually comfortable to sleep in. The valet parking was great as well, in/out as many times for $25/day. Will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AJJS7690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
76 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

The Fairmont is a very nice, large upscale hotel in downtown Dallas area. It has an Olympic size outdoor pool I was hoping to make use of, but alas even in Dallas in late October the water was too cold for me to brave.
There is a very nice, (although not inexpensive) restaurant on the premises along with a Starbucks coffee shop, gift shop and bar.
The room was quite large with 2 queen beds, a couch and two lounge chairs. The towels are huge and thick and there is a luxury type robe in each room. The hotel offers a well-equipped workout room. Front desk staff are helpful, efficient and friendly.
I was in town for a convention and the convention center is within walking distance – less than a mile I think.
All in all this is a very nice hotel. I don’t normally stay at more upscale hotels so this was somewhat of a treat. However at the mid-price chains like Country Inn & Suites or La Quinta Inn & Suites they provide free breakfast and internet access. There is no free breakfast at the Fairmont and internet access is more than $14.00 per day.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tonkabayguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanibel Island, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

I read many reviews of hotels in downtown Dallas. Making a stab at what I thought sounded like a good place to stay I chose the Fairmont.

Previous to my arrival everyone I spoke with at the hotel was wonderfully helpful to work with...especially Phillip, the exceptional head concierge, who answered my many questions, took care of my reservations at museums and restaurants and Joe another concierge was great, very professional and kind. After arriving Phillip and Joe continued to amaze us as well. The entire staff went out of their way to make us feel at home and helped with whatever our needs.

I took a shuttle from the airport that drops people off at many the downtown hotels. Being the last person let off the shuttle, I saw many of the hotels I had read about. When driving up to the Fairmont I thought, "We hit the jackpot!". It looked grand, impressive and very welcoming, more so than the other hotels. I had yet to see the inside of the hotel and our room. After seeing them, I was right we did hit the jackpot! Our suite was beautiful along with the rest of the hotel. As I understand, both tower have been recently renovated. It was a grand, beautiful, delightful place to stay.

The bar area was great for gathering for a drink and conversation.

We ate in the restaurant for breakfast. It was the loveliest brunch as far as presentation and quality of food offered. Besides the standard scrambled egg offering on the buffet, they would prepare eggs any other way you wanted them in the kitchen. We feel in all our travels it was one of the nicest buffet we have ever had.

The Fairmont Hotel definitely has their act together. It was a fabulous place to stay for the four days we were in Dallas. We just regretted we hadn't planned a longer visit.

Room Tip: We stayed in a suite and felt It was well worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at the Fairmont this weekend as a late anniversary gift to each other. With three busy teenagers, we rarely get away together. I think our last night away was three years ago. Needless to say, it was important to us that the stay go well. We booked the room through the Top Secret Hotel option on Travelocity and got it for a song. When we arrived, we were understandably put in a room on a lower floor. When I explained why we were there and asked for a room with a view, Jo Anne at the front desk said, "Let me see what I can do!" Before we knew it, we were in a beautiful room on the 21st floor with views of Reunion Tower, Fountain Place, and the Margaret Hunt Hill Bridge. When we got back to the room in the evening, waiting for us was a bottle of bubbly chilling next to a plate of chocolate-covered strawberries. For what we paid for the room, The Fairmont could have ignored us. Instead, they -- Jo Anne in particular -- gave us a night we'll remember for a very long time. We'll be back!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jillintx0311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
81 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights to attend a business conference. Room was clean and sizable. Good fitness center. Staff was very helpful and polite but various issues that arose during my stay were either never or very slowly resolved.
Here is my experience: bathtub drained very slowly. Called front desk. Engineering responded but the problem was not resolved. Still several inches of soapy water in the tub after taking a shower for the remainder of my stay. Another example: Heater/AC only blew cold air no matter what the temperature setting was. Contacted front desk. Engineering responded but no problem resolution. Contacted front desk and asked to change rooms. The hotel was completely booked so I was offered a space heater. Great. It finally arrived after three more visits to the front desk and 3 hours later. To be fair, the front desk staff gave me a free breakfast buffet as an apology for the inconvenience. The buffet food was excellent. They also offered to move me the following day but since it was my final day, I declined the offer.
After ordering dinner in the lounge, I was brought food I did not order. In this case, the problem was resolved quickly. The food was very tasty.
Finally, upon retrieving my checked luggage from the concierge, only two of my three bags were located on the first try. The final bag was retrieved on the second try.
In summary, it took an inordinate amount of my and their effort to get basic hotel operating tasks completed. Operations management, please take note.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MikefromSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

This review is overdue but better late than never. We were in town to attend my nephew's graduation and stayed at the Fairmont for 5 days. The hotel staff was super nice. We stayed in a room with 2 queen size beds with our 2 kids. The sheets and beds were very comfortable. We really enjoyed that there was a one cup coffee maker in the room. We actually liked it better than the coffee at Starbucks in the lobby.
Philip Powell who worked the concierge desk was extremely nice. He brought out a huge red wagon full of toys and let our kids choose one. They were so excited! What a nice gesture. We also spent time at the pool and Philip sent out cookies and milk. We loved the Texas shaped cookie! Another hit with the kids.

Thank you for making our stay very special.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pattyinbrooklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dallas hotels
Downtown Dallas
Omni Dallas Hotel
Omni Dallas Hotel
#5 of 201 in Dallas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,091 reviews
Downtown Dallas
The Joule, Dallas
The Joule, Dallas
#6 of 201 in Dallas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Oak Lawn
Hotel ZaZa Dallas
Hotel ZaZa Dallas
#2 of 201 in Dallas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,130 reviews
Downtown Dallas
Hyatt Regency Dallas
Hyatt Regency Dallas
#21 of 201 in Dallas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,505 reviews
Downtown Dallas
Homewood Suites by Hilton Dallas Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fairmont Dallas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Dallas

Property: The Fairmont Dallas
Address: 1717 N Akard St, Dallas, TX 75201-2301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Dallas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Dallas
#8 Family Hotel in Dallas
#9 Romantic Hotel in Dallas
#13 Business Hotel in Dallas
#14 Luxury Hotel in Dallas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fairmont Dallas 4*
Number of rooms: 545
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Texas we do things in a big way, and The Fairmont Dallas is no exception amongst hotels in Dallas, TX. In this modern city of soaring skyscrapers, The Fairmont Dallas luxury hotel sets the standard for style and elegance. With our ideal location in the heart of the Downtown Dallas Arts District, we are situated just moments from incredible fine dining, shopping, arts and world-class entertainment. Newly redesigned luxurious guest rooms and suites offer warm hospitality, modern décor and that special Texas flair for an unrivaled travel experience. Fairmont Gold, an exclusive boutique lifestyle experience, is designed to fulfill the needs of the discerning business executive and leisure traveler, with elite lounge access and all of the comforts of home. Enjoy The Pyramid Restaurant & Bar’s four-star cuisine and a Starbucks conveniently located on the lobby level. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Fairmont Hotels, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Fairmont Dallas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Dallas Hotel Dallas
Fairmont Dallas
Dallas Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing