We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Pretty good hotel, amazing service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Fairmont Dallas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Fairmont Dallas
Ranked #16 of 200 Hotels in Dallas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Pretty good hotel, amazing service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

Overall our experience of the hotel was good, we had a few issues with a/c leaks and moving rooms but the service was amazing. Mr Tony Bennett who always found me a taxi, helped with my families luggage and was just a lovely friend face to see was the best part of our hotel stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarshaSuzanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatieNorwood, Public Relations Manager at The Fairmont Dallas, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Hello and thank you for your comments. We are very glad that your recent stay was pleasant and that you received warm service from our bellman Tony Bennett. Our colleagues strive to provide guests with excellent service and Tony’s enthusiasm is a perfect example of that commitment. I'll make sure to share your lovely words with Tony. Thank you again for sharing your feedback and we hope to see you again soon at The Fairmont Dallas!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,757 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    896
    538
    189
    85
    49
See reviews for
256
424
83
783
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rusk, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

From driving in until leaving, the service was fantastic!!! Rudy at the pool was especially wonderful. Food was great and room was very nice. Thanks for an awesome getaway. Location was close to many things.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatieNorwood, Public Relations Manager at The Fairmont Dallas, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on TripAdvisor. We are pleased that you had a positive experience with the service provided by our hotel colleagues and that you enjoyed our food & beverage offerings. I will share your kind words with Rudy. We hope you will visit again soon on your next getaway!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

My Girlfriend and I wanted a weekend getaway, and we chose the Fairmont. The staff was very friendly and happy to assist in any way. The hotel is beautiful, and the location is great.
The biggest issue, and the hotel is very aware of the problem, is the air conditioning in the rooms. We switched rooms after the first night, and it was better, but not what it should be.
We were given free breakfast for the trouble, which was good, although the hot items were not.
Would stay again, but perhaps in the winter.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chief301Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatieNorwood, Public Relations Manager at The Fairmont Dallas, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Hello and thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor. We appreciate you choosing The Fairmont Dallas for your romantic weekend getaway! We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience experienced with the air conditioning system during your visit. We are currently completing an extensive $10 million property renovation that will include major HVAC upgrades, and feedback such as yours is very valuable. I will share your comments with our hotel leadership team. We're delighted that you enjoyed the hotel's decor and city-center location. Again, thank you and I hope we will have the opportunity to serve you in the future on your next weekend getaway!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
263 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was near all the things we wanted to do. Close to the Gexa pavilion and a short drive to six flags. The rooms were really nice, however? would have liked the ac to get a little cooler. The service here was great and the "gold" upgrades were a plus! Would stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank merrillma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatieNorwood, Public Relations Manager at The Fairmont Dallas, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you for providing feedback about your recent stay at The Fairmont Dallas. We are so pleased that you enjoyed the location of the hotel and our upgraded Fairmont Gold floors! As a city-center hotel in the heart of the downtown Dallas Arts District, we are proud to be surrounded by a wide variety of venues and attractions like Six Flags. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
125 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

Used Priceline Express Deals and got the Fairmont on a Wednesday night. Checked into the room and immediately noticed the room was hot. The AC was turned down already, so I cranked it down a little more and turned the fan on high to see what air would come out. Almost no air came out. Running late to a concert (the reason I came in town), I stopped by the front desk on the way out and told them that the room was hot and that it either needed to be fixed while I was gone or I would need to be moved to another room. The front desk attendant told us the AC would be fixed while we were gone.

Returned to the room at 2AM only to find it was still extremely hot. Called down and the rep said I would need to speak with a manager, who was helping someone else and that the manager would call us back. Waited 10 minutes, still no call. Called back down and they again told me I would need to wait. Waited another 5 minutes and called down. Spoke with the manager, who said she would have to send someone to open rooms to make sure they could find a cold one.

We were moved at 2:45AM to another room. This room had some cold air, but the room was not cold. The AC was dripping water onto the carpet, so we had disgusting, soggy hotel carpet and the noise of dripping all night. Not wanting to deal with the rude staff again, we just dealt with it and went to sleep.

Clearly things go wrong in hotels. But this hotel should have addressed the problem while we were gone and contacted me on my cell to let me know it was fixed. Instead, they did nothing and were rude, resulting in an awful experience at The Fairmont.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelinKind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatieNorwood, Public Relations Manager at The Fairmont Dallas, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you very much for providing feedback on TripAdvisor. I am very disappointed that your recent stay did not meet your expectations. We sincerely regret the inconvenience that you experienced with the guestroom AC system and that the resulting service you received was unsatisfactory. Our colleagues strive to ensure that guests are assisted in a prompt, polite manner and I am very sorry that your service experience did not reflect that commitment. I have shared your feedback with the appropriate department leaders to ensure that these AC and service issues will be throroughly addressed. Again, please accept our apologies. We sincerely hope that we will have the opportunity to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northville, Michigan
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

My wife and I had the most enjoyable time while staying at The Fairmont Dallas recently. From Tony Bennett and the Concierge staff, to the front desk people, and room service we could not have been more pleased. This was a busy time for The Fairmont as the City of Dallas hosted not one by five Mary Kay Seminars. To top it all off, this year marks Mary Kay's 50th year as a company, which meant that all doors were blown off to celebrate. The Fairmont offered several amenities including Saturday Movie Night around the pool. We thought this was unique as our stay coincided with this feature "up on the roof" top. Both my wife and I would highly recommend The Fairmont Dallas for your next stay: conveniently located, gorgeous inside and out, not to mention a sparkling interior and exterior. Give them a try: you won't be disappointed.
(yes, the $15.00/day wifi fee is a bit much, but we enjoyed being "off the grid" those four days)

Room Tip: Lower floors seem to have less of an issue keeping cool during the summer months.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatieNorwood, Public Relations Manager at The Fairmont Dallas, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Hello and thank you for providing your comments in this space. We appreciate you taking the time to share feedback about your recent stay for the Mary Kay Seminars. I am pleased that you and your wife enjoyed your visit at our hotel and that you received a warm welcome from our concierge team and Tony Bennett. We strive to provide guests with engaging, memorable service. We're pleased you attended the Summer Dive-In Movie, a fun event every Saturday evening which is open to hotel guests. For future stays, I suggest joining Fairmont President’s Club – it is completely free! Members can access free Wi-Fi and list specific personal travel preferences. Thank you again for your comments and we hope you will visit The Fairmont Dallas again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

This is the second time I have stayed here in the last 12 months and both times the reaction has been excellent and friendly service. The rooms are spacious and comfortable and the bar and restaurant have provided both a relaxing and efficient service. A short walk to the Historic District and an easy taxi or free tram ride to West Village. Most enjoyable.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank djeppo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatieNorwood, Public Relations Manager at The Fairmont Dallas, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your second stay at The Fairmont Dallas. I am pleased that you enjoyed the newly renovated guestroom accommodations and that our team provided a level of service that you found to be exceptional. We are delighted that you were able to take advantage of our city-center location. As the only hotel in the Dallas Arts District, we are proud to be surrounded by a wide variety of venues and attractions. Thank you very much for allowing us the opportunity to serve you. We hope you will visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dallas hotels
Downtown Dallas
Omni Dallas Hotel
Omni Dallas Hotel
#3 of 200 in Dallas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,625 reviews
The Adolphus
#15 of 200 in Dallas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Dallas
The Joule, Dallas
The Joule, Dallas
#6 of 200 in Dallas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
Downtown Dallas
Homewood Suites by Hilton Dallas Downtown
Downtown Dallas
Hyatt Regency Dallas
Hyatt Regency Dallas
#20 of 200 in Dallas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fairmont Dallas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Dallas

Property: The Fairmont Dallas
Address: 1717 N Akard St, Dallas, TX 75201-2301
Location: United States > Texas > Dallas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Dallas
#8 Family Hotel in Dallas
#9 Romantic Hotel in Dallas
#13 Business Hotel in Dallas
#13 Luxury Hotel in Dallas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fairmont Dallas 4*
Number of rooms: 545
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Texas we do things in a big way, and The Fairmont Dallas is no exception amongst hotels in Dallas, TX. In this modern city of soaring skyscrapers, The Fairmont Dallas luxury hotel sets the standard for style and elegance. With our ideal location in the heart of the Downtown Dallas Arts District, we are situated just moments from incredible fine dining, shopping, arts and world-class entertainment. Newly redesigned luxurious guest rooms and suites offer warm hospitality, modern décor and that special Texas flair for an unrivaled travel experience. Fairmont Gold, an exclusive boutique lifestyle experience, is designed to fulfill the needs of the discerning business executive and leisure traveler, with elite lounge access and all of the comforts of home. Enjoy The Pyramid Restaurant & Bar’s four-star cuisine and a Starbucks conveniently located on the lobby level. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Fairmont Dallas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Dallas Hotel Dallas
Fairmont Dallas
Dallas Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing