We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Fairmont Dallas
Ranked #18 of 201 Hotels in Dallas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
262 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Great location!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was near all the things we wanted to do. Close to the Gexa pavilion and a short drive to six flags. The rooms were really nice, however? would have liked the ac to get a little cooler. The service here was great and the "gold" upgrades were a plus! Would stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank merrillma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatieNorwood, Public Relations Manager at The Fairmont Dallas, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you for providing feedback about your recent stay at The Fairmont Dallas. We are so pleased that you enjoyed the location of the hotel and our upgraded Fairmont Gold floors! As a city-center hotel in the heart of the downtown Dallas Arts District, we are proud to be surrounded by a wide variety of venues and attractions like Six Flags. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,838 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    933
    564
    202
    88
    51
See reviews for
272
450
89
808
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
126 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

Used Priceline Express Deals and got the Fairmont on a Wednesday night. Checked into the room and immediately noticed the room was hot. The AC was turned down already, so I cranked it down a little more and turned the fan on high to see what air would come out. Almost no air came out. Running late to a concert (the reason I came in town), I stopped by the front desk on the way out and told them that the room was hot and that it either needed to be fixed while I was gone or I would need to be moved to another room. The front desk attendant told us the AC would be fixed while we were gone.

Returned to the room at 2AM only to find it was still extremely hot. Called down and the rep said I would need to speak with a manager, who was helping someone else and that the manager would call us back. Waited 10 minutes, still no call. Called back down and they again told me I would need to wait. Waited another 5 minutes and called down. Spoke with the manager, who said she would have to send someone to open rooms to make sure they could find a cold one.

We were moved at 2:45AM to another room. This room had some cold air, but the room was not cold. The AC was dripping water onto the carpet, so we had disgusting, soggy hotel carpet and the noise of dripping all night. Not wanting to deal with the rude staff again, we just dealt with it and went to sleep.

Clearly things go wrong in hotels. But this hotel should have addressed the problem while we were gone and contacted me on my cell to let me know it was fixed. Instead, they did nothing and were rude, resulting in an awful experience at The Fairmont.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelinKind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatieNorwood, Public Relations Manager at The Fairmont Dallas, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you very much for providing feedback on TripAdvisor. I am very disappointed that your recent stay did not meet your expectations. We sincerely regret the inconvenience that you experienced with the guestroom AC system and that the resulting service you received was unsatisfactory. Our colleagues strive to ensure that guests are assisted in a prompt, polite manner and I am very sorry that your service experience did not reflect that commitment. I have shared your feedback with the appropriate department leaders to ensure that these AC and service issues will be throroughly addressed. Again, please accept our apologies. We sincerely hope that we will have the opportunity to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northville, Michigan
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

My wife and I had the most enjoyable time while staying at The Fairmont Dallas recently. From Tony Bennett and the Concierge staff, to the front desk people, and room service we could not have been more pleased. This was a busy time for The Fairmont as the City of Dallas hosted not one by five Mary Kay Seminars. To top it all off, this year marks Mary Kay's 50th year as a company, which meant that all doors were blown off to celebrate. The Fairmont offered several amenities including Saturday Movie Night around the pool. We thought this was unique as our stay coincided with this feature "up on the roof" top. Both my wife and I would highly recommend The Fairmont Dallas for your next stay: conveniently located, gorgeous inside and out, not to mention a sparkling interior and exterior. Give them a try: you won't be disappointed.
(yes, the $15.00/day wifi fee is a bit much, but we enjoyed being "off the grid" those four days)

Room Tip: Lower floors seem to have less of an issue keeping cool during the summer months.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatieNorwood, Public Relations Manager at The Fairmont Dallas, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Hello and thank you for providing your comments in this space. We appreciate you taking the time to share feedback about your recent stay for the Mary Kay Seminars. I am pleased that you and your wife enjoyed your visit at our hotel and that you received a warm welcome from our concierge team and Tony Bennett. We strive to provide guests with engaging, memorable service. We're pleased you attended the Summer Dive-In Movie, a fun event every Saturday evening which is open to hotel guests. For future stays, I suggest joining Fairmont President’s Club – it is completely free! Members can access free Wi-Fi and list specific personal travel preferences. Thank you again for your comments and we hope you will visit The Fairmont Dallas again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

This is the second time I have stayed here in the last 12 months and both times the reaction has been excellent and friendly service. The rooms are spacious and comfortable and the bar and restaurant have provided both a relaxing and efficient service. A short walk to the Historic District and an easy taxi or free tram ride to West Village. Most enjoyable.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank djeppo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatieNorwood, Public Relations Manager at The Fairmont Dallas, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your second stay at The Fairmont Dallas. I am pleased that you enjoyed the newly renovated guestroom accommodations and that our team provided a level of service that you found to be exceptional. We are delighted that you were able to take advantage of our city-center location. As the only hotel in the Dallas Arts District, we are proud to be surrounded by a wide variety of venues and attractions. Thank you very much for allowing us the opportunity to serve you. We hope you will visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
41 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

Staff greets you and calls you by name the entire stay. Jonathan on fairmont gold floor saves me a plate of hor deurve since i checked in after 7pm..kudos...saif super friendly and kyle very personable..you think the hyatt would do this?? .elegant furnishings..only bummer a shower and no bath tubs ;(

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robb T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatieNorwood, Public Relations Manager at The Fairmont Dallas, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Hello and thank you for sharing your comments on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at The Fairmont Dallas and the Fairmont Gold floor. Our passion is hospitality, and your recent service experience is a great example of how our team strives to turn moments into memories for our guests. We will share your kind words with our colleagues Jonathan, Saif and Kyle. Thank you again for your feedback, and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapeCodVisitor
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

Fairmont is gorgeous hotel, great location, frindly staff but seriously do they really need my $15 per day for wifi. I am tired of this form of nickel and diming at a first rate hotel - wifi is a necessity in the 21st century as much as air conditioning in dallas in July!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CapeCodVisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatieNorwood, Public Relations Manager at The Fairmont Dallas, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Hello and thank you for sharing your comments. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the service provided by our hotel colleagues. Given your feedback, I would recommend joining the Fairmont President’s Club, which is free to join and offers members free Wi-Fi access. The program also allows guests to indicate specific travel preferences for future stays at Fairmont properties. Thank you again for your comments. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and hope to have the opportunity to be of service in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Fairmont Dallas for two nights on a recent visit to the city. We had some free nights and were upgraded to a suite. It was perfect. The decor was tasteful and the room spacious. Every employee we encountered was friendly and helpful. Met the famous bellman,Tony Bennett. After reading about him in many reviews, we felt like we were meeting a star! Breakfast buffet was delicious both mornings. Hotel is in a great location within walking distance to 6th Floor Museum, West Village and Arts District. Uptown Trolly is right near the Fairmont. The bonus is the trolly is air conditioned and FREE!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peterpanGeorgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatieNorwood, Public Relations Manager at The Fairmont Dallas, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your stay on TripAdvisor. We are delighted that you enjoyed your luxurious suite accommodations, the breakfast buffet and our property's city-center location. All guestrooms and suites now have a new decor as a result of an exciting $10 million property renovation. I am pleased that you received warm service from our bellman Tony Bennett. Our hotel colleagues strive to provide guests with engaging service, and Tony’s enthusiasm is a great example of that commitment. Thank you for sharing your feedback and we hope to see you again soon at The Fairmont Dallas!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dallas hotels
Downtown Dallas
Omni Dallas Hotel
Omni Dallas Hotel
#5 of 201 in Dallas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,091 reviews
Downtown Dallas
The Joule, Dallas
The Joule, Dallas
#6 of 201 in Dallas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Oak Lawn
Hotel ZaZa Dallas
Hotel ZaZa Dallas
#2 of 201 in Dallas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,130 reviews
Downtown Dallas
Hyatt Regency Dallas
Hyatt Regency Dallas
#21 of 201 in Dallas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,506 reviews
Downtown Dallas
Homewood Suites by Hilton Dallas Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fairmont Dallas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Dallas

Property: The Fairmont Dallas
Address: 1717 N Akard St, Dallas, TX 75201-2301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Dallas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Dallas
#8 Family Hotel in Dallas
#9 Romantic Hotel in Dallas
#13 Business Hotel in Dallas
#14 Luxury Hotel in Dallas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fairmont Dallas 4*
Number of rooms: 545
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Texas we do things in a big way, and The Fairmont Dallas is no exception amongst hotels in Dallas, TX. In this modern city of soaring skyscrapers, The Fairmont Dallas luxury hotel sets the standard for style and elegance. With our ideal location in the heart of the Downtown Dallas Arts District, we are situated just moments from incredible fine dining, shopping, arts and world-class entertainment. Newly redesigned luxurious guest rooms and suites offer warm hospitality, modern décor and that special Texas flair for an unrivaled travel experience. Fairmont Gold, an exclusive boutique lifestyle experience, is designed to fulfill the needs of the discerning business executive and leisure traveler, with elite lounge access and all of the comforts of home. Enjoy The Pyramid Restaurant & Bar’s four-star cuisine and a Starbucks conveniently located on the lobby level. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Fairmont Dallas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Dallas Hotel Dallas
Fairmont Dallas
Dallas Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing