We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Fairmont of Dallas Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Fairmont Dallas
Ranked #18 of 203 Hotels in Dallas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Morganton, North Carolina, United States
1 review
“The Fairmont of Dallas Service”
Reviewed December 24, 2012

Loved the help of the staff member,Tony Bennett he help me with my every need He carried all my luggage and arranged for my transportaion very kind and curtious.Thanks for making me feel like a King hats off to Tony.

Room Tip: Rooms on the north side have the best view ask Tony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatieNorwood, Public Relations Manager at The Fairmont Dallas, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Hello and thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I am very pleased that you enjoyed the warm service provided by our bellman Tony Bennett. We’re glad to hear that you had a memorable stay at The Fairmont Dallas. Thank you again for sharing your feedback, and we hope to see you again soon at our city-center hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,859 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    948
    569
    203
    88
    51
See reviews for
276
453
89
821
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (330)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hernando, Mississippi
Level Contributor
97 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2012

I got this hotel on a priceline name your own price. It is definitely a 4 star hotel. Very nice and just like any other 4 star hotel they will charge you for everything. The internet was not free but they did offer an upgrade for 50.00 a day for a better room, free breakfast and free internet for 2 people. I was reluctant but happy that I spent the money for it was well worth it. The staff was friendly. Each time for the valet they asked if I needed any directions for where we are going. Hotel does seem like a good location for some local attractions like JFK deally plaza, could see the American Airlines Arena outside our window and looked walkable. Did have a Starbucks in the hotel. I dont think I would stay here again though but that is because Im just not a 4 star person.

Room Tip: Stay in the north tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sphyte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denton
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Went for girls weekend. Room is nice, very comfortable! Had room service for dinner and food was very good. Breakfast in the Presidents Club lounge was outstanding - country wheat bread, eggs, sausage and wonderful coffee. The Fairmont knows how to do customer service.

Room Tip: Have never had a bad room. Some are bigger than others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mjobota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Pittston, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Friendly staff and helpful. However the hotel is getting tired. They also need to pay attention to important details after check in I discovered that the shower would not get past Luke warm. Renovations in the South Tower somewhere caused the hot ace cold water to get connected. If I turned the sink on hot the shower would warm up but not by much. A patron should not have to discover this at after 10:00pm. Had to re-pack and change rooms late at night

Room Tip: Ask about renovations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dad113056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatieNorwood, Public Relations Manager at The Fairmont Dallas, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. I am disappointed to hear the inconvenience experienced during your stay. As you mentioned, we are currently in the process of renovating our guestrooms and suites in order to offer new, modern amenities and décor for our guests. We regret that the water temperature in your guest room was not satisfactory. I will pass your comments along to our hotel leadership to ensure that this issue is addressed. Thank you again for your feedback and I hope that we will have the opportunity to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Staff, concierge were helpful. Got a great deal through cheaptickets.com - gym in building, which was nice. Valet parking was $25 for the nite-so i parked on street for free. Usually i stay in 3 star hotels, so this was a treat because, i found such a great rate. The Fairmont is clearly a top of the line, luxurious, downtown hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sal b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shreveport, Louisiana
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

OK, it's probably pretty odd to have such a good rating and such a miserable night, but I want to be fair to the property. The Fairmont is a large, older downtown hotel that has been well kept up and doesn't show her age. The property is clean and attractive, the employees are courteous, friendly and engaging. Our room on the 11th floor (Rm 1133) was large, clean, comfortable (mostly) and had an amazing view. The king bed felt like we had died and gone to heaven, super comfy with just-right down pillows and luxe bedding. A huge flat-screen and a Kuerig brewer rounded out the room. Everything was great until it wasn't! We returned from an event the night we were there and prepared for bed. We sleep best in a pretty chilled room, so I cranked the AC down to 64 (Dallas had been 66 that day, several days prior, it had gotten chillier). I would have opened the window if I could, but you know hotel windows don't seem to open anymore. We tucked in and went to sleep... my husband and I kept waking up in different stages of grogginess, uncomfortably warm. I splashed cold water on my face, turned down the thermo, went back to sleep, sort of. At 2am, we were both up, miserable. I called the front desk and was told that they would call the electrician to get the 'chiller' turned on. Possibly in the cold snap several days before the hotel had turned off all the ACs! I cranked the AC down a couple more degrees and went back to bed. Either the chiller was never turned on or it took time to engage, don't know...but we did not sleep that night. We even tried opening the curtains to get the radiated cool thru the window into our room. What a bummer! We had a full day planned for the next day and were draggy and groggy. As we checked out (early), I told the clerk who seemed very concerned and removed our parking fee ($25) and asked if we had had breakfast (we had not eaten the $24 continental room service) as she would have waived that fee, too. Since we had made our reservations third party, I do not believe reimbursing the room was an option to her. So...we had a good overall impression of the property but on the most important question-- 'did we sleep well?'---I would have to say a resounding no. This would not prevent me from ever returning because everything else was good, however, in the future I will confirm at CHECKIN that the room chillers are turned on and check immediately that there is temperature control in the room. Rats. We had SO been looking forward to that trip, too!

Room Tip: Obviously the rooms on higher floors have better views. Our room on the northern side of the propert...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelswithmutts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed December 18, 2012

This hotel was fabulous from the decor to the rooms but the most memorable was the bellman Tony Bennett (yes that is his real name), he was AMAZING! Tony is so full of life, spunk overall genuine kindness that you really don't find these days. Hats off to the supervisors for hiring such a wonderful employee!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Theresa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatieNorwood, Public Relations Manager at The Fairmont Dallas, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Hello and thank you for your comments. I am pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay at our hotel and that you received a warm welcome from our bellman Tony Bennett. All of our colleagues strive to provide guests with engaging service, and Tony’s enthusiasm is a great example of that commitment. Thank you for sharing your feedback and we hope to see you again soon at The Fairmont Dallas!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dallas hotels
Downtown Dallas
Omni Dallas Hotel
Omni Dallas Hotel
#4 of 203 in Dallas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,219 reviews
Downtown Dallas
The Joule, Dallas
The Joule, Dallas
#6 of 203 in Dallas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Oak Lawn
Hotel ZaZa Dallas
Hotel ZaZa Dallas
#3 of 203 in Dallas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,144 reviews
Downtown Dallas
Hyatt Regency Dallas
Hyatt Regency Dallas
#22 of 203 in Dallas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,597 reviews
Downtown Dallas
Homewood Suites by Hilton Dallas Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fairmont Dallas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Dallas

Property: The Fairmont Dallas
Address: 1717 N Akard St, Dallas, TX 75201-2301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Dallas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Dallas
#8 Family Hotel in Dallas
#9 Romantic Hotel in Dallas
#13 Business Hotel in Dallas
#14 Luxury Hotel in Dallas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fairmont Dallas 4*
Number of rooms: 545
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Texas we do things in a big way, and The Fairmont Dallas is no exception amongst hotels in Dallas, TX. In this modern city of soaring skyscrapers, The Fairmont Dallas luxury hotel sets the standard for style and elegance. With our ideal location in the heart of the Downtown Dallas Arts District, we are situated just moments from incredible fine dining, shopping, arts and world-class entertainment. Newly redesigned luxurious guest rooms and suites offer warm hospitality, modern décor and that special Texas flair for an unrivaled travel experience. Fairmont Gold, an exclusive boutique lifestyle experience, is designed to fulfill the needs of the discerning business executive and leisure traveler, with elite lounge access and all of the comforts of home. Enjoy The Pyramid Restaurant & Bar’s four-star cuisine and a Starbucks conveniently located on the lobby level. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Fairmont Dallas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Dallas Hotel Dallas
Fairmont Dallas
Dallas Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing