We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Fairmont Dallas
Ranked #18 of 203 Hotels in Dallas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Newburgh, New York
Level 6 Contributor
349 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Solid hotel”
Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here 7 nights for a business event and found it to be comfortable and well run. Excellent service. Everyone was friendly and genuinely ready to help. Food was good and facilities were fine. Room was clean and comfortable. No major complaints.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank atima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,942 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,001
    591
    209
    90
    51
See reviews for
289
472
93
861
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (344)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I would be surprised if this stays a Fairmont for long without a major face lift. The common areas are nice. The rooms are tired and worn. The service is great. The location is off the beaten path and not a lot within walking distance.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sue m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatieNorwood, Public Relations Manager at The Fairmont Dallas, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you very much for sharing your comments. Feedback such as yours is especially valuable as we are commencing a renovation of our guest rooms this month. The redesigned guest rooms will include modern décor and new furniture for an updated, authentically Texan ambiance. We invite you to visit us again to experience the new rooms. Regarding our location, as the only hotel in the Dallas Arts District, we are located steps away from many cultural venues including the Nasher Sculpture Center, the Dallas Museum of Art, Klyde Warren Park, in addition to shopping, fine dining, and more. Our concierge is always available to help you plan your itinerary. Thank you again for providing your feedback and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

check in line was long. At 4:00 our room wasn't ready, but the desk clerk offered a free drink each at the bar, so the wait was ok. Bar area was crowded, though we were served quickly. Our room was as expected for a Fairmont. Check out was smooth.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mhancock007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stayed at the Fairmont for three nights on business. Check-in was fairly easy, but upon getting into my room, I was greeted by a dirty toilet! Dirty as in not flushed toilet. Pretty disgusting! However, I reported it to the front desk, who offered to move me to another room (I declined), and promptly fixed the issue.

Later, I noticed that the toilet was dirty again, after I had flushed it, so it was clearly a maintenance issue and not a housekeeping issue. Similarly, the thermostat in my colleague's room didn't work, so it felt like a sauna in there. Luckily, that is his preference, but it's clear that there are some maintenance issues here, which is why I am only giving the hotel 4 out of 5.

The staff was great, and had no problem accommodating our change of plans--we had to leave two nights earlier than we expected to beat Hurricane Sandy to the northeast.

The breakfast in the morning was incredibly overpriced, but that's par for the course. The breakfast burrito was far and away the best value at $10.

My only other suggestion to the Fairmont is to redesign the bar area so there is more seating. It was always a problem to find a seat to eat or drink.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben_from_Brooklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

I enjoyed my stay at the fairmont dallas , I did have a little problem with my bank card nothing that couldn't be fixed though . their rooms are very nice , I had a wonderful view from my room , room service is quick to come and staff was nice .

Tony bennett was a wonderful doorman , very fuuny and sweet .

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chanola_taylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatieNorwood, Public Relations Manager at The Fairmont Dallas, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Hello and thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback. We are glad to hear that you were pleased with your guest room and the service provided by our hotel colleagues during your stay. Our staff is committed to providing engaging, memorable service for all of our guests. Thank you for your comments and we hope to see you again on your next trip to Dallas!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

I'm not sure if it was just my room or the hotel. There was old wallpaper in the bathroom that looked like it was glued back on the wall several years ago and without proper caulking, rust on the metal door in the wall/ceiling, old caulking in the tub/tile seam and the toilet seat looked old with scratches painted over. The lobby is nice, but the room just felt really old and outdated. It didn't feel 4 star quality, which was disappointing. The bartender, James was great, made good drinks, and never left you waiting for the next one.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mel98606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatieNorwood, Public Relations Manager at The Fairmont Dallas, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience with us in this forum. I’m disappointed to hear that your stay did not live up to your expectations. Starting this month, The Fairmont Dallas will begin the process of updating and upgrading our guestrooms and suites. This renovation will offer new, modern amenities and décor. Feedback such as yours is incredibly valuable as we work to ensure that our hotel continues to exceed the expectations of our modern guests. We hope you will return to the hotel on your next trip to Dallas, and thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
1 review
Reviewed November 2, 2012

While attending a conference at the Dallas Fairmont I saw a coat in the window of the gift shop and went in to take a look. The sales lady (Rosalie) was great. She showed me several different versions of the coat and even would try them on to help me with size.

Next day I went back and the flower shop located next to gift shop was closed. I had wanted to get a single rose for someone who had gone above and beyond in helping with our conference. Rosalie had a single rose at the counter and I ask if I could buy it she wrapped with tissue paper and said I could have for no charge. What an unexpected wonderful thing to do.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dallas hotels
Downtown Dallas
Omni Dallas Hotel
Omni Dallas Hotel
#5 of 203 in Dallas
6,498 reviews
Downtown Dallas
Hyatt Regency Dallas
Hyatt Regency Dallas
#22 of 203 in Dallas
3,842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Adolphus
#19 of 203 in Dallas
2,600 reviews
Downtown Dallas
The Joule, Dallas
The Joule, Dallas
#6 of 203 in Dallas
1,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fairmont Dallas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Dallas

Property: The Fairmont Dallas
Address: 1717 N Akard St, Dallas, TX 75201-2301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Dallas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Dallas
#8 Family Hotel in Dallas
#9 Romantic Hotel in Dallas
#13 Business Hotel in Dallas
#14 Luxury Hotel in Dallas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fairmont Dallas 4*
Number of rooms: 545
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Texas we do things in a big way, and The Fairmont Dallas is no exception amongst hotels in Dallas, TX. In this modern city of soaring skyscrapers, The Fairmont Dallas luxury hotel sets the standard for style and elegance. With our ideal location in the heart of the Downtown Dallas Arts District, we are situated just moments from incredible fine dining, shopping, arts and world-class entertainment. Newly redesigned luxurious guest rooms and suites offer warm hospitality, modern décor and that special Texas flair for an unrivaled travel experience. Fairmont Gold, an exclusive boutique lifestyle experience, is designed to fulfill the needs of the discerning business executive and leisure traveler, with elite lounge access and all of the comforts of home. Enjoy The Pyramid Restaurant & Bar’s four-star cuisine and a Starbucks conveniently located on the lobby level. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Fairmont Hotels, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Fairmont Dallas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Dallas Hotel Dallas
Fairmont Dallas
Dallas Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing