We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful friendly hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Fairmont Dallas
Ranked #17 of 206 Hotels in Dallas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed January 12, 2012

Stayed in a double room on gold level . Excellent staff always happy to provide info and service promptly. Amenities in gold lounge are worth every cent extra to stay on gold level. Amazing breakfast fit for a king.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank middos4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,075)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,778 - 1,784 of 2,075 reviews

Reviewed January 11, 2012

We have stayed in several Fairmont properties across Canada, USA and were not surprised to find the Fairmont Dallas to be anything but your typical Fairmont deal. The building was ideally located in the arts district of Dallas. In easy walking distance from the rail system, Historic sites and the American Airlines Centre. The room was comfortable with plenty of storage space, we are used to a power shower and found the shower lacking, however the hotel is "green" so we did save water. Staff at the hotel were excellent. We arrived late having missed our connection from Atlanta and just wanted to go to bed. We have a smooth check in considering the place was alive with wedding parties. The breakfast buffet at $21 was okay, and you could order basically what you wanted. A good hotel in a prime location.

Room Tip: Depending on how long you intend to stay in your room, the standard rooms are better value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank simonbill1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2012

Great place to stay while in Dallas. Everyone was very nice and rooms where great. Wish starbucks had better hours, but the people at the bar made some lattes for us when starbucks was closed. Great service

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank powercat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatieNorwood, Public Relations Manager at The Fairmont Dallas, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We are very glad that to hear that you were pleased with your guest room accommodations and the service you received during your stay. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

got 3 rooms and stayed with wife and 2 daughters and son in laws December 2010. Went to Mavs game. Fine room. Only surprise was valet parking at $20 a day.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robmcliberty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

Every year I make a pilgrimmage to Dallas Texas for the State Fair. If you love fairs, you must check out Dallas; it's like none other. It's set in beautiful Fair Park, the largest collection of Art Deco buildings in the US, built to commemorate Texas' Centennial in 1936. The architecture, landscaping, sculpture are all exquisite. Not to mention the Corny Dogs and the wonderful infectious sense of pride every Texan exhibits. It can be hard to find a hotel depending on when you go. This year, I stayed at the Fairmont, a favorite of Dallas' well-heeled set from Highland Park. Dripping in elegance (from the 70s), and conveniently located to the nearby Arts District. Fabulous views from the North Tower. Elegant lobby bar and professional staff. Taxis at the ready, or a few blocks to the DART. Large hotel, too, so if you want space in a large or not so large group, you're not on top of each other. Nicely appointed rooms. Could use a bit more housekeeping support - particularly for replenishing the rather cheap in-room coffee machine. Wi-Fi access. Quiet.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brian62hill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2012

The minute I arrived at the Dallas Fairmont, I noted many similarities to the San Francisco Hilton -- right down to the huge footprint, multi-tower layout, sophisticated lobby bar/restaurant and onsite Starbucks. All good omens for the rest of the stay.

Fairmont staff were consistently polite and helpful, whatever their capacity (bellman, front desk, concierge, housekeeping). The huge property was well-maintained and clean. Sleep quality was excellent.

Just a few words to discerning travelers: the Fairmont is an older (ca. 1969), first-generation luxury hotel. While the rooms are almost twice the size of those in more modern facilities, one might wish for less space and more of the amenities common to 21st century business hotels (i.e., a breakfast room would have been nice, and the business center should be updated). I also noticed the springloaded doors slam shut very loudly; this can be annoying when you're unlucky enough to share a floor with undisciplined youngsters (are they all deaf? Do they not hear the racket they're making? Or do they simply not give a damn?). I can also imagine many travelers considering the decor a bit dated. As well, certain features which were state of the art 40 years ago (bathroom phones) are unnecessary today, while other amenities travelers have come to expect (i.e., in-room refrigerators) are not available. Folks who are fussy about high standards of luxury might find these things disappointing.

In sum, a solid and reliable choice for downtown Dallas.

Room Tip: I'd recommend a room that does not face the large pool area on the terrace. It looks like it co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ted Fry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2011

We just came back from a 2 night stay at Fairmont. We got a good deal on the Fairmont Gold level room, and absolutely loved it. I would not stay without the Gold level because you get such great amenities in the lounge. We had breakfast (hot and cold), snacks, and desserts available every night. Loved the cappucino machine!!

The people were all so very nice and provided everything we asked for with no problems, even allowing for late check out to let us enjoy the aquarium on the last day. It turned out that we needed a late check out because our daughter got "pooped on" standing below a bird at the aquarium, and needed a shower after we got back. Thank you for that!

The only slight complaint that I had was the there was a stain on the carpet in the room, and it was obvious to see, which took away from the luxury feel. Other than that, I loved the slippers, potpouri in the closet, umbrella (just in case), robes, thick towels, rain shower, and the nice smelling lotion!

Room Tip: Stay away from elevators. Our room was close to the elevator, which I could hear once in a while, w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GJ123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatieNorwood, Public Relations Manager at The Fairmont Dallas, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience. We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your Fairmont Gold room accommodations and the level of service provided by our Fairmont staff members. We hope you will return to the hotel on your next trip to Dallas, and thank you again for your feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dallas hotels
Downtown Dallas
Omni Dallas Hotel
Omni Dallas Hotel
#5 of 206 in Dallas
6,933 reviews
Downtown Dallas
Hyatt Regency Dallas
Hyatt Regency Dallas
#24 of 206 in Dallas
4,096 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Adolphus
#19 of 206 in Dallas
2,650 reviews
Downtown Dallas
The Joule, Dallas
The Joule, Dallas
#10 of 206 in Dallas
1,085 reviews
Hilton Anatole
#34 of 206 in Dallas
3,524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fairmont Dallas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Dallas

Address: 1717 N Akard St, Dallas, TX 75201-2301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Dallas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Dallas
#8 Family Hotel in Dallas
#9 Romantic Hotel in Dallas
#13 Business Hotel in Dallas
#13 Luxury Hotel in Dallas
Price Range: $158 - $398 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fairmont Dallas 4*
Number of rooms: 545
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Texas we do things in a big way, and The Fairmont Dallas is no exception amongst hotels in Dallas, TX. In this modern city of soaring skyscrapers, The Fairmont Dallas luxury hotel sets the standard for style and elegance. With our ideal location in the heart of the Downtown Dallas Arts District, we are situated just moments from incredible fine dining, shopping, arts and world-class entertainment. Newly redesigned luxurious guest rooms and suites offer warm hospitality, modern décor and that special Texas flair for an unrivaled travel experience. Fairmont Gold, an exclusive boutique lifestyle experience, is designed to fulfill the needs of the discerning business executive and leisure traveler, with elite lounge access and all of the comforts of home. Enjoy The Pyramid Restaurant & Bar’s four-star cuisine and a Starbucks conveniently located on the lobby level. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Fairmont Dallas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Dallas Hotel Dallas
Fairmont Dallas
Dallas Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing