We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A locally owned simple restaurant” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kel's Restaurant - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Kel's Restaurant
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Seating
Description: Home Cooking You Will Leave Home For!
Chicago
Level Contributor
2,004 reviews
1,300 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,170 helpful votes
“A locally owned simple restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

Had lunch here with a business associate. This is a locally owned simple restaurant that has a good breakfast menu and good food. They also serve lunch and I believe dinner. Seems to be a place where a lot of locals go as the waitresses were addressing some of the patrons by name and asking if they want their regular order. Prices are reasonable and you get a good quantity.

We drove past it the first time, as it is located behind the car wash so not located directly on Forest Lane, but rather set back. If you pass it up, worth the u-turn to go back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank WorldTravelers34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    9
    6
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
751 reviews
407 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 363 helpful votes
“Southern comfort food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

If you're looking for southern, home-cooking, comfort food you've come to the right place. I used to work near Kel's so we would go there for lunch once & a while. It's good, but heavy.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank BrussoDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
213 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Gotta go for breakfast!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Yummy diner food. And I mean yummy. Do not let the outside or inside for that matter scare you away. Their breakfast is to die for! Any of it. I'm hungry thinking about it!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank TexasGingerbread
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
141 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Cold canned vegetables...”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Service was adequate. The Salad dressing was very good and we enjoyed the salads, but then it stopped. The Chicken fried steak was overcooked. THe Chicken fried steak was mostly chicken fried and very little steak. Both were bland. THe vegetables were another thing altogether... Cold broccoli which had been cooked to mush along with a cols slimy Summer Squash casserole. We vowed after we left the door to never try this place again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank K F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
88 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Tasty... in the canned kind of way”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

Yes, it's home cooked, but from your mom's cooking in the 1970's. Everything tasted great, but when you are used to fresh green beans and spinach, the canned versions just don't hold their own, even with bacon. The waitress was great, but overtaxed, she was the only one. The rolls were mmm, mmm. I think it is probably a better place for breakfast.. and we will go back for that. Local? I doubt Dallas has a canning plant.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Aggie1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing