We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A slice of Italy in East Dallas”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Jimmy's Food Store

Jimmy's Food Store
Ranked #1 of 3,578 Restaurants in Dallas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Dallas
Level Contributor
110 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“A slice of Italy in East Dallas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

You know you are in a good place when most of the people shopping here for a real Italian sangiche are the local Dallas chefs'...Many times I have spent a Saturday afternoon enoying an espresso and working my way through an Italian Beef sandwich...By the way, if you make your own pizza, this is the best pizza dough...you get it frozen, let it thaw and can use it to make some awesome Margherita Pizzas...

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Cardhuneat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

698 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    543
    122
    26
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, tx
Level Contributor
122 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“not sure what the fuss is about”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

the sandwiches are ok, i thought mine was a bit dry (i got the chicken italian sandwich). the bread is fluffy and good but its so big it overpowers the sandwich. we did try the cannollis and they were excellent! they are only $2. i was disappointed that they did not have any chocolate ones. i would go back and try something else. i will say the guys that were with me really enjoyed the meatball and italian subs.

Helpful?
1 Thank busyDsweetness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
217 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“HIDDEN GEM in East Dallas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

Great little neighborhood store and deli. The best Italian meats and cheese in town! Great sandwiches. Can get crowded during lunchtime -- but worth the wait!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank DA H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
46 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“The smell of a true Italian home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

I decided to stop by here because it is rated well on tripadvisor.com. That was a great choice. The second you walk in, it smells of fresh italian sauce, bread, and meat. The shop has anything you could possibly need for italian cooking. We ordered a couple sandwiches and canolis. While we were waiting, we found a couple bottles of wine that were priced very modestly. Once we got our food, we sat down, and indulged. The food was true italy. from the bread to the sauce, and finishing with the sausage, it was delicious. Our wine complimented it well, and made the whole meal come together. Afterward we enjoyed some chocolate canolis, which were amazing. Overall the experience was outstanding. I would recommend this place to anyone in the Dallas area.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
200 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“Excellent Food and Great Prices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

My husband and I recently found Jimmy's. On the day we went they were doing wine tasting. We tasted a Chianti wine from Italy. It was excellent. We purchased several bottle. The cost was $8.95 a bottle. My husband is a wine snob and we have never paid $8.95 for a bottle of wine. We also ate lunch there which was delicious. Then we shopped and the prices were terrific. Definitely will be returning.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Born2Travel57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jimmy's Food Store also viewed

 

Been to Jimmy's Food Store? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing