We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A Nice Change of Pace” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zaguan South American Cafe & Bakery

Zaguan South American Cafe & Bakery
Ranked #6 of 84 Bakeries in Dallas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Latin, South American, Spanish, Venezuelan, Colombian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Oak Lawn
Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Nice Change of Pace”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Gluten Free! That's a biggie for the wife, so I figured I'd get that out of the way. They have everything clearly listed on their menu with a GF by it for easy access.

The food is very tasty! It's different than anything I've ever tasted, and I like eating here. I've been to Zaguan a few times with the wife, and we both enjoy exploring new tastes. I particularly like the Cachapa. She had the Arepas last time, and really liked it as well. She almost always gets some sort of dessert as well.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Robb969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    24
    5
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
dallas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Slightly disappointing but would give it another try”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

I had visited Buenos Aires a few month's before...not that I was expecting to feel like I had been swept away to that wonderful city, but I still left feeling slightly disappointed in my experience. The food was very greasy. Neither of us could finish it. Both of our orders got mixed up. To their credit, the waiter offered to replace it. Not quite knowing what exactly we were eating, we had already ate a third of our meal, so we declined. They graciously didn't charge us for one of the plates. I enjoyed the coffee, while my friend found it tasted like Sanka. Most of all, we were simply disappointed at the greasiness of the food. The service was attentive and friendly, and I did enjoy the vibe of the restaurant and the clientele.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank dallas2day
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not fancy, but the best food ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

I started going to this restaurant 10 years ago, just when they open. It is small, charming café, but the dishes are great. The best is Cachapa with pulled beef and cheese. It is always delicious and satisfying. If you want something unique, off the bitten path, this is the place. Not expensive and very tasty.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Julia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Overpriced dive.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

The place has mediocre food, terrible atmosphere, limited bar, poor service and high prices.
The menu and pricing is misleading. The place is a dive but not priced like one.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mollie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

Excellent cacachapas. Authentic homemade Venezuelan and South American Cuisine. Great prices and food.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BigRobTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zaguan South American Cafe & Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Zaguan South American Cafe & Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing