We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic”

Zaguan South American Cafe & Bakery
Ranked #5 of 69 Bakeries in Dallas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Neighborhood: Oak Lawn
Wichita, Kansas
Level 6 Contributor
386 reviews
292 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Authentic”
Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

No chain fast food here! Nothing but authentic Venezuelan food. We stopped by at lunch time and it was packed. Had to wait a few minutes for a table but it was worth the wait. Wonderful service in a casual atmosphere. Would stop here again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ken M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    27
    5
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Accra
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best Venezuela food”
Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

Nice place, real Venezuelan food, love this place on a Sunday for lunch, really nice traditional food.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nixon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Texas
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“These Yanquis loved it!”
Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

We discovered this little gem when we asked for restaurants near us while traveling down I35 in Dallas.
The food was delicious, and very new and different to us. I had the #1 cachapa with beef and cheese. The outside was made of sweet corn filled with a well seasoned shredded beef and cheese. It came with plantain chips and salsa. It was voted #1 Latin Lunch by D Magazine, and they knew what they were talking about.
My husband had Pollo Caracus which was chicken and vegetables with rice. It was good but be wishes he had taken the plunge to have one of the unfamiliar dishes on the menu.
We will be returning to try two more of their truly way south of the border creations!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Two_Wilsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Delicious & Allergy Friendly”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

This restaurant is consistently great - food is outstanding, service is quick, and the price is perfect for a lunch with friends. The food is very flavorful and the menu is extensive. I especially appreciate the menu labeling which notes gluten-free options (of which there are several). The restaurant itself is more like a cafe - nothing fancy, but cute. This past visit, we opted to sit outside. Lastly, I don't eat dessert, but people rave about all the choices here, especially the cake.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Juliet R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not fancy but delicious.”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

I've been meaning to check out Zanguan for awhile and finally went last night. There really isn't a lot of atmosphere, it's a simple looking cafe. We ordered the tostones, ropa vieja and arroz con pollo. All of the food tasted great and the portion sizes were good. I will definitely be going back!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zaguan South American Cafe & Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Zaguan South American Cafe & Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing