We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unlikely Location, Fantastic Menu and Meals”
Review of Urbano

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Urbano
Ranked #2,035 of 3,626 Restaurants in Dallas
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Italian
Neighborhood: Oak Lawn
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Oak Lawn
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Unlikely Location, Fantastic Menu and Meals”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Urbano has been around Dallas for more than a decade and has moved a couple of times - the menu reliably good with pleasant and unique selections.

Their current location is on Fitzhugh east of I-75 a bit off the restaurant map. Locals always know where to fine them, and their following is very strong.

Today, several friends and I tried the Pumpkin Ravioli and another friend got the Shrimp Risotto. Keep in mind, this was a limited Saturday lunch menu, and we were very pleased with our selections.

We were the only guests for the better part of an hour, and service was OK, not great.

If you decide to head over there, be sure to bring your own bottle of wine/desired beverage or stop at the liquor store next door - they do not have a liquor license. If you've ever lived in New Jersey, this is the norm, though not so common for Dallas.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Niblik2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    2
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Laguna Beach
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Delightful Find !”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Looking for the find? The hole in the wall that is a great place?
I wanted to get away from the convention scene and eat at a "locals" restaurant... wow, Jackpot!!!!

I will always, go back here whenever I am in Dallas.

Spectacular dishes in a bustling little locals place, with delightfully high standards. It's the little Italian place you wish you could find. I had veal with pasta that seemed to be , maybe had to be fresh made to be as good as it was, and a marinara that was light, flavorful, and wonderful to the palate.
Get reservations or you won't get in.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ed B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Fantastic foodie haunt”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Dropped by one night to see if we could snag a table. They were packed but the owner did his best to get us in. We love Mitch and his staff. The only thing better is the food! Carefully crafted and everything is fresh and just right. Never heavy. Their mussels and tenderloin with that jus is heaven!
Our foodie friends, like us, who cook and appreciate creativity and excellence in the craft love this place. It is always packed so a reservation is always recommended.
A special note: we didnt bring any wine since we didn't think we could get in. Mitch went to the back and scrounged some yummy red wine for us -- on the house. He went the extra mile and we will forever be loyal customers!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beaverhousen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fish + Waitstaff = 0”
Reviewed June 6, 2012

Moved from McKinney Ave to East Dallas and forgot to take their smiles. Great ambience, and you can bring your own wine, $2/person corkage fee. Waitstaff was indifferent. Seemed overwrought even though it wasn't crowded on a Tuesday night. Food presentations looked great. Mussels appetizer and salmon entree were both past their prime, tasting very fishy. Sides were skimpy. Ran out of champagne glasses for four of us? No one else in the place was having bubbly. I'd like to like this restaurant, but the experience was flat.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephchef C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
99 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Wonderful food!”
Reviewed May 14, 2012

We had a family dinner at Urbano last Friday night, and I must say everything was excellent. My wife and I both had scallop dishes, one from the regular menu and one from the specials menu. Both were cooked perfectly, excellent seasoning, and accompanied by delicious risotto. Others in our party had beef filet stuffed with lobster which looked terrific as well.

Service by the 2 servers was attentive and pleasant. We loved the BYOB policy at the restaurant as each member of our family brought a special wine to share.

We'll definitely be back!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Urbano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing