We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very disappointed”

Fearing's Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Fearing's Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #30 of 3,626 Restaurants in Dallas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Oak Lawn
Cross street: Pearl and McKinney
Description: #1 in the U.S. (Zagat-rated 2009). Elevated American Cuisine - global flair with the unmistakable signature of one of Southwest Cuisine's founding fathers, Celebrity Chef Dean Fearing. Rare wines, outstanding cocktails and plenty of local favorites.
new york
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“very disappointed”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

This place is extremely expensive and supposed to be high end, but the food was very disappointing, Everything was covered in strange sauces and tasted weird.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank TessieNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    349
    96
    43
    19
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ardmore, OK
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely Uptown Lunch”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

After spending the morning at the Dallas Tower Antique Show we were looking forward to
an exceptional meal at Fearing's. My friend and I were pleased to be served delicious scallops,
white cheddar cheese grits, and a crunch salad. The food couldn't have been better.
The lunch time crowd wasn't a quiet group overall but while there you get the feeling you are in the
best place to enjoy a good visit over lunch on any given day of the week.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Salyeniatravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Food is still stellar...service needs a little tune up!”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We were staying a couple of days at the Ritz & called for a take-out order (trying to minimize a service charge to our room & I was going down-stairs anyway). The Fearing's receptionist directed me to Room Service...even after I told her I preferred to pick up the "take-out" order myself. Room Service was eager to assist me, but lacked knowledge of the menu items I questioned. When paying $44 for Elk & $48 for buffalo...knowledge of product is key! Fearing's would do better to capture hotel guests "take-out" or "room delivery" requests for meals themselves- ensuring all inquiries are answered quickly & correctly. Possibly, the Ritz may wish to reconsider the room service options to minimize any future confusion. Nonetheless, the quality of the food was stellar, despite the conundrum.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank donz06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richardson, Texas
1 review
“Don't Bother....”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

My girlfriends took me here for my 50th birthday dinner. We were sat in the very back of the restaurant, almost inside the waiter's serving station. The waiter and "staff" of helpers were extremely arrogant, had trouble answering a simple question from the wine list and overall inattentive. We had to ask for water several time. The food is all smoky - nothing special and all ends up tasting the same. Will not go back.....

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CindeK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Expected greatness but was let down”
Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

I am familiar with Chef Fearing from the Mansion so when I heard he moved from the Ritz I was excited to try his new restaurant. The staff was very nice and the Chef's visit was unexpected but the amount of staff just roaming the restaurant watching over each table was annoying. I do like a full glass of water but having managers walk by every 2 min and just stand there watching over the room is odd. The meal was good but I expected more of an exotic meal with exciting flavors. It was not worth the money and the patrons in the bar made it feel very sleazy (old men/ young women/ ladies of the night).

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Aaron W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fearing's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing