We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent sushi - would love to come back”

Yutaka Sushi Bistro
Ranked #418 of 3,600 Restaurants in Dallas
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Oak Lawn
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
109 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Excellent sushi - would love to come back”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

I had dinner with 2 colleagues at Yutaka Sushi Bistro. The place was recommended by another colleague.
We didn't order anything from the menu and simply asked "surprise us". That's what they did.
They brought us a number of dishes, nicely one after the other, that offered great variety and that were all very tastefull. We greatly enjoyed it.
Paid 160 USD for 3 persons. Definitely worth the money.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank koen75koen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    10
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Beverly Hills, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Best Sushi in Dallas”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

When our favorite sushi chef moved back to Japan and closed his restaurant, we went on a quiet search throughout the city to find a replacement. We tried them all at the time (probably 25 or so) and many we went back to more than once. About a year in, we found Yutaka. It is by far the best sushi in Dallas - they really care about their food, the freshness and their customers. They have a selection of wonderful non-sushi items too. The beef served in a lava bowl is outstanding, as are some of the cooked fish dishes. They also have a bar two doors down with options for grilled or fried chicken/pork/beef skewers, meatballs, etc. Pretty sure reservations accepted for 6 or more.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nallie3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Oregon
Level Contributor
106 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Really slow service”
Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

Frustrating to watch your waitress add up her tickets while you've been waiting to give your order. The food was good so I have to give credit there. They also have some good wines.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rich B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Without question the best sushi in Dallas”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

I've been going to Yutaka for several years and can say that is the best sushi in Dallas - without question. You can go to a trendier and more expensive restaurant like Nobu, but you're not going to get better sushi! The atmosphere is nice, but it is very small. There are about 7 tables and 10 sushi bar seats. If you like cilantro, try the Napo Roll...it's amazing.

Service is great and the food is better.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Norm G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Melt in your mouth Sushi”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

My wife and I have enjoyed eating Sushi for many years. As an Air Force officer, I have had the opportunity to eat throughout Europe and Carribean. Some years ago we went to a location in San Juan, Puerto Rico. Best ever until Yutaka. Their tuna litteraly melted in your mouth. The NAPO roll was inventive, creative and awesomely delicious. We were concerned about getting in on Valentine's day. Had to wait in the attached Saki bar (so sad, NOT) for about 20 min. This hidden gem was a hope diamond type of find. And right in the middle of downtown McKinney ave area. Staff was extremely effervescent and helpful. Then I got the Bill. That is the least I have paid for a Sushi date in my 39 years of marriage. If you are in Dallas and love Sushi, you have got to go to Yukata.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank clayflyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yutaka Sushi Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Yutaka Sushi Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing