We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Matagordo sauce!”
Review of S & D Oyster Co

S & D Oyster Co
Ranked #65 of 3,600 Restaurants in Dallas
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Matagordo sauce!”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

I visited with associates from work during a business trip. The seafood was good - I had fried trout, and experienced my first raw oysters. The matagordo sauce (a mix of mayo, peppers, horseradish) was a nice find. Really good service, and a beautiful old building made for an overall enjoyable dining experience. The only negative was the hush puppies. They were a little dry and lacked flavor.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mithena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    42
    16
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Camden, Maine
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Consistently great”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

I've been a customer here for 35 years and it never disappoints. Excellent service and reasonably priced food.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delicious food!!! Kinda pricey...”
Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

Ate here with family while on vacation. Small town "local" atmosphere, clean, excellent service, excellent food... I thought kinda pricey though. My husband and I both had fried oysters, my 13 yr old had a shrimp sandwich and my 5 yr old had a hamburger... Our total was almost $80.... I thought that was expensive considering.... But the food was really great. Large place capable of seating many. We ate there on a Friday night and literally had no wait, even though the place looked packed... And I stress-- great service, great food, great family atmosphere.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank clmilam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
93 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Fabulous Fried Shrimp”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

I grew up on the Texas Gulf Coast and know something about tasty fried shrimp. We ate here again during the July 4th weekend, and realized anew that you can get fabulous seafood even in landlocked Dallas. Fried with a delicate crust and served with fries, hushpuppies, and slaw. Good -- but unpretentious -- wine offerings. Prompt and attentive service; simply cannot be beat!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank parkietx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
105 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Best Shrimp in Dallas”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

This little place is worth waiting in line to get in to, and at lunch time if your not early you will. I had the Fried Shrimp and Orysters Combo Plate, by far the best seafood in Dallas/Ft. Worth hands down. The S & D Oyster Co. is located in an Historic Landmark Building that was a Grocery Store since back in the horse and buggy days, parking can be challanging, but you will not regret the effort, when you taste the food and experience the outstanding service of this step back to a time when quality and service really meant something. I know I'll be back when ever I'm in Dallas.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KARO48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to S & D Oyster Co? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing