We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So darn good!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Fuel City

Fuel City
Ranked #141 of 3,580 Restaurants in Dallas
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
111 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“So darn good!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

Traveled to Dallas for pleasure and this place was recommended as a stop in our guide book. We stopped in late night after a Ranger's game. OMG! Amazing food, wanted to eat there every night. I don't know what they do to their beef, but wow, so delicious. Also, be sure to get the corn cup (Elote) from the cart off to the side, I'm serious, you'll want a large cup. The atmosphere isn't posh (obviously since it's connected to a gas station), but it's super cheap and so worth it. It's been five days since I ate at there and I'm STILL thinking about the food (and salivating). Get. there. now.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca0500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    35
    6
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
215 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Best street tacos around!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

This place isn't clean, it isn't pretty, it's in a bad neighborhood...but wow, the tacos are amazing! The food and prices alone warrant a trip to this place. At least you get to sit outside on a picnic table near some longhorns & donkeys.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
1,586 reviews
793 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,217 helpful votes
“It's not glamorous but it's certainly delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

I was told about this place by a local, so one weekday lunchtime we all headed down there. It's not in a great area and neither could you ever call it fine dining. However what you will get are some of the most delicious tacos ever.
We started off by purchasing drinks at the gas station....then queued up at the little hole in the wall to order our tacos, then purchased our Elote (yummy corn with cheese butter spices etc) before finding a bench outside.
There are 5 different types of filling, which can be ordered for $1.40 on either a corn or wheat tortilla. Beef or chicken fajita, picadillio, barbacoa and pastor. All of them so tasty. They are small enough, that even if you have a small appetite you can manage 3.
Will definitely go back. For the price and the delicious food this is a great little place.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Travellover6128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Venice, Florida
Level Contributor
43 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“I would say darn close to the best”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

Husband and I heard about this little spot and decided to try it out yesterday. I was really amazed that a little taco stand would produce something so good for that price. It's surprisingly close to the best taco I've had in Dallas and we loved the corn too.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SmittieRichardson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Tacos! Burritos! Elotes!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

Street tacos done to perfection,Burritos none better, Elotes, Corn with a KICK, if you are in the west side of downtown this is a must, get you car washed, get gas, see the Longhorns, an feed the belly.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ed K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fuel City also viewed

 

Been to Fuel City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing