We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous choice!”

Toulouse Cafe and Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Toulouse Cafe and Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #62 of 3,580 Restaurants in Dallas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $40
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Oak Lawn
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fabulous choice!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

I had been looking for a restaurant close to the Hyatt on Commerce. I was taking a dozen folks to dinner and didn't want to choose a steak house!

Toulouse was the perfect choice - the service was wonderful, the food delicious AND it was very reasonable...

We were inside but the patio doors were open so the atmosphere was wonderful...

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mp0010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    57
    17
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, SC
Level Contributor
73 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Good but not great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

Dinner at Toulouse mid week. Not crowded or loud as mentioned in other reviews. The food was good but nothing outstanding. Atmosphere was nice as we sat. The service was not overly personal although everything was delivered correctly and timely. A little disappointed in the wine selection although the prices were reasonable. The Dover sole prepared atthe table was nice. Would go back a second time based on other reviews.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jfrandolph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
77 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Love this place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

I love a french bistro and this place fits the bill. Whether you sit inside or outside, the atmosphere is casual and inviting. Service is always friendly and knowledgable and you will want for nothing. The menu is the right size and has varied offerings from mussels and escargot to steak and frites, but always check out their specials. Every time I visit Dallas I make sure to eat at this establishment.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank bdmaustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Slice of Paris in Dallas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

It's been a long time since we had a restaurant experience that was awesome from start to finish. The atmosphere is just like many wonderful favorites we have in Paris. We loved the outdoor seating area! Inside is just as lovely. Great bar and bartenders! We were seated inside near the patio so it was the best of both worlds. Service was outstanding! We were never rushed to leave like most places these days. We had the foie gras, the toulouse salad, short ribs and the duck confit!! It makes my mouth water just writing this. Everything was impeccable! Oh and we also enjoyed the soufflé for dessert. French 75's to start, with wine in between. So wonderful!! Our waiter had the perfect recommendations for what wines are best suites to our choices. There's absolutely nothing they could have done to make this a better experience. LOVE this PLACE!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank luvhhiholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
167 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

I have been in Dallas for about 2 years and have been wanting to try Toulouse for a long time but was waiting for the right occasion. Now, I wish I had gone sooner. I went with five of my friends and we had a great time. For appetizers, we ordered the esgarot and vol au vents, both which were delicious. The vol au vents were hard to share, so would recommend that more for just two people, not six, but both were excellent. Several of us then ordered soup or salads for starters. The french onion soup was good, but didn't quite live up to the hype (especially compared to the rest of the meal).

For dinner, I ordered the diver sea scallops, which were perfect. I also loved the risotto side dish they came with and ate every bite. Everyone else seemed to enjoy their meals as well. For dessert, we decided to split the beignets, the chocolate fondant and the apple tart, all which were delicious but the chocolate fondant was a bit heavy and we couldn't finish it all.

Several of my friends also ordered cocktails and wine, which they said were excellent. This was a special celebration, so we weren't watching the budget and each spent around $50 but the food was well worth the price and you could get out of there for less if you wanted.

I would highly recommend this place for a special occasion or for a date. I am planning on taking my mother there when she comes to visit.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank futureconsultant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Toulouse Cafe and Bar also viewed

 

Been to Toulouse Cafe and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing