We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique, Hidden Location, Great Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Guesthouse on Allen Street
Ranked #4 of 24 Dallas B&B and Inns
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Unique, Hidden Location, Great Service”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Very low-key, beautiful accommodations that offer an alternative to your typical hotel. Quiet garden courtyard w/fountain is very relaxing. Walking distance from restaurants. Other reviews have covered it well. This was our second visit & we'd highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BHB_BB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
15
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

The Gusesthouse has one bedroom - its more like a bed and breakfast than a hotel. nicely decorated, great bed, beautiful private garden and very secure. Its located in a trendy area with lots of restaurants withi walking distance.
HIghly recommended!

Room Tip: only one room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dacovr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, NC
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

The Guesthouse is unlike the stereotypical B&B experience. There are no other guest rooms so privacy is heightened. It is located in the heart of Uptown- a very walkable neighborhood- chock full of restaurants and close to the historic M line trolley (free too!) which connects to the local rapid transit (you literally could leave your car parked- for free!- on the street with the neighborhood permit provided). If the Art District holds your interest, it is an easy one mile walk to most of the venues (or any easy drive if you prefer). The secluded and walled garden with mature plantings, potted tropicals, roses and a statue/fountain (that attracts all sorts of birds) provideds a cool and tranquil start to incredible breakfasts- it all yours and not shared even with the hosts- with the Dallas skyline over your shoulder to remind you of all that awaits you. In the room are big floor to ceiling windows that look out to the garden, with beautiful roman shades and sunscreening shades for the hot afternoon sunshine.

The room is spacious, sophisticated and very comfortable in all aspects in shades of light olive green. Surrounding the fireplace is a built-in bookcase full of reading material for mosts tastes as well as a TV (frankly, you should be so busy that it should stay off most of your stay!). There is an array of recessed ceiling lights with dimmers as well as those on the desk and bed tables to provide the right amount for your needs. The bed is comfortable and made with high quality sheets and spreads. The central AC is most responsive to the heat. A small space between the bedroom and bathroom contains spacious closets with louvered doors and a small bar area, complete with a small fridge (stocked with cold beverages) and freezer with the largest icemaker I have ever seen in a room. This space also contains a small make up counter with granite countertop over which there are windows with bermuda shades- on either side are built-in dressers. The Keurig coffee machine is well stocked daily with a variety of coffee and teas with real ceramic mugs.

The tile floor in this space leads you to the bathroom- well ventilated and full of thick thirsty towels. The bathroom is on the small side if a couple want to share, but considering the amenities this property provides, just roll with it! No tub but a glass door/tiled shower with glass block window with a privacy-providing pattern.

The breakfasts were skillfully prepared with extra touches- fresh squeezed orange juice, fresh baked goods and in a portion size to fortify you for your Dallas adventures. Likes and dislikes were asked upon check in and accommodated (thanks for the mushrooms...and keeping them off my partner's breakfast!).

One reviewer wished for a more chatty host and hostess, We appreciated that they did not impose their thoughts and ideas onto us, but when asked were very forthcoming with information. A conversation about the Arboreteum resulted in a lovely day that we otherwise would not have experienced. This is the age of the Internet- do your homework (Google Uptown, Arts District and DART for transit info) and ask the host and hostess to fine tune.

Stay here before considering an overpriced stay at a local four star hotel- you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: There is only one room, entered from the street through a stylish and electronically locked gate, th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RoadTripFreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claremont, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

The Allen Guesthouse is a very cozy, romantic hidden gem. Not only is this meditarrian/Spanish guesthouse amazing but it is tucked away in a great little neighborhood. We had sushi at one spot and then drinks and fish and chips at a cozy little pub next to that...all of this is right outside your little cozy space. The unique feature here is that it feels so private. The owner Kay is really warm and sweet and surprised us with heart shaped French toast as a little gift for our anniversary. The grounds are beautiful as well. We will definitely be back.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2011

The room is very beautiful and is well appointed. The bed is absolutely the most comfortable bed I have slept in away from home. The location is within walking distance of several bars and restaurants. Breakfast is very good and I loved that we could have it delivered when it was best for us. Visiting for my 40th birthday I expected to be pampered. Honestly, we received very little help in finding a place to eat or things to do in the area. It was not until our second day that we discovered on our own the beautiful antique trolley cars which run down McKinney and a fun coffee house called Crooked Tree Coffee. We have traveled to many BnB and this is first time I have not felt I knew our host better when we left. I would not recommend for those who enjoy the BnB experience but if you want a beautiful room and wonderful food this is your place.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DDT33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 20, 2011

It all begins with driveway parking and a beautiful iron gate. The style of this home has a very mysterious yet inviting Spanish-style feel in the open breezeways and dark corners lit by flickering candlelight. On the way to the room, you pass the lovely private (all yours!) rose garden complete with fountain and high walls that block out the uptown hustle and bustle.

The room is spacious, comfortable, and the owners have a knack for attention to detail. Freshly baked cookies awaited underneath a glass dome and a freshly cut rose in a crystal bud vase accented the welcome treat. The morning breakfast was also splendidly delivered in presentation, not to mention absolutely delicious.

Everything was within easy walking distance and the uptown neighborhood was quite lovely and well-kept. Highly recommend this guesthouse over any of the luxury hotels in this area!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CLA_318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denton, Tx.
Level 5 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2011

We stayed here on August 12th 2011 to celebrate our 40 anniversary. We're an active couple for 59 and we travel a lot professionally. We have stayed in numerous BnBs across the US. We live only 35 miles away in Denton so have a good handle on what is available in Dallas and Fort Worth.

We looked at the others like the Bailey Inn, The Corinthian, and the Daisy Polk and we kept coming back to this one. The reviews were simply too good to ignore.

Let me just say we weren't disappointed. Kay and her husband made us feel very welcome without being intrusive. The moment my wife stepped in the first word she stated was "elegant". That's not a word my wife says very often. She's pretty jaded and a place has to have a certain "wow" factor for her to make such a statement.

Let me describe this place. The structure in a three story Tuscan/Mediterranean style that is very impressive. There is only one suite, but very private. Basically one enters through an electric gate, walks down a portico on the first floor and one enters a large room with an adjacent courtyard with lovely covered patio table and a small fountain. The attention to the little things is what really sets this suite apart. Technically it is only one room with a fireplace, a connecting vanity room, and the toilet and shower connected to that.

One kingsize bed, a fireplace, one whole wall full of books, and numerous tourist information and maps if one needs them. The room is actually about the size of a suite at the Embassy Suites.

One has a great view of the downtown skyline. About four blocks east of the main McKinney thoroughfare in the State and Allen area. It has a tapas bar right next door and several dining options within easy walking distance.

This is in the middle of the most dynamic area of Dallas in Uptown and yet it feels like an urban hideaway.

Kay fixed a great eggs benedict for breakfast the next morning and was a most gracious host.

This truly is a great little hideaway and worth every penny but less than the upscale hotels in the area. I wouldn't come back to any BnB other than this one in Dallas. We've been spoiled.

We will definitely be back and recommending this place as a great getaway to our friends.

This place is just about perfect.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank dentonjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dallas hotels
The Fairmont Dallas
#18 of 204 in Dallas
1,989 reviews
Oak Lawn
Le Meridien Dallas, The Stoneleigh
Oak Lawn
Hyatt House Dallas/Uptown
Hyatt House Dallas/Uptown
#61 of 204 in Dallas
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Oak Lawn
The Ritz-Carlton, Dallas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Guesthouse on Allen Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Guesthouse on Allen Street

Property: The Guesthouse on Allen Street
Address: 2203 Allen St, Dallas, TX 75204-2607
Location: United States > Texas > Dallas > Oak Lawn
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Dallas
Hotel Class:3 star — The Guesthouse on Allen Street 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Guesthouse on Allen Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing