We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food in downtown Dalls”

Dickey's Barbecue Pit
Ranked #1,463 of 3,580 Restaurants in Dallas
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
214 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great food in downtown Dalls”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

I was in Dallas for a business trip in April 2013. I noticed people with Dickey's bags during lunch. It turned out that Dickey's had a place in downtown Dallas near our meeting at the Sheraton. The food was excellent, with different types of barbeque and many good sides. It should be noted that this location is only open for lunch, and not for dinner, unfortunately.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    16
    3
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
194 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Very good barbecue.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

Not much I can add that has not already been written about how good it is. The only things that come up short: green beans at 2 pm were looking wilted and overcooked, the "complimentary" ice cream would be much better if they used milk instead of water in the mix ( comes out yellow and crystallized ), and the price is still on the high side.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BigGuyfromDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
110 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“At the airport - Gave them a second chance and thumbs up!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

A couple of years ago I met a business associate at a Dickey's in the Plano area and was not too impressed. Looking for dinner at DFW, was a bit scepticle but in the mood for BBQ and it was near my gate. Good choice. The brisket platter was delicious...tasty meat, good coleslaw, and green beans that were a bit spicy which I wasn't expecting but liked.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jd_three
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
52 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful job”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

We had Dickey's cater an office lunch and they did a great job...brought everything and set it all up...the food was great and the BBQ was tender and tasty!

Helpful?
Thank NathaninDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Stay away”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012 via mobile

This is the worst BBQ you can get in Texas. The equivalent to McDonald's. If you want real BBQ go to Sonny Bryan's , Mike Anderson's, and maybe spring creek

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lolnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dickey's Barbecue Pit also viewed

 

Been to Dickey's Barbecue Pit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing