We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Well worth the effort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Salum

Salum
Reserve with OpenTable
Salum is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #301 of 3,429 Restaurants in Dallas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Oak Lawn
Cross street: Fitzhugh
Laramie, Wyoming
Level Contributor
79 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Well worth the effort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

What a nice "find." Wonderful, inventive food, and attentive (not over bearing) service that was there when you needed them and not otherwise. Owner/chef Salum was very interested in the experience his guests were having. We were from out of town but discovered this gem through Open Table and Trip Advisor. It is obviously a locals favorite, and rightly so. If you are staying anywhere near it, GO!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank WYOfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    24
    9
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas
Level Contributor
97 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Very Nice Evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We were celebrating anniversaries and a birthday and decided to try this much recommended restaurant. The service was efficient, the owner stopped by to welcome us and the food was good. The atmosphere is very nice but the restaurant does become very noisy as it fills up. We each tried something different and all were prepared very well. The food did seem very rich and small French fries added to the top of the mussel appetizer were just too much. The lamb chops were tasty and well presented but lack a sauce that you would really want to have again. We would recommend the restaurant and would probably return but not rush back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bettyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
45 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Service, Great Atmosphere.. What more do you need?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We were looking for a place to eat dinner after going to the theater in Dallas and unlike New York, not many restaurants are looking for new seatings at 10 PM. I had eaten next door at Chef Salum's other restaurant Komali and on a whim called to see if Salum would be open late last night. They were and we were the only table in the restaurant. Beautifully decorated, service was the over the top wonderful, (always there, but never noticed) and the food.. Wow. From new creative dishes to old standards. Everything was delicious. A place that you should go.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rturo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
278 reviews
169 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“A special place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The experience of Salum is that of a members club. And you are treated as a member. The waiters are long term employees; the menu has a tradition to it including introducing new items or at least new treatments on a monthly basis. The owner/chef will come by your table at some point and welcome you. And the food is outstanding. Eight years of business and its full. Pretty impressive.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Allen727286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
139 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Abraham Salum's Restaurant is a Must in Dallas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

This is one of two restaurants owned and run by Abraham Salum. The cooking here is very good indeed and the restaurant is frequently full so make sure you book. The last time I visited I had elephant garlic with goats cheese, where you are also given thinly sliced and toasted baguette to dip and spread (actually I have this every time) and the moules. I find the starters are usually better than the main courses but that is the same pretty well everywhere. The food can be very rich, so be careful what you choose. This is a must if you visit Dallas.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank phd2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salum also viewed

 

Been to Salum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing