We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Salsa is different and hot....”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of RJ Mexican Cuisine

RJ Mexican Cuisine
Reserve with OpenTable
RJ Mexican Cuisine is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #92 of 3,580 Restaurants in Dallas
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern, Latin, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown Dallas
Cross street: Ross Ave in the West End
Transit: Dart Rail 1/4 Block away from (Westend Stop)
houston, texas
Level Contributor
96 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Salsa is different and hot....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2014

No wimpy salsa, hot and tasty. Ate lunch there and the tortas were huge and filling. Happy hour starts early which is good for the vacationer.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank cruzblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    113
    55
    21
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arkansas
Level Contributor
127 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great food...weird service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014

Our waitress was phenomenal, but everyone else was stand offish and not helpful. Found out it was our waitress' last week there. Food was really good. It's a little pricey, but it truly is Mexican cuisine. Drinks were as much as meals ($11-20). Be prepared for that. They don't advertise drink prices.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank ellisak77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa, United States
Level Contributor
51 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good for a Meatless Monday”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2014 via mobile

I am not a vegetarian, but I try to go meatless on Mondays, which can sometimes be challenging when travelling and eating in a large group for work. I found several options at R.J.'s, including the cheese chiles rellenos, vegetable enchiladas, and portobello quesadilla. I went with the chiles rellenos, which comes with a choice of sauce and refried or charro beans. At the server's suggestion, I went with the sour cream sauce over the cheese stuffed poblano pepper, which was delicious. Service was good for the group that we had, and prices were reasonable. The salsa was very spicy, so beware if you're not a fan. The beer was a little pricey, but they did have Dos Equis Amber. I don't always drink beer, but when I do... you know the rest. This is a great place to try if you're in the mood for Mexican in downtown Dallas.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“One of the two best restaus in the West End”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

This is not your Mama's TexMex. More authentic yet with a modern twist. Dined there alone then again with an old friend from Dallas. Very decision. Get's busy as it's popular so definitely worth making a reservation for dinner time.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank CasaJoya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
62 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Attentive services and great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014

We attended a sports event in Dallas, TX and were referred to RJ Mexican by the hotel concierge. Our group had 20 people, between parents and kids. From the start they were very kind, we made the reservation, and when we got there our table was ready. The waiter was very nice, did the separate checks without any problems. The food was very good, they had some unique drinks. We had a very good time, all our kids no matter how picky were able to find something they liked and enjoyed every bite.
Thumbs up!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TeenfamilyFriendly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to RJ Mexican Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing