We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Fantastic!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kenny's Wood Fired Grill

Kenny's Wood Fired Grill
Ranked #3 of 3,431 Restaurants in Dallas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Prestonwood Boulevard
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

I really enjoyed this restaurant, and from the wait we encountered, so do many others. The seating area is rather small - half of the place is devoted to the bar, with half for restaurant seating. We were told there would be a half hour wait, and went to the bar area to try to find a place to sit during that time. The place was so busy, there wasn't anything available. However, the service is so good, a server came to where we stood and took drink orders from us. The wait passed quickly thanks to such an attentive staff. I was impressed with how professional everyone we encountered was - the hostess, the bartender, the server, and the bus staff. The food itself was amazing. Fantastic french onion soup...the best tilapia (served oscar-style) I've ever encountered...amazing mac and cheese...superb creamed spinach...and popovers the size of grapefruits. My only complaint is that there was so much food, I couldn't finish it all.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mithena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    454
    140
    27
    10
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
CO
Level Contributor
82 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“great flavored Bar-b-que”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We ate there for Sunday dinner and it was busy so we ate at the bar. The bartenders were great and served us as good as any server could. Their fresh hot bread free appetizer was delicious and each person gets their own. The barbeque / fire roasted meats are excellent. Highly recommend…: )

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank birdatman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler, Texas
Level Contributor
74 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Excellent "off the map" restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We have some good friends from DFW who have been raving to us about Kenny's for almost two years. We finally talked them into taking us there for a late lunch a couple of weeks ago. They were not lying this entire time.

I really appreciate restaurants in DFW that have retained their own identities, and have not sold out their souls too much to lure in the ever-fickle DFW dining crowd. Kenny's has a truly unique menu, service and atmosphere that is very hard to match anywhere else in Dallas. It has a fine-dining feel with a more casual environment. Yet everything about the food and service is top-notch.

I ordered one of the burgers, and it was definitely one of the best I have had at a restaurant. The bun was incredibly fresh, and none of the ingredients outweighed the others. It was a very well-balanced burger.

They had a great selection of canned / bottled beers, and their vodka selection is one of the best I've ever seen.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank econometricsquant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Excellent steak and salad. Waiter was very nice. Nice selection of wine and beer. Go early because it gets busy.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank kegTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
63 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Perfectionly prepared and proportioned!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

I eat fish 4-5 days per week so I know my fish. The salmon melted in my mouth! It was marinated and cook over wood fire as it should be. Not too smokey, not too sweet, not over cooked. I was astounded!!!
They also served delicious popovers! I've never had such as this. They were light little buttery puffs.
I ordered a glass of Sonoma Cutrer Chardonnay that was the compliment to my meal.
The asparagus was cooked just right with a light vinegrette seasoning.
If I had one complaint it would be the seasonal vegetable-the green beans were undercooked to the point of being chewy. I love vegetables and especially w a bit of snap so its not like I was being too picky. My husband also commented that he didn't like them either.
We are spending a few days in the area next week. I will be frequenting this restaurant.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank IeatVeggies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kenny's Wood Fired Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing