We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“They go above Pet Friendly!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Highland Dallas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Highland Dallas
Ranked #15 of 200 Hotels in Dallas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“They go above Pet Friendly!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

When I arrived with my Great Dane the concierge knew her by name! He came out with a treat for McQueen and immediately helped with her (rather large) crate! The service was amazing, the "pet friendly" floors were just as immaculate as the others, sometimes they aren't as up to par as the rest from past experience. When arriving to the room they supply you with a pet bed, dog bowls with a mini bottle of water & treats. I will definitely be staying here when I visit Dallas. Especially because they do not discriminate against large breeds! Great amazing wonderful stay. Super comfy bed, soft robes, great room service!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TaylorDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalomarPR, Director of Sales at The Highland Dallas, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
We LOVE McQueen! It was a pleasure to serve you all while you were here with us at the Palomar. Now you know that even a big girl like McQueen has a whole bunch of friends at the Palomar! We are always adding new and exciting things to our pet program. Stay tuned for our Katy Trail Expansion project right behind the hotel. You can pick up the trail and walk with other pet friendly folks for miles and miles. Thanks for choosing Palomar!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,068 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    653
    266
    92
    43
    14
See reviews for
222
294
67
373
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Four friends stayed at the Palomar and we were all pleased with the rooms and amenities. The hotel staff were wonderful - very friendly, helpful, and courteous. Free wine hour was fun; you could relax in front of the fireplace or enjoy the water features in the lobby. The pool and hot tub area looked great, but the weather was not so great. We plan a trip when the weather is warmer! Trinity Hall, an Irish pub, and Angelika theater were just across the street from the hotel. Worth a visit also.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 126Teddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalomarPR, Director of Sales at The Highland Dallas, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you so much for choosing the Palomar for your girls' trip. We are sorry that the Texas weather was uncooperative, but we hope that you will enjoy our fabulous pool and hot tub next time you stay with us. In the mean time, we will keep the fireplace nice and warm for you so you can enjoy our wine hour each night. Thanks for choosing Palomar for your special girls' time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L.A., CA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

The Palomar is a nicely designed business hotel. The rooms are big enough and comfortable enough.

There are a couple issues that make it somewhere I don't want to stay. I will admit I'm especially sensitive to noise, so some of this won't apply to people who aren't. You basically have two choices for where you want your room - over the highway or above where the train runs under the hotel. For me, neither of those make for a relaxing stay.

One always tips the valet parking guy when they bring your car. It's customary and the right thing to do. That being said, when my partner went down to get the car and didn't have any cash on him, the valet waited before giving him the keys and then walked him to the ATM in the lobby. Seriously, that dollar or two cost you guys a customer.

Oh yeah, stop charging for the internet. And if you guarantee 3pm check in but the room isn't available until 3:30, do something nice. It goes a long way.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank freaquentflier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalomarPR, Director of Sales at The Highland Dallas, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention in your review. We apologize for the unfortunate experience you had with check in later than the expected 3PM check in time. We hope that you will give us another chance to wow you and your partner the next time you are in Dallas. We do offer free internet service by signing up for our free Kimpton InTouch program. If you do not want to become a member, simply ask to speak to our Front Office Manager Todd next time so he can share some options with you that will work. We hope to have another chance to show you a service level that you expect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We stayed at the Palomar for a few days while Christmas shopping in Dallas.
The location was very convenient to shopping and dinning. The rooms although not huge, were well maintained and clean. The staff was very helpful and could not have been nicer.
We are looking forward to staying here again in warmer weather and using the pool area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kennadave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalomarPR, Director of Sales at The Highland Dallas, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for making the fabulous Palomar your "new Dallas favorite!" We love to hear that! You can follow us on Facebook and Twitter if you engage in social media. You will find great deals, current events, and local announcements and fun stories that will help you love the Palomar even more. We appreciate you! Hope you come and stay with us again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
74 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I love this hotel and consider it a home away from home. Like all Kimpton properties, Palomar Dallas offers free morning coffee/tea, free wine hour, free wifi, free fitness center. This fitness center and pool are among the best around. Other features of this hotel that consistently exceed expectations: the valet guys (there is no self-park option here, but these guys make up for that drawback), proximity to the Katy Trail (running trail - only 2 blocks away), and excellent rooms that good-sized whether you get a regular room or a suite. The service at this hotel is outstanding and is what keeps us coming back. The front desk team will do just about anything to make your stay more comfortable, enjoyable, and fun. I tell everyone that Palomar-Dallas really sets the bar for all Kimpton hotels.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Juliet R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalomarPR, Director of Sales at The Highland Dallas, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Wow! THanks for your awesome comments in your review. We are so pleased to know that our valet guys make your stay better. We are awfully proud of our team up front, so we will certainly pass your kudos along to them. Thank you for your comments on our front desk folks, too. We know that we are kinda partial, but we think it's the best team in town! Thanks for choosing Kimpton, and a HUGE thank you for choosing the Palomar in Dallas as your home away from home. See you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We love the Palomar in Dallas. Convenient location, friendly staff, great amenities, always clean and well appointed. Excellent value! Love the flavored water in the lobby, coffee in the morning, and wine in the evening.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lah123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalomarPR, Director of Sales at The Highland Dallas, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thanks so much for taking the time to submit your kind review. We are sure pleased that you choose Palomar as your home away from home while you are in Dallas. We hope that we can count on you to stay with us next time you find yourself in Big D! See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tyler, texas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We have stayed at the Palomar many times and have always had a great experience. This time was no exception. Nice clean rooms, comfortable beds, great customer service, wine reception in the afternoons, nice heated pool and hot tub. The food is excellent, but is a little pricey. Another big plus for us is that this hotel is very pet friendly. Once again, loved our stay at Hotel Palomar.:)

Room Tip: Rooms are quieter away from Central traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BEACHLOVA1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dallas hotels
Downtown Dallas
Omni Dallas Hotel
Omni Dallas Hotel
#6 of 200 in Dallas
4.5 of 5 stars 5,178 reviews
Downtown Dallas
The Joule, Dallas
The Joule, Dallas
#5 of 200 in Dallas
4.5 of 5 stars 951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Oak Lawn
Hotel ZaZa Dallas
Hotel ZaZa Dallas
#2 of 200 in Dallas
4.5 of 5 stars 975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Highland Dallas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Highland Dallas

Property: The Highland Dallas
Address: 5300 E Mockingbird Ln, Dallas, TX 75206-5108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Dallas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Dallas
#6 Spa Hotel in Dallas
#12 Luxury Hotel in Dallas
#16 Family Hotel in Dallas
#17 Romantic Hotel in Dallas
#21 Business Hotel in Dallas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Highland Dallas 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Highland Dallas, Curio Collection by Hilton, a boutique Hotel offering signature hospitality with fully transformed rooms in the scenic Park Cities neighborhood of Dallas. Surrounded by top Dallas shops, restaurants and attractions, and across from SMU, our boutique hotel provides luxurious accommodations along with unsurpassed services and amenities. An outdoor heated pool, full onsite spa services and insider suggestions of popular things to do in Dallas puts our Dallas luxury hotel ahead of the pack. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Otel, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Highland Dallas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Palomar Dallas Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing