We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun, hip, funky, cool...!”
Review of Belmont Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Belmont Hotel
Ranked #98 of 207 Hotels in Dallas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 9, 2006

I travel 75 nights a year, and have never bothered to write a review before.

The Belmont is a blast. It is a 1940's motor lodge in a dicey neighborhood outside of downtown Dallas, sitting on a hill overlooking downtown. The new owners have converted it into a very hip, happening hotel and bar. We decided it was our peaceful little oasis, but didn't venture off the property.

If you're looking for the Ritz, this isn't your place. But if you want a fun and different hotel, and are a little adventurous, you'll love the Belmont. I did.

My room was a "loft" (2 story unit) with a view of downtown Dallas. The view from my second floor bedroom was incredible. The view from the pool is nothing short of spectacular.

The rooms aren't fancy - they were built in the 1940s. While the rooms have been upgraded with some art deco items and really nice flat-panel TVs, they are fairly plain. The bed was new and comfortable. That said, the view of the downtown skyline made my room better than a suite at the Westin.

The bar is fantastic. Very hip. Lots of young, beautiful people walking around. They have an outdoor patio that overlooks downtown. We drank cocktails and ate bar food (very good) outside - it was wonderful. Conde Nast apparently rated Bar Belmont one of the best new bars in the world at some point. It really is nice.

Net, net - if you're looking for something fun and different in Dallas, you'll like the Belmont a lot.

If you want a fancy, typical upscale hotel, go to the Westin.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Travelling-Buckeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (298)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

281 - 287 of 298 reviews

Reviewed November 8, 2006

This hotel is isolated, but it was good for where I had to go. I was kind of excited after reading these reviews and seeing some of the pictures on the hotel's web site. Unfortunately, I didn't get the room I saw in the pictures. The only unusual things in my room were art deco light fixtures and a picture of the backsides of cows. My bathtub wasn't round. In fact, it was quite old. The shower was good, though. The room was very ordinary with very thin walls. Continental breakfast was o.k., but no restaurant on site. Customer service was excellent.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tamaralea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2006

We recently stayed at The Hotel Belmont - going by other reviews and forum advice, I was expecting a great deal more than what it actually was.

However I would still highly recommend it. It has been restored beautifully, the rooms are basic but stylish. The bar area and outside terrace looking back into the city is worth the stay - at night the view is stunning. It's definately a nice change from a chain hotel.

Just be aware it is in a very isolated area, there is nothing in the area as far as restaurants or food, shopping, or anything at all to do - you need a car. The hotel does serve food from 5pm but any other time you'll have to drive somewhere. If you want to go out in the evening to a restaurant, bars then be aware you'll need to taxi.

if you want something a little different it's a great choice.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank kiwiartist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2006

I stayed in the Belmont while attending a conference at the Convention Center. The Belmont was a great escape from the usual high-rise glass hotels. The architecture was beautiful, and the renovation was tasteful. The service was the best I've experienced, including the complimentary shuttle service to downtown. Evenings at the hotel were a delight on the patio with a view of the Dallas skyline. The Belmont is a real find.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank TravelinOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2006

The room was immaculate, and beautifully appointed. The service was fantastic, and staff went out of their way to accomodate special requests, like a dry place to park my motorcycle when the weather was bad. They even offered to go buy me lunch at a restaurant when the kitchen was closed but I was awaiting my airport shuttle. I have stayed, through the grace of relatives, at some of the nicest hotels on earth, such as The Oriental in Bangkok, and the service here is definitely on par with 5-star places. If you're at all interested in modern design, the lobby, bar, rooms, and restaurant will be aesthetically satifying. I feel a little like I'm gushing, but I've never felt inspired to write a review of a hotel before, if that's any indication of what a beautiful and hospitable place I found this to be. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank wnewbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2006

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank moderne-ist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2006

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank wanderlust9298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dallas hotels
2.4 mi away
NYLO Dallas South Side
NYLO Dallas South Side
#43 of 207 in Dallas
606 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Highland Dallas
The Highland Dallas
#10 of 207 in Dallas
454 reviews
3.2 mi away
Warwick Melrose - Dallas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Magnolia Hotel Dallas Downtown
5.7 mi away
The Lumen
The Lumen
#46 of 207 in Dallas
402 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Fairmont Dallas
The Fairmont Dallas
#16 of 207 in Dallas
2,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmont Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmont Hotel

Address: 901 Fort Worth Ave, Dallas, TX 75208-1710
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Dallas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#30 Romantic Hotel in Dallas
#39 Business Hotel in Dallas
Price Range: $162 - $211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Belmont Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Belmont Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belmont Hotel Dallas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing