We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sweet refurbished motel serves as a hip resort”
Review of Belmont Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Belmont Hotel
Ranked #77 of 203 Hotels in Dallas
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
102 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Sweet refurbished motel serves as a hip resort”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

The rooms are simple and modern, and the views of the Dallas skyline are really quite stunning. They have also done a great job with the landscaping-- very pretty area to walk around to the bungalows, pool, and bar. The common areas are very cool, with funky decor and art for sale and good music playing. The room service all comes from the great bbq place, Smoke, and there is complimentary coffee and tea in the lobby. The staff was very sweet. A complimentary shuttle made it convenient for me to stay here and attend a conference at the Hilton Anatole. Apparently Dallas locals will come for the weekend to enjoy a mini-vacation here. I can see why. One glitch included long waits for the shuttle at one point (1 hr when I was told 15 min) and long waits for taxis to come to the hotel.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a skyline view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lpo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    101
    35
    18
    13
See reviews for
27
111
30
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Broken Arrow, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

I can't say enough about my stay at the Belmont. The room was just adorable, the staff is over the top. I felt like a 50's movie star! It's hard to believe this oasis is tucked away in South Dallas! From the moment I arrived it was special. From the lovely HAND WRITTEN welcome letter on the bed to shuttle service around the area, everything was just perfect. My room had the most stunning view of Dallas I've ever seen! I so wish I could remember all of the names of staff I met. You were all so special. If I were Undercover Boss you would each receive a BIG bonus! I didn't get to visit SMOKE, I was only able to stay one night. I did, however, order room service for breakfast (so I could work from the room) and it was great. Oh my goodness that bacon was to die for. My next visit I will definitely be eating at SMOKE! Thank you so much Belmont Hotel for making a short but special trip even more wonderful!

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper you might want to ask for a quiet room. I did hear the traffic, but I am...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mona60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

A nice change from the chain hotels. Charming, eclectic , hotel with excellent front desk staff. Only stayed one night and did not eat at Smokes restaurant next door as it seemed too pricey . Also we are not meat eaters and the menu had no real vegetarian choices . You can park for free at the restaurant parking lot at the back and then walk back to the hotel thru a small gate. This lot is unpaved and I think it could present a problem for older folks as it is uneven and could be messy in bad weather. Valet parking is$15 a day. Our room was simple and elegant. The handwritten welcome note was a nice touch. Small flat screen TV but we hardly used it. Bathroom tiles showed their age. But clean with nice toiletries. Free coffee and tea in the lobby in the morning. Convenient location to the sites we visited .

Room Tip: Bungalows were not available. We stayed on the first floor, quiet area and was fine for one night .
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lydia49_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

vintage, eclectic, view that cannot be missed, spartan and comfortable, laid back and minutes from Bishop's arts district. I miss you already! We will be back as soon as we can. We are artsy people who love to try new boutique/refurbished or themed hotels. While this one is not luxury it is perfect in it's simplicity. Love the pool btw. We sat there for the sunset and watched the Dallas lights come on - perfect view.

Room Tip: make sure you get a suite with an unobstructed view of downtown Dallas. absolutely worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julianna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

The hotel itself isn't bad but there are a few things that kept it from being a great hotel to stay at. There is no parking at the hotel itself unless you valet which is $15. Otherwise you have to park next door at Smoke and walk through an unpaved empty lot to get to the hotel...it seemed weird. The hotel tries to be up to date and modern but the parking inconvenience and the empty lot don't match with the hotels vibe. We stayed in the main building and the acoustics are horrible. You can hear everything so don't plan on sleeping in. The Belmont is an old hotel that has been renovated and I get that, it's part of its charm but the hotel should pay attention to room repairs. While not a big deal but the walls in the room were scuffed and the bathroom tiles and trim could use a good scrubbing. So again it's not the best but not the worst hotel I've ever stayed. The neighborhood is non-descript but in close proximity to everything. All the main attractions are like 10 minutes away so that's a definite plus.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank erikah527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Our stay at the Belmont was most enjoyable and fun. It is well located near downtown Dallas with views of downtown. We went for a college football game at Cowboy stadium (AT&T now) and had easy access to I30 to that area. Each day and evening we went to the Bishop Arts District, a revitalized area in Oak Cliff. ALL the restaurants were excellent--food very good, bar cocktails premium, and wine lists outstanding - and only 10 minutes from the Belmont. I was amazed that the Belmont Bar stocked many premium liquors and so did the restaurants. Where I live in Houston, one has to go to a BAR to get knowledgeable cocktails and really pay extra for premium liquor. We went over Labor Day - it's a fun STEP-BACK-IN-TIME, and we will return!!

Room Tip: The Junior Suite especially has a magnificent of downtown Dallas and is very close to the swimming p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MJLFROG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

The whole vibe of The Belmont, the views, outdoor deck, proximity to the OUTSTANDING Smoke restaurant next door, and the pool area are really excellent. Front desk staff were courteous and helpful when we asked for assistance. In terms of room for improvement: the room we had, which was on the second floor of the main building, was a bit institutional, so much so that it even had a bit of an echo. While that is part of the charm, the bathroom could definitely have used a face-lift and the room needed just a bit more of TLC. We found it odd that there was no dresser in the room so the only place to store clothes was by hanging them in the closet, otherwise you just live out of your suitcase. The room also definitely needs a safe, given that The Belmont is a big hang-out spot on weekends and plenty of people are coming and going. We enjoyed the complimentary coffee and tea every morning although it would have been nice if the hotel provided a light snack in the morning also, such as muffins, fruit, etc - going next store to Smoke every morning would be a heavy and expensive way to start each day! The proximity to the Bishop Arts area is a real draw. The welcome brochure in each room provides a great little history of the hotel & some fantastic suggestions of what to do in the are. Even with all the criticisms I have to give The Belmont 4 out of 5 because there is not a lot out there like it!

Room Tip: I would not stay in the main house again, some of the rooms in the other buildings looked as if they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angiebabe120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dallas hotels
NYLO Dallas South Side
#36 of 203 in Dallas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
Inn of the Dove
#132 of 203 in Dallas
3.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Highland Dallas
#10 of 203 in Dallas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Downtown Dallas
Hotel Indigo Dallas Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmont Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmont Hotel

Property: Belmont Hotel
Address: 901 Fort Worth Ave, Dallas, TX 75208-1710
Location: United States > Texas > Dallas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#30 Romantic Hotel in Dallas
#39 Business Hotel in Dallas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Belmont Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Belmont Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belmont Hotel Dallas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing