We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not horrible but not great either”
Review of Belmont Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Belmont Hotel
Ranked #98 of 206 Hotels in Dallas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

The hotel itself isn't bad but there are a few things that kept it from being a great hotel to stay at. There is no parking at the hotel itself unless you valet which is $15. Otherwise you have to park next door at Smoke and walk through an unpaved empty lot to get to the hotel...it seemed weird. The hotel tries to be up to date and modern but the parking inconvenience and the empty lot don't match with the hotels vibe. We stayed in the main building and the acoustics are horrible. You can hear everything so don't plan on sleeping in. The Belmont is an old hotel that has been renovated and I get that, it's part of its charm but the hotel should pay attention to room repairs. While not a big deal but the walls in the room were scuffed and the bathroom tiles and trim could use a good scrubbing. So again it's not the best but not the worst hotel I've ever stayed. The neighborhood is non-descript but in close proximity to everything. All the main attractions are like 10 minutes away so that's a definite plus.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank erikah527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (298)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

145 - 151 of 298 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2013

Our stay at the Belmont was most enjoyable and fun. It is well located near downtown Dallas with views of downtown. We went for a college football game at Cowboy stadium (AT&T now) and had easy access to I30 to that area. Each day and evening we went to the Bishop Arts District, a revitalized area in Oak Cliff. ALL the restaurants were excellent--food very good, bar cocktails premium, and wine lists outstanding - and only 10 minutes from the Belmont. I was amazed that the Belmont Bar stocked many premium liquors and so did the restaurants. Where I live in Houston, one has to go to a BAR to get knowledgeable cocktails and really pay extra for premium liquor. We went over Labor Day - it's a fun STEP-BACK-IN-TIME, and we will return!!

Room Tip: The Junior Suite especially has a magnificent of downtown Dallas and is very close to the swimming p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MJLFROG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

The whole vibe of The Belmont, the views, outdoor deck, proximity to the OUTSTANDING Smoke restaurant next door, and the pool area are really excellent. Front desk staff were courteous and helpful when we asked for assistance. In terms of room for improvement: the room we had, which was on the second floor of the main building, was a bit institutional, so much so that it even had a bit of an echo. While that is part of the charm, the bathroom could definitely have used a face-lift and the room needed just a bit more of TLC. We found it odd that there was no dresser in the room so the only place to store clothes was by hanging them in the closet, otherwise you just live out of your suitcase. The room also definitely needs a safe, given that The Belmont is a big hang-out spot on weekends and plenty of people are coming and going. We enjoyed the complimentary coffee and tea every morning although it would have been nice if the hotel provided a light snack in the morning also, such as muffins, fruit, etc - going next store to Smoke every morning would be a heavy and expensive way to start each day! The proximity to the Bishop Arts area is a real draw. The welcome brochure in each room provides a great little history of the hotel & some fantastic suggestions of what to do in the are. Even with all the criticisms I have to give The Belmont 4 out of 5 because there is not a lot out there like it!

Room Tip: I would not stay in the main house again, some of the rooms in the other buildings looked as if they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angiebabe120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Hill top location overlooking downtown Dallas, this is my favorite hotel in Dallas. Valet parking, great bar and the "Smoke Restaurant" is rated one of the finest in Dallas. The rooms are very basic, but the service is anything but basic. Valet parking, well staffed bar and restaurant and well trained and knowledgeable staff. The bar juices fresh citrus daily for their mixed drinks, and you can see downtown from the bar. They serve one of the best margaritas I ever had. Fresh juice & top shelf liquor. Restaurant is amazing. We never used the swimming pool but heard many guests say it's very nice. Great property for adults, and meeting friends for a meal or drinks, or both.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1ontheroadagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

The Belmont offers a unique and memorable stay when coming to Dallas. If you want to avoid the predictable chain hotel experience and prefer the independent and local, book a room at The Belmont. This is the closest thing to Austin in Dallas.
A wide variety of rooms, most with spectacular views of the downtown skyline, an uber cool pool, lovely gardens to stroll through, pet friendly, this place will make you want to hang out at the hotel rather than explore Dallas. The limo will shuttle you to nearby Bishop Arts where some of the best new independent restaurants are bustling, or walk to Smoke next door for Tim Byre's version on Texas cuisine. The lobby features the coolest cocktail terrace in the city.

Room Tip: the bungalows are my fav. all circled around a lush courtyard and away from the buzz of the lobby an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank raven46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

There are good points to this hotel. There are also some not so good points. The standard room is very very basic, bed and bathroom. The Jr. Suites are very nice with a breath taking view of the city, two floors, two living quarters. The valets were excellent and attentive. The cons were: 1. website in not clear as to what a standard room actually consists of. Pay a bit extra and book a Jr suite, you won't be disappointed! 2. Their billing/ payment policy. Due to some very severe disappointment with a standard room at check in, we upgraded to a Jr suite, as a result, our debit card was over charged which did not impress! Also, I have never stayed in a hotel that insisted on billing the card upon check in. They have always waited until departure to Actually Swipe the card!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank bensmomNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

I booked this as a surprise for my fiance. Wasn't told which suite we would get, so wasn't too sure what to expect. The one we did get was beautiful with amazing views across the city.
We had a huge tub in our room, which, just as a suggestion, should also come with a step to get in and out of... I'm 5ft5 and I struggled!
My only downside was having to drive back across Dallas to get my passport as it didn't specify that I needed I'D to check in and wouldn't accept my drivers license or finace's ID.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrstwinters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dallas hotels
2.4 mi away
NYLO Dallas South Side
NYLO Dallas South Side
#43 of 206 in Dallas
606 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Highland Dallas
The Highland Dallas
#10 of 206 in Dallas
452 reviews
3.2 mi away
Warwick Melrose - Dallas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Magnolia Hotel Dallas Downtown
5.7 mi away
The Lumen
The Lumen
#45 of 206 in Dallas
402 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Fairmont Dallas
The Fairmont Dallas
#16 of 206 in Dallas
2,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmont Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmont Hotel

Address: 901 Fort Worth Ave, Dallas, TX 75208-1710
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Dallas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#30 Romantic Hotel in Dallas
#39 Business Hotel in Dallas
Price Range: $135 - $211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Belmont Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Belmont Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belmont Hotel Dallas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing