We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Issue after issue... and then more issues.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
W Dallas Victory Hotel
Ranked #48 of 212 Hotels in Dallas
Reviewed October 26, 2010

I stayed at the W Dallas Victory for 5 nights the week of October 10th. I have stayed at other W Hotels in the past and had extremely high expectations for this stay based on experience. When we got to our room, we were actually shocked at how much smaller it was than other W Hotels. Someone in the elevator actually mentioned it to us on our way up and said that this hotels rooms were a joke compared to other W Hotels - unless you book a room on a higher floor.

Upon walking into our room, we immediately noticed a strong odor of urine in the room. We complained twice before we were moved (the first time, they sent someone up to spray a fragrance in the room to cover up the odor).

The second room we were in had a malfunctioning lock. I found this out after leaving the room to get coffee the 2nd morning and I forgot my room key. My wife was in the shower, so I decided to try turning the door handle. To my utter shock and horror - it opened. I tried several times to get it to function properly and found that it did not work at all. Fortunately, we use the deadbolt and other locking mechanism when in the room through the night (as should everybody else). Telling the front desk about this issue resolved this problem without any issues.

Another day, we were gone in the morning, and planned on coming back at around 3:30 or 4:00. We told the front desk so we could make sure our room was attended to while we were gone. Unfortunately, when we returned, our room was as we had left it in the morning. We called the front desk and told them to send up towels, as we would need to shower before leaving again. Over an hour went by without any towels. I called again and finally after 25 minutes got a knock on my door. It was the housekeeper there to clean the room. She knew absolutely NOTHING about the towels.

We also had issues with the wall outlets during our stay. We could not get our cell phones, laptops, etc. to charge. We unplugged the alarm clock and still had no luck - waking up in the morning with dead electronics.

We told the front desk about this problem the first morning and they said they would send someone up to check it out. The next morning, we complained again. We were told by the person at the desk that we were supposed to have the "master" wall switch turned on for the outlets to work. She said that someone should have let us know this when we checked in. Nobody did.

Thinking we were missing the master switch on the wall, we turned on all switches the next night, sleeping with lights on and still woke up the last morning with dead batteries. Telling the front desk only got us an apology and offer to use the outlets in the bar.

I've had some poor experiences at other hotels in the past and when I raised the issue, I was compensated with more than just an apology - a free night, a spa treatment, etc. This hotel would only offer a half hearted apology.

Due to my experience, I emailed the hotel manager with pretty much the same as above. It took 5 days with no response before I emailed the corporate email address. Finally, on the 5th day, I finally got a response from the hotel manager's assistant. The response was nice and was filled with apologies. In the end, I was offered with an "added apology from the hotel" with 3,000 SPG points.

In the meantime, I received a response from Starwood Hotels customer service and was given this response:

"I have reviewed your file very carefully, and do believe the compensation offered is fair. The Starpoints could be used towards a free night stay in most participating hotels worldwide (Please note, the number of Starpoints required for a free night differs depending on the hotel category). I understand this may not be what you were hoping for, but I assure you that this decision was based on facts and careful research. In accordance with our practice, your concerns have been addressed with the hotel General Manager. The file has been closed. "

I was not going to let this experience turn me off completely from W Hotels, but the email I got from Starwood changed my mind of that.

In all, I do think this is a nice hotel - I just had a lousy experience topped off with lousy customer service.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank briguy73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wdallas, General Manager at W Dallas Victory Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2010

Thank you for providing your feedback regarding your recent stay. I am sorry to hear that we were not able to WOW you during your W Experience.

I understand that you have already conversed with my assistant in regards to your opportunities.

If you would like to discuss this further, please contact the hotel and ask to speak to the General Manager.

Warmest,
Thomas C. General Manager of W Dallas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,011)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

845 - 851 of 1,011 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2010

I've stayed at this W several times and each trip there were some issues, but as it is very close to the Dallas Market Center we kept booking there. This trip will be the last. We returned at 4:30 from the market, and the room hadn't been cleaned. We called the front desk, and were informed that they were going "green" and you had to request to have the room made up...we were not informed of this at check in nor was there a card in the room regarding this policy. They did send up someone with fresh towels at our request. Additionally, the mini bar was never replenished but the ice bucket had mysteriously dissapeared, so someone had been in our room. After yet another call, someone arrived with an ice bucket. We asked to speak to the manager on duty. He did say it was their policy to not clean the roomsexcept by request because they were going "green". (This was puzzling, because the room was cleaned after the first night stay with no request) Other problems: After we arrived, I tried to access their wifi service , as I had on previous stays. I had to call the front desk (twice) for assistance. The third call they transferred me to Tech Support. The support agent had me change several settings in my computer, (about 15 minutes) he said he could "see" my computer but needed me to change some more settings and be on hold for awhile. I started to get a bad feeling about the whole thing, then opted not to continue, and went without my computer for the rest of the stay. I was stunned to see a $2 outgoing charge for the call on our bill. Obtaining a hot shower or bath was problematic, as the water in the tub/shower took almost 10 minutes to get warm and a then longer for hot. (hmm...not so green...) The movie we wanted to watch wouldn't load, and took three calls to the front desk and a visit from maintenence. My companion ordered a bottle of wine with room service, only a glass was sent. When she asked about it, she said that she was only charged for the glass. When she checked the bill, she had been charged for the whole bottle ($48) The bellmen, room service servers and valets were great...friendly and efficient. However, we found the front desk staff to be somewhat indifferent to our problems.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robmlz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2010

If you are over 25 you may want to stay somewhere else. We were there to celebrate a 40th birthday and were carded and key checked everytime we needed to go up the elevator.
No alcohol was allowed to be taken up to the rooms so forget trying to bring up a few bottles of wine! I can understand the need for all of the restrictions when you are dealing with a younger clientele...and there were young people everywhere....which is my point...if you are older, looking for a nice evening, superior service and relaxation do not go to the W!

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dillistone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2010

It is a little confusing on how to get there. U have to pay $24 for valet or park across the street for $10. When I went to check-in they said my room was not ready. After I had written a note that I needed to check-in early. The manager gave me a downgraded room that was ready and free drinks at hotel bar to make it up. Then the iron didn't work and the ac only got down to 65 degrees. And absolutely no vending machine. I had to pay $7 for a small bag of pretzels. Pool was closed due to inclement weather. Not sure if I would stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1234maso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2010

This is my 1st stay at a W (I generally don't splurge on hotels, & didn't this time either...my girlfriend used her rewards points). Let's just say, I don't have $300/night to burn on a room...but if I did...I would prolly choose to burn it here. Ideal place for the sassy singles. Rooms were extremely comfortable, great views of the city, and excellent location for accessing nightlife. On Saturday night, we went to the Ghostbar on the 33rd floor...great music and we didn't spend a dime on alcohol since I would easily say the ratio of men to women had to be 4:1. The crowd there wasn't THAT spectacular, but sufficed. A couple of genuine creepy looking guys and eccentric weirdos that made us feel uncomfortable (I know this used to be quite the hotspot 2 years ago, cannot say the same now). Back to the room: the mini bar prices in-room were excessive, even by luxury standards. $13 for coffee? Are you crazy...but since we saw no starbucks within quick walking distance...boo. The pool on the 16th floor is insane...but if you are trying to sunbathe...eh, not so much! We went out there around 1:30 and had to get in the cold water and cross to the back corner of the pool to find some sun. This place is DEFINITELY geared to the singles, once again (which we were, but one friend had her kids). DO NOT take the kiddos to the pool after 3 pm on a weekend. Let me explain...this place is aimed to the partying late 20 & early 30 somethings....the crowd we observed at 6 pm much different than the noon crowd. Noon crowd is still on the safe side....but the later and later it gets....here comes the crowd that probably got home at 6 am, rather than 230am. This crowd also contains ppl that are on who knows what exotic designer cocktail drugs b/c we saw a couple having sex in the pool....yup! Oh, did I mention there were kids in the pool at the time & plenty of other ppl. Geez, this isn't Rehab Las Vegas! Go to your room! The pool isn't THAT big, so it is not like they were hiding. And if they weren't having sex, then hunny, they sure did a good job of fooling the rest of us. Anyways, I'll have to say there's another downside to this hotel...the location/neighborhood is blah! We chose to walk to the nearby dining options and it felt like we were walking in a ghosttown....I was waiting for a tumbleweed to flutter by....On a 2.5 block walk to the House of Blues and Hooters around 5 pm....we saw 0 other ppl walking around. what gives?!?!!? I'm from Austin...people are ALWAYS walking around outside...this is just weird to see so much desolation/abandonment. I couldn't even tell if House of Blues was open b/c there wasn't anyone parked in the lot...we chose Hooters, which had ppl, but still...so desolate! I imagine when the Mavs are playing across the street at the American Airlines center, that the place is alive, but at the moment....dead! Word from some locals is that this Victory Park area is losing money fast and that the investors are quickly selling their shares...shame, b/c it was a cool idea. Meanwhile, the W, as a hotel, is nice. Oh, and yes, they do not have a separate shower area, so you have to draw the curtains....just weird. BUT, they have plenty of mirrors, but lighting not great. And definitely not enough plugs...when will hotels learn that with all technology requiring charging....laptops, phones, etc....we need more outlets!!!! OH...parking situation sucks....$24 to valet? really? This is Dallas, not Miami, NYC, or LA. There is a garage across the street that I got lucky and only paid $5 to park from Saturday to Monday...but I snuck in during nightclub parking hours and then did NOT move my car again til Monday checkout time....cabbed it to the clubs downtown b/c they were less than a $10 ride. OHHHHH...and the cabs charge $2 more per person, so keep that in mind....wtf? I guess I am spoiled in Austin where you can put 4 ppl in a cab and if it only costs $5 to get where you are going, then that's it...no "Per person" addtl fee.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank livingL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2010

I stayed here for the first time earlier this week with my Mom for a Women of Faith conference at the American Airlines Center across the street from the hotel. The convenient location is the only thing I really enjoyed during our stay.
We had no idea until we got to the room that there is barely any privacy in the bathroom. The tub/shower is not separated by a door. So you have to pull a curtain all the way across the room to separate the bath from the bedroom. Also, the only wall outlet in the bath area was very low on a wall between the tub and sink- not very safe with lots of water around.
The first night we were there, I barely slept at all as I could not sleep under their very thick down comforter. This was the middle of August- too hot for down comforters. There were no other options for bedding in the room. The second day, I called and asked for a different blanket and that one was much better.
Finally, three days after staying here, I noticed that I was charged the full amount on my credit card even though we asked the man at the front desk to put half on my mother's card and half on mine. Not sure why that was not done.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank supernat07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2010

Pretty inexpensive. Rooms are nice, is overdone. Also, the shower isn't in a separate room, but you can draw a curtain that separates the bathroom from the bedroom. Since we were a large party, we just chose not to use it. The management kept getting things wrong and were generally an annoyance. We complained, they offered us a later checkout time and then the next day asked why we hadn't left yet. No communication. Also, not

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AC405918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dallas hotels
Oak Lawn
Hyatt House Dallas/Uptown
Hyatt House Dallas/Uptown
#56 of 212 in Dallas
650 reviews
Oak Lawn
Hotel ZaZa Dallas
Hotel ZaZa Dallas
#2 of 212 in Dallas
1,233 reviews
Downtown Dallas
The Joule, Dallas
The Joule, Dallas
#13 of 212 in Dallas
1,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Dallas
Omni Dallas Hotel
Omni Dallas Hotel
#5 of 212 in Dallas
7,370 reviews
Oak Lawn
The Ritz-Carlton, Dallas
Fairmont Dallas
#17 of 212 in Dallas
2,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Dallas Victory Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Dallas Victory Hotel

Address: 2440 Victory Park Ln, Dallas, TX 75219-7604
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Dallas > Oak Lawn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Dallas
#20 Business Hotel in Dallas
#26 Luxury Hotel in Dallas
#35 Romantic Hotel in Dallas
Price Range: $282 - $507 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — W Dallas Victory Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is simply no better place to hang your hat (cowboy or otherwise) than the W Dallas-Victory. When in Texas, go big-as in bigger, bolder and brasher at W Dallas - Victory. Our unique and subtle touches including lasso sculptures and armadillo skin embellishments will have you saying WOW at every turn. Just minutes from visionary museums and popular festival sites, our Dallas hotel is the perfect choice for leisure and business travelers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelPower, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your W Dallas Victory Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Hotels Dallas
w Hotel Dallas Tx

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing