We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Building!”
Review of Old Red Museum

Old Red Museum
Ranked #24 of 236 things to do in Dallas
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Dedicated to the cultural, economic, political and social history of Dallas County, this museum is housed in the beautifully Old Red Courthouse.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Stroller parking, Wheelchair access, Activities for young children
Oro Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
“Great Building!”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Nice architectural structure. Air conditioning. Friendly staff, plenty of information. Wish it was more afforable..

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank twailani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    150
    48
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
179 reviews
78 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
“Beautiful Architecture, visitor center is just a visitor center”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We visited here on our anniversary. Beautiful building, but we were not as impressed with the inside. Granted we did not actually pay to go inside the museum itself, so it may have been better.

The Dallas City visitor center is located just within the front doors. It is your average visitor center with pamphlets on just about everything in Texas. I found one of the female volunteers to be a more flirtatious than helpful. I suppose if I were single and younger then it would not have been such a big deal. But walking in, holding hands with my wife, we both found this to be rude.

There were some interesting facts within the hall on Dallas and the building, and you can pay extra to go into the actual museum itself.

Summary - if you are new or just visiting Dallas you may find this an interesting place to visit and get information on the area.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jimmy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“not for tourists”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

After touring the beautiful architecture of the building, the details of the stone carving, we went in and pay the admissions thinking there has to be more in the museum. It turned out the displays and exhibits gear more toward those locals, affectionate to the county. Tourists like us were bored at the too localized, too specific of the historic of Dallas. By the way, exhibits are only on the second floor. We spent about two hours and wondered if there were others.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank BostonsNick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Kids love it!”
Reviewed July 16, 2012

This is a fabulous museum that kids really enjoy. I bring my students here every year and they really enjoy learning about Dallas and doing the museum's scavenger hunt. The favorite is always the dress-up section, don't miss it!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank jandpthomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
204 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Nice Dallas kept it's old Courthouse”
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Dallas is known for leveling buildings not even 50 years old sometimes. This is the old courthouse. The Museum is where you go to get a look at the history of Dallas. Recommendation: I picked up a very good book at the museum about Downtown Dallas by Mark Rice. It is a history of buildings and events of Dallas.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank BigGuyfromDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Old Red Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing