We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice air and space museum”

Frontiers of Flight Museum
Ranked #28 of 229 things to do in Dallas
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: This museum memorializes the pioneers of flight, from the 1920s and 30s, through World War II and up to the jet and rocket age of today. The museum also showcases the Dallas/Fort Worth area, known today as the Aviation Capital of the World, played in aviation history.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very nice air and space museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014

I had a free morning on a trip to Dallas, and found the Frontiers of Flight Museum a great way to spend a couple of hours. The Museum has plenty of volunteer docents to answer questions about the exhibits. As a big fan of the Apollo maned space-flight era, I was thrilled with the exhibit centered around the Apollo 7 Command Module. Authentic Apollo space suits rounded out the Apollo exhibit. There was a significant Vietnam-ear display consisting of beautifully restored A-7 and A-8. The "flying pancake" was an experimental "flying-wing" type of aircraft was an interesting novelty. The T-38 suspended from the ceiling rounded out the Apollo exhibit, since the astronauts flew their T-38s frequently between Houston and the Kennedy Space Center.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank baucucms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    99
    25
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rock Hill, South Carolina
Level Contributor
71 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great Visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014

We took our grandson here, because he loves airplanes and this was a BIG hit for him. The volunteers were friendly and knowledgeable. It was kid friendly and a fun place for him to visit. He loves Southwest planes and really enjoyed being able to go inside the one at this museum.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank J T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Kelowna, British Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Love Field Museum visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014

I went on a Friday afternoon. It was an easy walk from the hotel. The building is appealing and the aircraft on display outside certainly catch your eye.
It was not very busy which allowed me to wonder around in relative quiet surroundings.
The displays are well presented and although SouthWest Airlines are well represented it brings the Love Field history into perspective.
I was interested in the space exhibits and it was great to see the Apollo 7 capsule on display and reflect on one of our greatest acheivments.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Barry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kings Mountain, North Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great place for aviation enthusiast of all ages!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

I was volunteering with the Collings Foundation on their visit to the museum. The museum has many different types of aircraft on display as well as an interactive Southwest Airlines exhibit depicting the process of air travel. Lots of WWI and WWII facts. Overall a amazing place to visit!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank LoriAnn007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmersville, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“Brings flight history alive”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014 via mobile

We go here every year at Christmas time fir the Spina Bifida Christmas party and every year I find something I didnt see the year before

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank plop9723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Frontiers of Flight Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing