We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet reflection”

Dallas Holocaust Museum
Ranked #20 of 236 things to do in Dallas
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The Dallas Holocaust Museum/Center for Education and Tolerance offers a core exhibit that exposes three key events that occurred on "One Day During the Holocaust". A special travelling exhibit, video graphed eyewitness testimonies of survivors, and artifacts offer visitors a well-rounded understanding of this horrific part of world history. Visitors leave the Museum with answers to the question, how could this happen? Due to the somber topic and graphic historical photographs in the exhibits, the Museum is not recommended for children under the age of 10. However, parents should note that this Museum hosts more than 30,000 school children each year. The audio guided tour teaches the differences between bystander and Upstander behavior and the value of choices.
western Oklahoma
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Quiet reflection”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Spending a few days in the Dallas area, we gave each family member input for our itinerary. My 12 year old chose the Dallas Holocaust Museum after reading The Boy in the Striped Pajamas and Corrie Ten Boom's Hiding Place. She loved it and soaked up as much information as her heart and brain could hold. This museum was very quiet and reverent (it was also cool on a hot day) and stock full of information. You could literally spend hours upon hours in here reading every word and seeing everything there is to see. My 11 year old got a little bored, but she enjoyed it, just for a shorter time.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank westernokie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    190
    114
    39
    6
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
151 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Humbling”
Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

This was very detailed. So quiet and full of information. Great location very enjoyable. Plenty of information for every age in the family.

Helpful?
3 Thank Kara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Reminder of what prejudice really means”
Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

When you enter this museum, you immediately realize how easy it is to forget about genecide when it's not in your backyard. The images and words bring you back to reality. It is dark emotionally and spiritually. But it can never be forgotten. And the US can never allow itself to get caught thinking its Ok to let it happen anywhere. A must see in Dallas

Helpful?
1 Thank clayflyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worldwide
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good attraction”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

I have visited many Holocaust museums around the world. Have had the opportunity to visit many historical sites in Eastern Europe. The Dallas Holocaust Museum is average in comparison to others, however I would suggest all visit the attraction. Any museum of this nature is a humbling experience. The museum had a large school crowd the day we visited. We were warned by the museum staff that it would be packed, however it did not feel packed at all. We moved around with ease within the small museum. We spent about an hour in the museum, however one could spend much longer if desired. It is in an excellent location, within walking distance to other attractions.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Calvin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prosper, TX
Level Contributor
84 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Moving experience”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

First time visitor to the Dallas Holocaust Museum and we had an educational time. For a museum as small as it is, they do a good job of recreating a day in the holocaust. Three major events occurred on April 19, 1943 that shaped the holocaust and that is what the exhibits are based upon. A larger facility is being planned and look forward to when it opens as they'll be able to cover a larger cross section of the holocaust itself.

While we were there, they also had an exhibit of photos taken by Anne Frank's father, Otto. Chronicles the short life of his kids Margot and Anne Frank prior to them going into hiding in Amsterdam.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank tomcatxiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dallas Holocaust Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing