We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Get down to business with CBD” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of CBD Provisions

CBD Provisions
Reserve with OpenTable
CBD Provisions is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #42 of 3,560 Restaurants in Dallas
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic, Bar scene, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Get down to business with CBD”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

We woke up to an ice storm in downtown Dallas and we were hungry for something delicious for brunch, and also to ward off what bit us the night before! After reviewing a few choices within walking distance to our hotel, we settled on CBD. We were intrigued and it had gotten good feedback. CBD is situated in the lovely and quirky, Joule Hotel--one we will try out on our next visit to Dallas. The space is beautifully appointed and at first seemed a little uptight. The servers appeared to take themselves a bit too seriously and even our reservation - which we were a few minutes early to, they held us at the bar until the exact time--again, a little dramatic. After being seated, we were met with an extremely energetic, funny and quirky waiter--Phillip. We were going to be in for a treat. The kitchen is open and calm, the space is comfortably spacious. The food was fantastic and just enough to not be overindulged. My husband had the hash and I had an egg dish done in a southwestern style. We also shared mushroom grits-divine. Coffee in a french press and hit the gas and go. The hash (which I am not usually a fan of) is a MUST. It is so well done and not the hash your mama serves. The grits are also a MUST. They were serving fun looking brunch cocktails at the table next door. The atmosphere turned into a relaxed and fun dining experience. We eat out quite a bit, and this was a wonderful surprise. We highly recommend giving them a try. We will be back for dinner next time!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jayajones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    86
    29
    11
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
190 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Meh”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

Overhyped and a victim of it's 'hipness'. The chili was so salty I couldn't eat it. The atmosphere - Dallas trying it's hardest to be hip and cool. There's better in town, skip this.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JLATL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Over-hyped, But Still Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

This restaurant has been recently touted by the local press as one of the new stars on the Dallas restaurant scene, so some friends and I were eager to give it a go. Here's what we found:

The service was excellent. The waiter knew EVERYTHING about everything on the menu and wine list. He helped us through the decision process with definitions and suggestions.

The menu is all over the place. Want ceviche? Pate? Goat pie? Tilefish? Rib steak? Grilled cheese? Burger? Half chicken? Broccoli rabe? Fries? They've got it. And the menu is small for such diverse offerings. Food prices seemed reasonable, and each of us thought our selections were good but didn't score any bonus points for flavorful flare.

Wines are costly and the fairly sizable list is difficult to follow. Were I a wine snob I probably would have realized that they are listed from light (bubbles) to heavy (bawdy reds). But I'm not, so the waiter had to clue me in. Wines by the glass are listed separately from bottles, but after a few minutes the waiter advised us that we could also get bottles of the by-the-glass offerings for the glass price times 5. The by-the-glass offerings should be integrated into the light-to-heavy by-the-bottle listing to simplify things.

The decor is a la mode. Exposed steel and wood beams seem to be all the restaurant rage these days, along with over-sized heavily-filamented exposed dim light bulbs. CBD is spot-on with the trend.

When we told the waiter we had to decline dessert to get to a show, he promptly brought the bill and took our valet ticket to have the car brought around for us while we paid -- a very nice touch.

We are glad that we went, but we all agreed that it's likely not a repeatable excursion.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great brunch on Saturday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

Loved the interior with the exposed brick walls and salvaged wood floors. Had the pleasure of having Adam as our server. His suggestions were spot-on: ‘Nduja Pimento Cheese, Kale Salad, fried brussels sprouts and not on the menu fish tacos and I especially loved the House Made Strozzapreti. So many other dishes to try on another visit!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank we3ricks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Average food, good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014

I had dinner at CBD last week with a business associate, we focused a lot on business discussions and not so much on the restaurant. The service and staff were great from the moment we walked in the door. Our waiter was very attentive without being bothersome. The food was good but would expect better at the location and for the price.

The atmosphere was comfortable and the low noise level made discussions easy. There isnt anything romantic about the place so I wouldnt take a date there.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank slodoen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed CBD Provisions also viewed

 

Been to CBD Provisions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing