We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, nice atmosphere”

Javier's Gourmet Mexicano
Ranked #87 of 3,600 Restaurants in Dallas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $40
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Oak Lawn
Level Contributor
233 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“Great food, nice atmosphere”
Reviewed December 1, 2012

This place is really busy so you must have reservations. We went on a Saturday and the bar was absolutely packed - everyone was standing. The food was fantastic. The margaritas were very good. I enjoyed the unique atmosphere. It's not a fine dining atmosphere, but it's a great restaurant.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank WorkToTravel123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    184
    98
    38
    23
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
175 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Excellent Authentic Mexican”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

The place was large. There was a cigar room, a restaurant and a private room. We were in the restaurant and you could not smell the smoke from the cigar lounge. The restaurant was loud crowded and lively and inside It was rather dark. The margaritas were excellent. evens gaff was very accommodating to me with food allergies and others in my party who are vegan. The menu has excellent choices in each category and everything is delicious, including the deserts and coffee. The valet didn't keep you waiting more than 5 min after dinner .

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Marli0209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A Dallas favorite”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

This Mexico City style restaurant is always busy. The snapper is supposed to be excellent, but I haven't tried it. I love the ceviche. The cigar bar is a great place to mingle.

Helpful?
Thank Justin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Can't Believe It's Not Number 1”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

I have been going to Javier's for over 25 years. It is our go to place when we are in Dallas! Victor (one of the bartenders) makes the best margaritas ever. The Cheese Panela and the Fillet Cantinflas are to die for! This is not Tex-Mex food - - it is interior Mexico gourmet. The waiters are friendly and attentive. Do yourself a favor and run - - don't walk - - to Javier's!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank schlbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Park, Texas
Level Contributor
118 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“The Best Mexican Food in Dallas”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

This is a great Dallas landmark with consistently quality food and a lovely location and ambiance. I highly recomend this restaurant for the best Mexican food in Dallas.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank GREEKMBA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Javier's Gourmet Mexicano also viewed

 

Been to Javier's Gourmet Mexicano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing