We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wrong choice”

St Pete's Dancing Marlin
Ranked #339 of 3,580 Restaurants in Dallas
Price range: $20 - $29
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: East Dallas
Dallas, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“wrong choice”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

The staff was friendly, the service was great, but I made the wrong choice. In as much as I had never had a veggie
burger, I decided to try it. I do not recommend it. It was dry and tasteless. The fries were hot and tasty.

This was a wrong choice for me. My friend had the tuna, it looked and smelled great. The food aroma was good.

Parking was convenient. The reputation of Deep Ellum makes me think, I would not visit after dark. Plan your
visit during the lunch hour and you should have no problems. Street people will ask for money. I gave. I did not
want to chance a vandalized car on my return.

James L. Hibbert

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brenda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    9
    10
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Seared Tuna sandwich good, but the rest........”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

We had a large group at St. Pete's including children. The service was friendly and engaging. The food was OK, not great. I'd agree the tuna sandwich is the best thing on the menu, especially if you get it seared. The other items ordered, were, well, nothing special. Though the place had great service and a great, cool, funky atmosphere the food seemed it bit pricey for what you. Go for the seared tuna sandwich, a couple of beers and to check out the cool environment otherwise you may be disappointed.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeff F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
80 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great fresh seafood in the heart of Deep Elum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

OK, so you don't usually go to a bar to get a rare tuna steak as an entree, on a sandwich or on your salad. Time to change your mind. The food here is great, and the servings are ample. The atmosphere is funky to say the least - a little bit of the coast in the middle of Dallas. Lots of good local beers are available. The outdoor seating is great and you can bring your dog.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kcwKeyWest_FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
48 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“The Best of Dallas, Easily”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

To call St. Pete's the best of Dallas is really an understatement. This is one of the most comfortable bars, and best restaurants in the city and beyond. The menu is amazing, from the bar food, to the tuna steaks, to the baklava. The drinks are strong, the service is friendly and of course, Pete is a rock star. It's worth the trip, no matter how far that trip is.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelingFool67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good atmosphere, bad food.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

I was not impressed with the food but atmosphere is good. Nice patio for drinks and such. Good selection of beers.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Araae1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St Pete's Dancing Marlin also viewed

 

Been to St Pete's Dancing Marlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing