We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Shelf”
Review of Nick & Sam's

Nick & Sam's
Reserve with OpenTable
Nick & Sam's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #72 of 3,600 Restaurants in Dallas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $35 - $80
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Oak Lawn
Cross street: Carlisle
Description: Situated minutes from Downtown, Nick & Sam’s is a contemporary steakhouse featuring selections of prime meats as well as American and Australian Kobe and a variety of seafood. We offer a mostly American wine list of over 400 labels plus an international selection, with 20 wines by the glass. USA Today says “well-done”, ZAGAT “very good to excellent” and a 2008 recipient of the Five Diamond Star Award.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Top Shelf”
Reviewed December 22, 2012

Had dinner the other night at Nick & Sam's and again it was the best. I started going there when I was still in the corporate world and they 1st came to Dallas. The fact that, after all these years they are still going strong. We don't eat out a lot anymore but when we do we always go to Nick & Sam's and never come away feeling it wasn't worth every cent. Dave Wheeler

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SouthernStarDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    290
    121
    52
    30
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wayne, New Jersey
Level Contributor
207 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Full throttle food”
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Drop the fact that you are a New Yorker in a Dallas Steakhouse and you are going to be treated like a King. The restaurant is very pleasing to the eye, only to be outdone by the waitress's who are so pretty that it spells absolute trouble if you bring your wife. The Mac & Cheese was the best I had in Dallas. Steaks were very consistent and very tasty. Sides were all awesome and very filling. I really enjoyed my visits here, great martini's, excellent wine list and very consistent food. One night they sent me so many side dishes to try that I had to take a nap before I drove back to Fort Worth!! Oh, and did I mention the waitress's?

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NYSEski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Great atmosphere and service. Perfect for a celebration meal. As a vegetarian I didn't have a steak, but the sides I had instead were delicious. Others in my party had steaks and they looked delicious as well.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank PM2885
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
233 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“Terrific patio”
Reviewed December 1, 2012

We had lunch here. The food was excellent, great New American food. Excellent choice of wines. Great crowd - business and casual.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank WorkToTravel123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisville, Texas
Level Contributor
1,003 reviews
669 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 328 helpful votes
“Very impressive steak house”
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Ate here with a group of professional colleagues in a private room. The restaurant interior beautiful, well lit and the bar and dining areas impressive. I sampled several of their appetizers, which were excellent. The Caesar salad had too much dressing, for my taste, but was very good as were the garlic mashed potatoes and asparagus. Service was very attentive, even for a large, catered affair. My rib eye steak, to my taste, was very good but not excellent. Something about the spices didn't appeal to me, but several of my colleagues liked it very much.

All in all, a very impressive restaurant - easily on a par with Ruths' Chris, etc. Had I liked the steak a bit more, I would have given it 5 stars instead of four, and will definitely consider returning with my family.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mohsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nick & Sam's also viewed

 

Been to Nick & Sam's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing