We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always Dependable”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Purple Cow - CLOSED

Purple Cow
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
94 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Always Dependable”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Whenever I'm in Dallas I always stop by The Purple Cow for a grilled cheese sandwich. The place is always clean, with friendly service, great food, and does not go overboard on the retro diner feel. They serve a wide variety of lunch and dinner entrees. Hot dogs are their specialty. The music is always great. Conveniently located in Preston Royal Plaza, The Purple Cow is a great place to relax for an hour to beat the Texas heat.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    5
    6
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Coppell, Tx
Level Contributor
107 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Brings back memories”
Reviewed August 31, 2012

The food is pretty good, but what makes it stand out is the dessert selection. There are few places that can make an ice cream soda they way I remember as a kid. This is one of them. Their adult shakes are awesome. It is a great place to go for fun. The atmosphere is like an old time diner. That being said, don't expect a quiet, relaxing dining experience, because you will probably have screming kids seated all around you.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KillerB33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
52 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Pretty Good”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

A nice place for lunch with good shakes. Just pretty good not great but I would return. Don't go at 5:30, much traffic

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank gsd_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great kids menu”
Reviewed May 29, 2012 via mobile

Loved the adult beverages but we mostly go there for an excellent option from the kids menu... That being fruit or vegetable sides. The adult entree are mostly just average tasting.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Restinnature
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
173 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Just for kids”
Reviewed April 28, 2012

Cleanliness was awful. Service was poor. Food was mediocre. I just don't understand how this place stays in business.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ny2plano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing